USB won't connectSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ZDroid1

    ZDroid1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    41
    Never mind. Problem fixed (5 minutes after I posted this and 3 hours after I started trying EVERYTHING to get it to work).
     

    Advertisement
  2. lotreaglesfan

    lotreaglesfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    what was your solution?
     
  3. ZDroid1

    ZDroid1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    41
    I restarted the phone itself ! Go figure. I think the Galaxy S 64 drivers is what worked, but I got the Captivate ones installed as well. I'm running Windows 7 64 bit.

    It seems restarting the phone was crucial. I never did that in my previous attempts. Also before mounting the phone, my computer shows no sign that a usb device is present. And even then it takes a while to appear.
     
    rickygotskills likes this.
  4. Sutakira

    Sutakira Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    My USB used to connect like clockwork but now it wont at all, I've tried new drivers, manually closing each running program but that seems to be not working what ever I do, I tried resetting it but then I have to run around closing all the running programs again. eh, this sucks man, why did I even buy a hand-r0id phone to begin with?
    This thing NEVER came with a user manual. can't find one online and even if I did find one, how disney would it be? 1st step connect cord, second step click okay. I mean fireal. It's too late to take it back now, and half the time it's a freakin paper weight. why should I have to update apps all the time just to keep it running smoothly? thats more of a hassle than it is a joy. this phone is a high tech piece of shit IMHO. Who the f*ck wants a phone they can't use half the time? and I don't like running to a forum every time I want to figure something out. This was the worst investment I have ever made, the cam is mediocre, but it sure does beat 1.3 mp or worse. but seriously I paid too much for a phone this crappy, from now on i'm going to call this Hand-r0id the CRAPtivate. The 2.2 froyo update needs to include some major changes other wise im shoving this flat rectangular piece of sh8t up samsung's fat ass. Why would you make a phone that doesn't auto kill conflicting programs when plugged into usb? the dev mode doesn't do a damn thing, it just shows me removable drives I can't do anything with and any other type of ask on connection setting is worthless. I'm seriously pondering selling it on craig's list and buying a new HTC, this phone sucks, sorry for the ranting but almost two months of frustration can tend to build up to me wanting to throw the phone through the wall. please help.
     
  5. ZDroid1

    ZDroid1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    41
    Lol.. The CRAPtivate.. The crappy cappy.
     
  6. GalaxyS609

    GalaxyS609 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    4
    mine stopped connecting the other day. still haven't figured out what the problem is. Ive removed and installed different drivers multiple times, rebooted the phone, tried it with and without the removable SD card. The computer recognizes the phone, but when I try to access one of the drives it just hangs up and never actually accesses it.

    Now I have to do everything via my laptop :(
     
  7. Sutakira

    Sutakira Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I have updated the nickname for the captivate, now introducing the samsdumb craptohate
    ;)
     
  8. Sutakira

    Sutakira Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Support said to click the update on the top dragdown menu that says usb connected, I wasn't aware that it had info behind it when you click it, I thought it was just a simple update message letting me know it was connected to a usb cord. they said to click that update and then click MOUNT.

    Not sure if this is helping but I'm still trying it out.










    I just found out that samsung doesn't offer support for the usb drivers anymore
    I went to the samsung site that my computer suggested and it gave me this number to call for mobile phone support.

    1-888-987-4357
    just talk to them about ALL of your problems
    Maybe they will include major updates if we complain enough!!
    I told them I want to be heard and the rep is telling me she is getting someon to be connected on the call to hear me out that can do something about this
    CALL THEM AND GIVE THEM ALL YOUR COMPLAINTS.
    LETS MAKE THE CAPTIVATE WORTH HAVING!!!!!!!!!!

    If you're feeling frustration like I am about the captivate then I suggest you either read the user manual or call like I did, everything they told me didn't help but they're willing to work with you til it's solved and encourage you to call back. It might help ease your frustration if you have something to reference all the details with.
    This is the current link for it and it was last updated aug 9th 2010:

    http://org.downloadcenter.samsung.c...SGH-i897ATT-Captivate_English_User_Manual.pdf

    I suggest you go to samsung.com and type captivate in the search to get the most updated version... thanks for not deleting this thread or any of my posts!

    Thanks again.
     
  9. ZDroid1

    ZDroid1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    41
    Never mind! It stopped working tonight. I just wanted to copy some MP3 files real quick. Told my sister it would take me just a couple minutes. lol. How NAIVE. This is the Captivate we're talking about. Long story short, tried everything, doesn't work (running Windows 7 64 bit). Never changed anything. Just stopped working.

    I mean if samsung can't even get the USB functionality right, I just don't know what to say.

    So now I'm back to using SwiFTP over WiFi to transfer files. It's actually not too bad.
     
  10. Sutakira

    Sutakira Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured out what was wrong...
    My home screen program was considered a running program.

    the Launcher Pro program needs to be disabled completely,
    which means you need to
    go to SETTINGS,
    APPLICATIONS,
    MANAGE APPLICATIONS,
    LAUNCHER PRO,
    then click CLEAR DEFAULTS and FORCE STOP.
    Then when you click the home screen button
    MAKE SURE YOU SELECT TwLauncher!!

    I use a Task Manager program to clear all running programs.
    Then turn your screen off by clicking the side button,
    Then connect your USB cord.

    I did all this an then I connected my USB cord and BAM
    All the sudden it was initializing and connected to my computer.

    I had to figure it out on my own cause the people at Samsung didn't know wtf they were talking about and just read to me from a script.

    Hopefully this works for you. Thanks for reading.
     
  11. ZDroid1

    ZDroid1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    41
    I'm not running a home screen.

    I wonder if it's any of my widgets. I will try turning them off.
     
  12. JavaBrewer

    JavaBrewer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have struggled with getting USB connection to both my Win7 and Vista machine for days now.

    - Downloaded and installed Samsung USB drivers. 3 Hours of rebooting and trying various phone USB configurations and modes came up empty. My Win machines never detect a USB connection.
    - Downloaded Kies 1.5.1 and installed. Full day of rebooting and various phone USB configurations again. Once, and only once, did my phone appear in Kies. All subsequent attempts (reboots/reinstalls/phone settings) have failed.
    - My phone is not running Launcher Pro or any other widget

    Why am I not surprised...my wife and kids are running around with Samsung Solstice phones and guess what...they don't connect via USB to Win either. Lots of hours lost there as well. Curse you Samsung!

    My only need for connection is to copy/share media files - all my contact and calendar stuff comes from Google account.

    My "solution" (thanks ZDroid1) is swiFTP. Works like a champ.
     
  13. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    1) Did you try connecting before installing any drivers?
    2) Is your USB set to "Mass storage"? Menu -> Settings -> Applications -> USB Settings.
    3) Have you tried a known, working cable? I knew someone who would've sworn on their mother's grave they had a bad iPod because they couldn't sync and had tried 2 cables. Turns out they had two bad cables. Trying a third, known-working cable worked fine.
    4) Have you tried all the USB ports on the computer? Some people have reported issues with some ports.
     
  14. JavaBrewer

    JavaBrewer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    1.
    Yes on both Win7 and Vista. Nada.
    2. Yes. Also tried Kies (when that was installed). Kies worked once and then just stopped working after the first connect.
    3. Two cables yes, three...no. Odds are high it's not a cable...the phone charges on both just fine and Kies worked on one of them for a short time.
    4. Yes the front USB and the rear MB ports. Same result.

    I am just flabbergasted that every Samsung Phone I have tried to connect has been such a PITA.
     
  15. rickygotskills

    rickygotskills Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tidbit of info...I am just about to run Unleash the beast and had plugged my phone into my Laptop and it wouldn't connect...

    Just power cycle your phone. It seems to work now.

    ***EDIT***
    Oops. Had it show up, but did not "mount" it. I just copied "update.zip" unleash the beast to my phones /sd. Will be rooted shortly.



    All the best!

    RH
     

Share This Page

Loading...