Using A2SD with ADW LauncherGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. stpbby

    stpbby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am using the Evil Eris 3.0 rom , which by the way is awesomeness, and installed apps 2 SD. I also installed the ADW launcher. So my question is, when i am using A2SD and plug my phone into my mac and mount my SD card, I lose ADW Launcher. Is there a way to Choose to have ADW launcher installed on the phone. It would be great if there was a way I could choose which apps to install onto the SD card and which ones I want installed on the phone.

    -Brad
     

    Advertisement
  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Sorry I dont know the answer to your question...
    but I recently installed EE 3.0 and A2SD did not work for me.
    Did this work for you automatically by partitioning your SD card and doing the EXT 2 to 3 step?

    Or did you have to flash the Darktremor A2SD file?
    CAn you tell me how you did it please?

    Sorry to change the subject on you:(
     
  3. stpbby

    stpbby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    I found these instructions on xda ( [APP] Darktremor A2SD (Apps2SD) version 2.7 Update 1 (2010-05-16) - xda-developers ) I ran the check to see if it was working and saw that it wasn't. So I ran this command as shown below ..... /system/bin/a2sd install

    Once I did that it moved all my apps to my sd card and worked correctly

    I did the partitioning before I installed the rom including the ext 2 to ext 3 step.
    Once I did that it moved all my apps to




    How to tell if it is working:

    1. On your computer in the Android SDK Tools directory, type adb shell
    2. In the adb shell, type /system/bin/a2sd check
    3. Read the report. It will tell you if all is well. If you see anything with [X], type a2sd repair

    If you want to move the apps to the SD card (when the program doesn't do it for you or you have moved the apps to the internal storage in the past):

    1. Enter the ADB Shell by typing adb shell
    2. In the ADB shell, type /system/bin/a2sd install

    To prevent A2SD from running, type /system/bin/a2sd remove
     
  4. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Can this be done using terminal emulator right on the phone?

    If so, are the commands different?
     
  5. stpbby

    stpbby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    I dont know. I did it through the adb shell on my mac.

    I think it would be worth trying, the commands should be the same. your just invoking a command for a2sd which is located /system/bin/
    The command just runs the a2sd app with the install switch.

    /system/bin/ is the directory where a2sd is
    a2sd is the app
    install is the command your telling a2sd to invoke.
     
  6. tkirton

    tkirton New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only one little problem with activating Darktremor A2SD on Evil Eris 3.0...the boot image doesn't have the launch configuration to run A2SD (any version).

    A reboot of your phone may throw it into a boot loop.

    I have a kernel update that will fix that issue: http://www.darktremor.info/files/eris/ee3kernel-signed.zip

    This will replace the boot.img file only (the rest of the rom stays intact).
     
  7. stpbby

    stpbby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks. I ran the /system/bin/a2sd install and it put all my apps on the SD card, but i don't think that I rebooted my phone after doing that.

    This will keep all the data on my phone intact? correct?

    Also, is there a way to choose which files get installed on the SD card. Or is it all or nothing?
     
  8. tkirton

    tkirton New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Once the data is on the phone, it stays on the phone unless you clear it or move it.

    Because A2SD works by symbolically linking your /data/app to /system/sd/app, it's all or nothing.

     

Share This Page

Loading...