Using AZERTY layout with English/American language


Last Updated:

  1. merciadriluca

    merciadriluca Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I would like to use my HTC Desire in English or American, but with an AZERTY keyboard layout. I've tried all the options, and when I choose English or American language, I always have to use some QWERTY keyboard... Is there a workaround? This appears to me as some not-too-illogical thing, what I want.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jhaquo

    jhaquo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any way to do this?
     
  3. FunnyDjo

    FunnyDjo New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd like to set up my phone settings with the AZERTY layout as well.
    Nobody know how to fix this issue ?
     
  4. tomvdp

    tomvdp Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    Same issue here!

    (I think this thread should be moved to the HTC Desire subforum)
     
  5. eddelfosse

    eddelfosse New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    To do so, go to 'Settings', 'Language & Keyboard', 'Touch Input', 'International keyboard'.
    There you will find a list of languages. Just select the one you want (and unselect all the other ones) and there you go, azerty keyboard (if you chose French, Dutch, or any other language which default keyboard is azerty)
     
  6. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    6
    Swiftkey supports AZERTY with American, try out the free demo and try it out.
     
  7. tomvdp

    tomvdp Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    Indeed, it switches to azerty for French, but not for Dutch or English.
    When I hit the "switch language button" on the keyboard, the keyboard layout changes too! How can this ever be handy ? :mad: Oh this is sooooo stupid.

    The keyboard layout should be configurable and they stay fixed regardless of the dictionnary language. (OK, I imagine some exceptional uses may exist like switching between chinese and english where you would just need another keyboard layout.)
     
  8. arkazain

    arkazain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    6
    Way to ignore my post.
    Swiftkey.
     

Share This Page

Loading...