Using custom sounds for the Hero


Last Updated:

  1. matraklirahn

    matraklirahn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, I know this issue has possibly been touched on in another thread, but I cannot for the life of me find it.

    So, my question is this.

    Is it possible to use your own sounds for incoming messages and alerts?

    I know you can assign individual ring tones to people in your address book and change the default ring tone, however I would like to know if there is a way to do that for incoming message sounds and so on.

    Any help or insight?

    Also Crossposted due to their being 2 areas of interest
     

    Advertisement
  2. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Easy!

    Just make sure you have a "notifications" folder on your memory card and drop the .mp3 files in there!

    :)
     
  3. m1.carson

    m1.carson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Tried that, but the tone doesn't show up, this then leads to re-formatting the SD card, needed some info on that, fat via the phone or fat32 via PC.

    I purchased an app called Ringo,
     
  4. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
     
  5. hoppy1986

    hoppy1986 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0

    if you dont have a 'notifications' folder, can u simply make one??
     
  6. Wahwah

    Wahwah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Connect to computer
    navigate to sd card
    Right Click
    New Folder
    Rename
    Type 'notifications'
    press return
     
  7. m1.carson

    m1.carson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Yep, did that, put a tone in it and the tone isn't found, same with alarms.

    Could be the Orange branding.

    Max
     
  8. samuelmaskell

    samuelmaskell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tone picker and/or ringdroid. So much easier.
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,492
    Neg on that, as it worked on my Hero when it ran the stock Orange ROM. I created a /media/audio/ tree and added ringtones and notifications to that. Copied the desired files across and after a reboot they appeared in the appropriate selection menus.
     
  10. m1.carson

    m1.carson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi slug,

    I just created root directories, do you mean MP3/media/audio/ringtones ?.

    Thanks,
    Max.
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,492
    In the SD card root, create /media/audio and add /alarms, /notifications, /ringtones and /ui to /audio. Files placed in these folders show up in the appropriate selection menus (and are ignored by Music).

    Al
     
  12. m1.carson

    m1.carson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks slug,

    Am off to try it right now, got to wind my old laptop up first, :D

    Max.

    It Works, It Works, opened the media dir and ringtones and notifications were there already, added alarms, dropped my [wake the whole street up alarm] into it, re-booted and bingo !!.

    Thanks again, perhaps you should try and make this sticky, lots of people looking.

    Max.
     
  13. matraklirahn

    matraklirahn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks for that, i will give it a try and see what happenes :3
     
  14. matraklirahn

    matraklirahn Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you say
    Do you mean put the folder /Ui into the audio directory or what?
     
  15. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    actually, these work best when they are in the root directory on your SD Card, not hidden away in a subdirectory. Some people will have to reformat their card and then add the folders to the root directory to get it to work correctly.

    what format is the tone? .wav, .mp3, and even .ogg seem to work.
     
  16. m1.carson

    m1.carson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    I added the folders to the root dir re-booted as you suggested and it didn't work, opened, media>audio and found ringtones and notifications already there, added alarms and dropped trimmed .wma tones into them, re-booted and they all appeared and worked.

    Magic, just after I purchased a program for it, always the way :D, this performs better.

    Max.

    P.S. what and why do we need a ui dir. ?
     
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,492
    Really? Didn't work for me like that - custom tones wouldn't show in selection menus (even after several reboots) until I created the folder structure as above.
     
  18. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    I guess the Hero is different, the G1 works fine with those folders in the root directory. Mine's been that way since the first week I got it last year.
     
  19. Malgiliath

    Malgiliath Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Was about to ask this question again but got the little search details as I put in the title to my post.

    Thanks V much Slug for the method above, it worked perfectly on the Hero I have just started to use. I had the folders in the root folder but it didn't work.
    Moving them to the structure above works perfectly

    Cheers Malgiliath

    Happy Hero owner:D:D:D:D
     
  20. kilikopele

    kilikopele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Confirming the above on my HTC Sprint Hero. Create the folders exactly as they say and REBOOT THE PHONE. After that, anything you put in the folders will show up as Ringtones and Notifications, etc.

    And I second the question of: What is the UI folder for?
     
  21. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Me to?
     
  22. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Do you mean excactly like these below even with the /

    /media/audio/alarms
    /media/audio/ringtones

    I also want to create a folder for audio ebooks so would they go into /media/audio only?

    How about my music and videos...should I just create a seperate folder for Music and Videos?
    Thanks
     
  23. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,492
    No.

    Media is a root folder, with audio inside that and the others inside audio.

    Other media files can be stored whereever you want them. This structure is only required to make files available from the alarm/ringtone/notification selection menus.

    Re the /ui folder. Nope, I haven't yet worked out what that's for. Maybe alternative feedback sounds for text entry or menu selection?
     
  24. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Thanks Slug :)
     
  25. elvis100girlfriend

    elvis100girlfriend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, basically it's all in the title! Had my HTC Hero (orange uk) for about 2 weeks now, love it. Issue, assigned my own sound to notifications no problem, yet it plays a default one instead. Checked Settings, and it's still assigned to my custom one. Crazy thing is, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't! Any ideas? And is it possible to assign separate tones to emails and texts? Many thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...