Using default message app to send MMS no pics


Last Updated:

  1. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    Is there a way to do this? I know with MMS the txt limit is much greater than 160 Char.

    Haven't been able to really find out how to do it, just attach a slideshow and have slide one say everything I want it to?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jim Dawson

    Jim Dawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    9
    I want to do that as well. I want to send an mms without a picture to get around the 160 character limit. The limit is 1000 characters with mms.
     
  3. Jim Dawson

    Jim Dawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    9
  4. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    What I do is use handcent and it will automatically split the message into two messages if I go over the 160 characters. It is the easiest for me and the quickest. Also the mms cost more than sms.
     
  5. Jim Dawson

    Jim Dawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    9
    That may be the best answer, I'll try it.

    VZW told me that I have unlimited text and picture messaging so mms shouldn't cost me anything extra.

    Thanks for the Handcent suggestion.
     
  6. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just remember to go into both messanger settings. Stock messanger to turn off all notifications(basically turning it off) or you will get double notifications and the handcent to customize to your needs,in the setting you will find the option to auto split messages. Plus handcent will to antimated mms that the stock will not.
     
  7. Jim Dawson

    Jim Dawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the tips.
     
  8. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    Having messages automatically split on the sender's end may be easier, but it results in multiple messages on the recipient's end, which I hear can sometimes arrive in the wrong order. Sending an MMS message results in a single message on the recipient's end.
     
  9. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    exactly, 1 I don't have unlimited messages, 2 MMS and SMS costs the same on my plan, 3 I don't want to send X different messages to say one thing so the handcent option is out the window. I'll just go with the add subject option mentioned in the link.
     

Share This Page

Loading...