Using Evo in Tokyo...pls help


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. rjjr2531

    rjjr2531 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hello... I'm leaving for Tokyo tomorrow and ill be there for 2 weeks. My question is, how can I use my wifi, internet, camera etc... without using my phone signal? Basically I don't want to accidentally make or recieve a call or text, BUT be able to use everything else... I wonder if fring will work... THANKS!
     

    Advertisement
  2. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    hmm turn off the phones radio.... OR remove your phone from your sprint account and put a dummy phone on the line. you dont need to have the phone on your account if you plan to only use wifi....
     
  3. Premonition

    Premonition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well the only way you can use your wifi is if the place your going to in japan has it, example hotel, places to eat etc. turn off all your radios and only use the wifi portion when needed.
     
  4. rjjr2531

    rjjr2531 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    45
    I want to use every feature of the phone other than receiving and sending calls and texts. I'm simply trying to avoid charges while I'm they're... its airplane mode the solution? I'm not sure...
     
  5. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    no, airplane mode turns off all radios, including wifi.

    turn off the phones voice radio. if you want to be overly sure then take the phone off your account until you return.
     
  6. jsward12

    jsward12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    26
    Check Sprint's website under the International Traveling Section to see if your phone will work in Japan. Basically, if Japan has CDMA networks it will work but beware of the intl roaming charges!!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  7. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Just take a notebook and a digicam lol, leave cell phone at home.
     
  8. Cobravision

    Cobravision Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    162
    I am almost positive that Japan's voice and data are both incompatible with any US standard, so WiFi will be the only thing that will work.
     
  9. SB22

    SB22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    11
    Airplane mode does turn off all radios, but with the EVO, you can just turn WiFi back on and it will work while the rest of the phone remains in "Airplane mode."
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. svtisland

    svtisland Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to japan in june with my evo for business trip. I tried to use the cell service there but some error messages keep popping up preventing the connection. I ended up buying a phone card to make calls. Also only very few places have wifi service, not even major hotel in Tokyo, there is always a lan cable in the room. I basically used my feature packed evo as a mp3 player. I suspect the Evo is not compatible for international roaming yet cause i used my palm with no problem about 6 months ago.
    So most likely you don't have to worry about the super expensive roaming fees.
     
  11. rfss

    rfss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    15
    This. I just tried it. It works.
     
  12. Cobravision

    Cobravision Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    162
    Evo is not a world phone and has no GSM chip, so your international roaming is very limited to begin with.

    And what svtisland said confirms that you can't use the Evo in Japan anyway, so don't worry about the roaming charges.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  13. svtisland

    svtisland Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    To set the record straight, Korea and Japan has CDMA carriers and i think CDMA is more dominant inthose two countries. Also as i said Palm Pre worked fine in Japan. Check sprint web site they have all devices and countries that can do international roaming but Evo is not listed as a international roaming phone yet.
     
  14. Cobravision

    Cobravision Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    162
    Sorry, missed the part about the Pre.
     
  15. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
    I'd like to be able to use my EVO in Japan. I'm going there next month for 2 weeks. Roaming charges be damned, that's what expense accounts are for :)
     
  16. rjjr2531

    rjjr2531 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    45
    thanks guys...looks like i will have an over powered mp3 player...how the heck can japan not have more wifi??!! sucks...i wonder if the starbucks' there have free wifi now like in the states??? they a=started this july 1 just fyi

    THANKS AGAIN EVERYONE
    SAYANORA! (damn i messed that up!)
     
  17. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
    Get WarDrive to help you find all the open wifi hot spots. Be sure to upload your map so it's available for my trip in 3 weeks :D
     
  18. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
  19. ayman86

    ayman86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    11
    when i went to spain/italy, i called up sprint to disable my data and phone services. when i came back, i called them back to reinstate it. no problems :)
     
  20. ramonini

    ramonini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    56
    Man i envy you guys ... I really want to go to japan .. Hopefully some day I will..
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Last time I was in Korea, I don't recall my phone working there at all.

    First thing I do whenever I hit Japan is to rent a cellphone in the airport - then you know you'll be OK - and at least save a bit.

    As I recall, my Sprint CMDA phone worked in some places there, not others.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...