Using G1 on trip to EuropeGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. relativistic

    relativistic New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm interested in replacing my current TMobile phone with the G1. However, I'll be needing to travel to Europe for a few months, and would like to unlock it and use a European sim card while there.

    Talking to the guy at TMobile, he said it won't work with a non-TMobile(US) sim card, as you won't be able to sign onto you google account. He checked with two Android experts for me.

    Now... I see stories of people using unlocked phones in Europe. So, something is screwy. The only thing I can think of is that once you use it in the US, it can't then go to Europe?

    Can anyone resolve this? I'd like a G1, but I need a phone to use in Europe. Any first-hand accounts of unlocking a phone you use normally with a US account, and using it in Europe with a local sim card there for a period of time, would be great!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    Wouldn't a European T-Mobile SIM work straight away without unlocking?

    That was a rhetorical question
     
  3. Fixxer56

    Fixxer56 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    In this case, can you buy a european sim card once you get there, or even buy one online?Also, do you need to notify T-mobile US you are going to use it overseas? Thank you
     
  4. johnnewhouse

    johnnewhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    would this also work the other way as well?
    i have a UK G1 on T-Mobile UK. i am going to be in the states for 3 weeks in July. could i purchase a T-Mobile US sim and use that in the UK G1.

    if so, does anyone know if T-Mobile US do 'pay as you go' on data as well as phone calls?
     
  5. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    I think it's called pre-pay in the States, could be wrong
     
  6. relativistic

    relativistic New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

    So, you're all saying that this should work. It is my understanding that this is what most phones can do. However, the TMobile guy said that this was the only phone that I'd have this trouble with. He said pretty much any other phone he could sell me would work. Is it at all possible you're giving me advice based on other phones?

    Do you know anyone for whom this has worked with personally?

    Sorry to be skeptical. I'm just nervous about buying this expensive phone and it not working.

    Thanks again.
     
  7. michamicha

    michamicha Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I bought an USA G1 and was able to use my Dutch T-Mobile SIMcard right away. Though you could buy an unlockcode for only $22,-
    http://www.htccode.com/
     
  8. relativistic

    relativistic New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah cool. I can actually wait the three months and TMobile will unlock it for me.

    There's wouldn't be any difference if you've already used the phone with TMobile US service would there? I'm very ignorant as to how this stuff works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...