Using Galaxy S at Sat Nav?Support


Last Updated:

  1. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I get a car cradle is it usable as a sat nav? Using Google maps?

    I've heard that the GPS is not that great?
     

    Advertisement
  2. MadBob

    MadBob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    I use mine with Navigon and it is very good, never had a problem with it.

    The cradle I bought is [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    Grffin Window Seat Aux
     
  3. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. johnnewhouse

    johnnewhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just got a generic phone mount from ebay for my galaxy s. i have used it a couple of times using the google maps navigation feature. i live in the UK (Newcastle) and its been ok, its certainly got me to where i needed to be, however it does occasionally lose the sats in built up areas but never for too long (e.g. less than 100 metres).
     
  5. gerberman

    gerberman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    I second Navigon, best Satnav app I`ve used It`s
     
  6. big_mike

    big_mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    39
    the Google navigation beta works fine and is FREE i cant imagine it will be t0 long before its out of beta testing.
    I've used it with no problems :D
     
  7. gerberman

    gerberman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    9
    I agree that Google maps will be one of the best when it gets a bit more refined, its great considering its free.
     
  8. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didnt realise Google maps was still in beta...
     
  9. MadBob

    MadBob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Doesn't google navigation use data bandwidth, whereas navigon uses inboard maps.
     
  10. big_mike

    big_mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    39

    navigation not maps....
     
  11. larryccf

    larryccf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    think MadBob was simply highlighting the difference between google nav and navigon - google nav is fine as long as you're in an area with cell coverage - travel to a rural area without, and shut your phone down for any reason (even phone doing a reboot on it's own like some users have commented about google navigation causing) and you're out of luck - no maps downloading without cell coverage

    to me that's a big dis-advantage
     
  12. big_mike

    big_mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    39

    thats maps not navigation though right?
     
  13. Geryatrix

    Geryatrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    12
    Google Navigation works by downloading the maps it needs for the route that you've requested. These maps can be downloaded at home on wifi to reduce your mobile data useage. If for any reason you stray from the pre selected path the App will need to download maps to cover the new route, this is not a problem if you have a decent data allowance, but if you are near the data limit of your price plan, it can be expensive.
     
  14. larryccf

    larryccf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    yes but without maps, you don't have nav so i'm not sure the need to parse the distinction
     
  15. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if you plan a route in advance (e.g. at home) it pre-downloads the maps?
     
  16. johnnewhouse

    johnnewhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes, it pre downloads the maps, plus i am informed a few streets of your exact route just in case a wrong turn, however i dont know just how far off track it will download in advance.
     

Share This Page

Loading...