Using HTC wildfire with a car cradleSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ukstan

    ukstan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, I bought a car cradle for my Wildfire on ebay which is supposed to be escpecially for the wildfire. I did try a universal holder but it covered the volume control and the usb plug. My problem now is that when i put it into the cradle the touch screen does not work corresctly. Sometimes i have to touch it very lightly or press it hard about 5 times to get it to do anything, it was the same with the universal holder I had
    Any ideas guys ? i was wondering if putting it in the cradle then trying to calibrate the screen from there might help ?
    stan
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jobak

    Jobak Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same problem here! No operation when its in the cradle.
    But just touch the wildfire elsewhere with another finger, whilst for example unlocking. Then it works fine. I think when its in er vertical position, without holding it in your hand its supposed to be "locked".
     
  3. ukstan

    ukstan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    I dont quite understand this. Are you trying to say it just needs the thing unlocking ? i can open it up with the switch but then tapping the icons does nothing
     
  4. nickelsmell

    nickelsmell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here, really can't explain it....

    I've found a way around this, either by holding/touching the phone with one hand while I use the other to touch the screen, or by one hand, using the thumb to touch the screen while the rest of the fingers are holding/touching the phone.

    Strange stuff..
     
  5. Jobak

    Jobak Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Exactly what I was trying to say... :)
    You dont unlock it by tapping the switch, it justs "wake up".
     
  6. ukstan

    ukstan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hmm mine doesnt, i have to press the switch for a second to wake it up, tapping the screen doesnt do it
     
  7. ukstan

    ukstan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh right, now i get it and yes it does work, touching with one hand or finger and using another on the screen, thanks guys for your help, i still dont quite understand the
    You dont unlock it by tapping the switch, it justs "wake up".
     
  8. ukstan

    ukstan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    Oh right, now i get it and yes it does work, touching with one hand or finger and using another on the screen, thanks guys for your help, i still dont quite understand the
    You dont unlock it by tapping the switch, it justs "wake up".
     
  9. Jobak

    Jobak Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Maybe I wrote it a bit "cryptic".
    When you tap the switch on the top -> you "wake up" the phone.
    When you afterwards slide the bar down on the screen, you unlock it..
    Is that better? :D
     
  10. ukstan

    ukstan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    Perfect ! I couldnt have said it better myself :D
     
  11. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,332
    Likes Received:
    7,598
  12. doa

    doa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a wildfire - about two months old - has exact same problem reported here - I can't use it on a desk with one finger - I always have to use it with two hands.

    A friend brought his new wildfire round to me and his is perfect everywhere so I think this is down to poor manufacturing (I've done a full reset to clear any other apps away and it doesn't help)

    I'm going to try to get a replacement of a different make.... how I'm supposed to do that when I'm on a 24 month contract I have no idea!

    bought mine from mobiles.co.uk (am I allowed to mention that?) and it's a redemption deal which probably complicates returns I guess... I'll see what they say though.


    Edit: As I expected... mobiles.co.uk have refused to replace it - not only with a different phone make that works but also with a replacement wildfire. Sucks really. They want to send it away for a 'repair' - why should I accept a repair - I want a phone that is 'fit for purpose' for the entire 12 months of the minimum warranty period. So I have to be without a phone now while they play with it and return an item that is not a manufactured right first time phone that I paid for... I wouldn't pay full price for a refurbished phone to begin with, so why would I accept a refurbished phone now? Now I'm wondering what company would look after its customers like Apple does but in the Android world... Anybody? I really regret going cheap now... A lesson for life I guess...
     
  13. Spooky_

    Spooky_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I experience the same troubles with my Wildfire. When it's lying on a surface somewhere, without me holding it, and I want to interact with one finger on the touchscreen, it simply does not work properly often times. It somehow depends on the surface though. I can only assume this has something to do with electrical grounding.
     

Share This Page

Loading...