Using IMAP with AT&T/Yahoo emailSupport


Last Updated:

  1. rmingee

    rmingee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've seen various threads about IMAP settings to use for Yahoo email, but it wasn't clear from most of the posts I read whether it was referring to free Yahoo email or a Yahoo-based account associated with home high speed internet. Some gave parameters not using SSL encryption, and I know that would not work for me, but some used very similar setup to what I currently use on my Palm Pre (which uses an IMAP server with "palm" at the beginning of the name, so I don't know if there's a "secret handshake" between the Pre and the server that disallows access via other devices).

    I have AT&T DSL (swbell domain email) and am strongly considering dumping my Pre for an EVO, but IMAP access to my swbell account is a must-have. I have a gmail account, but I'm pretty well-established with the swbell account, and don't want to deal with auto-forwarding.

    So has anyone successfully set up IMAP access to an AT&T/Yahoo email account? I tried using an IMAP server and parameters I found here through Windows Live Mail, but I keep getting some sort of certificate error claiming my system doesn't support something the server is expecting. I have tried in the past with Thunderbird as well using the palm IMAP server, and never succeeded with that either. So I'm a little hesitant to take the plunge until I have a high level of confidence it'll work. Plus I'm waiting for the Android version of HanDBase anyway, since I use that via Classic on my Pre.

    I don't mind buying an email client if the standard android client doesn't support it. I may do that anyway if there are better ones out there.

    Thanks for any and all insight anyone can provide!

    -- robert
     

    Advertisement
  2. fritzel67

    fritzel67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep, IMAP access for AT&T Yahoo mail works fine on Android with the stock mail client (I have an EVO running Froyo 2.2 and access both my AT&T yahoo account, as well as a non-AT&T Yahoo mail account)...

    Settings are as follows:

    Incoming:
    Server: android.imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Security: SSL, port 993

    Outgoing (login required checked):
    Server: android.smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    Security: SSL, port 465

    Now keep in mind this only works via 3G/4G (cellular data) connection. You won't be able to check mail on this account via WiFi. (If you want to do that, install the full Yahoo mail client via the Android Market).

    Hope that helps.
     
    rmingee likes this.
  3. rmingee

    rmingee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you, yes, that does help. I'm still making the switch to Android, but I'm thinking now that I may opt for a Samsung Epic instead. One thing I really do like about my Pre is a physical keyboard, and I think I would miss it a lot if I went to a phone without one. I didn't realize there is a dedicated Yahoo mail client available on the Android market, since I don't have the phone yet, but that sounds worth checking out if I don't like the way the stock Android mail app works.

    Thanks again!
    -- robert
     
  4. rmingee

    rmingee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Got my Epic this morning, got the account set up, and it's working like a champ - thanks again!

    All of my contacts are on Yahoo as well - does anyone know if I have to purchase an app to sync those to my contacts DB? I saw another thread that talked about someone on an Android phone that had their Yahoo contacts synced automatically when they set up the account, but that doesn't appear to be happening for me. I see an app in the market for a couple bucks, but I figured I'd check and see if I was missing something before purchasing an app to do it.

    Guess I really should take this to the Epic forum, but I thought someone might have an applicable answer here.

    -- robert
     
  5. rockinbboy

    rockinbboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    hold on....why wouldn't IMAP work on wifi? I have it the stock HTC mail client with my yahoo just fine - 3g, 4g, and wifi.
     
  6. Fiend

    Fiend New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rmingee,
    I too got my Samsung Epic this morning from the Sprint store. I am trying to file my Yahoo emails away in the appropriate Yahoo email folders but cannot figure out how to do it. Of course, with the Gmail application (which is not my default), you are easily able to place your emails in "Labels."
    Have you figured out how to file the emails away into the appropriate folders in Yahoo?
    Thanks,
    Bobby
     
  7. rmingee

    rmingee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmm, you're right -- there doesn't seem to be an obvious way to do that. I don't actually do that much, because I use filters to put things into folders as they come in. The few times I need to do that I'm usually in webmail on Windows. You could also use the Yahoo Email client for Android directly. I haven't checked out any other mail clients yet, but I've heard good things about K9 (think I have that name right). I figure I'll use the default until I run into something that is consistently getting in my way, and I haven't hit that yet (but it's only been a day :)). Good luck, and let me know if you find a way to do that in the default mail app!

    -- robert
     
  8. shp13

    shp13 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just switch from a Blackberry curve to the Epic. While there were many software things that I hated about the Blackberry, I may miss the email options...

    I had my work email as well as personal email set up on the BB and added a gmail account with a switch to google calendar and deciding if I wanted to get an Android phone. I haven't been able to set up my email on the new phone yet (except by logging into my yahoo acct via the web -- not with push technology for received messages.).

    I tried info from your post, but the options for manual email setup on the Epic don't give me the choice for incoming and outgoing ports or servers. How do you get it to do that?

    Also, do you include the full email address as the user name?

    This set up pretty simply in the BB.......
     
  9. rmingee

    rmingee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    First off, I have a "paid" account with Yahoo, so if you've got a free account, this advice may not apply. When you go to add an account, there is a "manual setup" button, and you have to hit that to take you to the wizard that will walk you through the different settings one step at a time. For my paid account, I do fill in my full email address, not just the user name. Basically, it takes the same credentials you use to log into webmail.

    And FYI, the Android Yahoo mail app is not bad. I don't know if it will work if you're out of data range, because I don't know if it uses IMAP to download blocks of messages to your phone, or if it fetches individual messages as-needed.

    Hope that helps. Overall, email has been less flaky on my Epic than it was on my Pre, but I have seen some of the same problems, which leads me to believe that a big part of the problem is the Yahoo IMAP servers.

    But the Yahoo email setup was also much easier on the Pre than on the Epic as well. I attribute that to the fact that Google is behind Android, and Yahoo is a competitor...

    -- robert
     
  10. Robert95655

    Robert95655 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Complete fail. Works intermittently on a TMobile MyTouch 4g, when it fails it fails epic and you can't get the account back, sometimes for days.
     
  11. bob01000

    bob01000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you download the Yahoo email client from the Android Market place you will see that it can setup your ATT.net or SBCGlogal.net (AT&T dsl ) to IMAP.

    The Yahoo client does it automatically.
     
  12. mc4golf60

    mc4golf60 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Update - The failure is mostly consistent, but occasionally it succeeds logging in on LTE network and downloads a few emails. Has worked 3 times during a 45-min commute. Update3 - have seen the fail to login 2 times on Wifi now. Must be a Server issue??? Previous status is below.

    Correction: It stopped working on LTE - can't sign in. It was working using the following steps:

    I was finally able to get my Nexus5 stock mail app to stop giving errors by creating my @sbcglobal.net accounts using the following IMAP server settings.

    incoming: imap.mail.yahoo.com: - Note: android.imap.mail.yahoo.com gave errors on LTE but worked on Wifi.
    Security: SSL/TSL, port 993

    Outgoing: android.smtp.mail.yahoo.com:
    Security: SSL/TSL, port 465

    Note: outgoing smtp.mail.yahoo.com seemed to work on on Wifi also.

    I was able to test sending and receiving email on WiFi and LTE network (t-mobile) to/from all accounts flawlessly.
    Note: POP3 worked poorly using the recommended settings of inbound.att.net and outbound.att.net-

    IMAP is REQUIRED when accessing mail from multiple devices.
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,596
    Likes Received:
    14,435
    welcome to AF!!!!!!!!

    not sure if this will work for the og evo as it does not have LTE......just an fyi
     
    tube517 likes this.
  14. mc4golf60

    mc4golf60 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks to a post by an independent emailapp developer in his forum for EnhancedEmail, I tried disabling the Settings > IMAP > Automatic Sync on my @sbcglobal accounts, and I am able to successfully refresh manually and login without errors on LTE. He says he found a bug in the Google code that affects all mail apps. Cool.

    View topic - No new mail notification for IMAP

    UPDATE/Correction: Manual refresh still fails occasionally to sign-in. But still much better.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2014
    #14

Share This Page

Loading...