Using my HTC to connectmy computer to an excisting WiFi network


Last Updated:

  1. Qualmi

    Qualmi New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, here's the deal. I have a stable WiFi network, an Android phone (HTC Tattoo), and a computer. What I don't have is a way to get said computer to connect to the WiFi network, seeing that I don't have a wireless card.

    The question I want to get an answer to is simply this: Is there any possibility to use my android phone as a wireless card, thus get my computer online? Or do I have to go out to get a wireless card? I don't want to use 3G, seeing that it's slow, and the WiFi net is included in my rent.
     

    Advertisement
  2. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    As far as I know, there is no way to use your phone as a teather to a WiFi network (so can to 3G, but you have already said you don't want to do that)

    Sorry :(
     
  3. Qualmi

    Qualmi New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the swift answer!

    Oh well, I will have to go shopping some time soon, then.
     
  4. 28064212

    28064212 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    17
    There probably is some way to use the phone as a WiFi tether, but for the amount of time and effort you'd have to put into finding out how to do it and the hassle of having to connect your phone to your PC every time, would it not be easier to just spend the $20 on a USB wireless adapter?
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    It's included in your rent? Better make sure you have a good firewall.
     
  6. 4x4le

    4x4le Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done it with pdanet before just to test and see if it could be done. It works, and you even wouldnt have everyone crying that your going to go over on your data package since you would be using your apt's wifi.
     

Share This Page

Loading...