using Nexus One with no 3G only EDGE


Last Updated:

  1. Frank

    Frank Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will be using my new Nexus with EDGE only as I will not have 3G where I am overseas. Is anyone else in the same boat? Just wonder if there are any issues. I assume it will work the same as 3G but slower, how much slower? Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. ap3604

    ap3604 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    78
    Eh, its not THAT bad. Most of the time its just that people are really impatient. Its also because if your paying extra money for 3g then you should get it. If your overseas and have a cheaper plan then there is no reason you shouldn't be happy =]

    Just always remember to relax and remember how gifted we are to even have such toys like the N1 and data connection web surfing anywhere in the world (even if it is edge) =P
     
    Frank likes this.
  3. Ryjabo

    Ryjabo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    23
    The 3G coverage where I live (South of Provo, Utah) is spotty, at best. I usually turn off the 3G to save battery.

    Last night, I had a solid Edge connection when I was at home, and I was downloading some stuff at 20-50kb/sec. That's obviously slower than I'd ever want my own ISP to be, but if you're using Facebook or Email, it's just fine.
     
    Frank likes this.
  4. Zmydust

    Zmydust Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    I get about 200-250 kb
     
    Frank likes this.
  5. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    As long as your not doing any heavy web surfing you will be fine. Find some wifi spots, there everywhere these days

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
     
    Frank likes this.
  6. crabman

    crabman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    28
    Been there. Realistically outside of video, streaming, and similar data hogs edge works fine. At times when in spotty coverage edge can actually be faster than 3g in a tortoise vs hare way.
     
    Frank likes this.
  7. Gozer28

    Gozer28 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Edge is so bad its horribly slow and I don't have the patience to wait out loading a webpage that takes 20 seconds, 3g is way faster, I have to deal with the sucky 3g issues with my nexus going to edge all the time because of the hardware problems with the N1 that is unfixable. I have no choice but to deal with it and its the worst thing ever lol.
     
    Frank likes this.
  8. loganss

    loganss Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    EDGE really isn't all that bad if you are just doing basic web browsing. If you're just reading articles/text in your browser, I'd recommend turning of the loading of images to speed things up.

    When I was on Edge I had no problems getting my email/google voice notifications.

    2/3G speeds vary based on your location and network so it's hard to tell how well it will work for you. I recommend that you manually force your phone into 2G to see how it'll be like.
     
  9. atn_chargers

    atn_chargers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    Actually edge uses more energy than 3G.

    At full throughput (100% data flow) Edge is using significantly more energy than 3G. 3G is more energy efficient.
     
  10. csreborn

    csreborn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    17
    When I had a T-Mobile N1 I used it on AT&T on EDGE with no issues, other then it's obviously slower. The funny thing is a I could load a page faster then a iPhone 3G most of the time.
     
  11. Gozer28

    Gozer28 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I live in Ogden Utah and the T-Mobile 3g out here blows with nexus one, when I had a g1 I never lost 3g EVER, just wish I could have that stable connection with my nex, and lately the 3g has been slower then usual but dint get this way until I installed the new froyo 2.2. Edge is so bad still even just pulling up simple text on the web super slow like 15 20 sec to wait on it, when my N1 goes to edge I dont even try to mess with anything web related at all I just cant deal with how slow it is, totally worthless, its like watching grass grow.
     
  12. ilovellamafood

    ilovellamafood New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edge isn't too terrible. Actually, I have less than EDGE and I do fine. I only get GPRS.
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    now you know thats a damm lie...
     
  14. EddieEC

    EddieEC Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    EDGE is enough for me. I'm patient. It's not that bad.
     
  15. Zmydust

    Zmydust Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Actually no, My gf has an iPhone 3gs on ATT and my Nexus on Tmobile Edge only will out pace it everytime. We have tried side by side 5 or 6 times.
     
  16. Carlos_Spicy_Weiner

    Carlos_Spicy_Weiner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I'm at work my Tmobile N1 sets to edge and it is so slow but if i go to the dialer and enter *#*#4636#*#* then go to 'phone information' and change 'Set preferred network type:' from 'WCDMA preferred' to 'WCDMA Only' my phone connects to 3G. 3G FTW
     
  17. martinl1030

    martinl1030 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a TMobile Nexus on ATT and Edge isnt too bad if youre doing basic stuff that's mostly loading text like googling. it only sucks when you go on websites that have a lot of ads/images that take a really long time to load. Surprisingly, edge is fast enough to keep up with loading turn by turn nav maps as well.

    PS. cant wait for my ATT Nexus.
     
  18. titan2005

    titan2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    10
    Does the N1, when on EDGE all voice call get route to voicemail,?
    This is pertaining to EDGE only not WiFi or 3G
     
  19. shttw

    shttw Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can only get EDGE where I work and it's fine for voice and data - voda UK. Slower than 3G of course but adequate, and much better than GPRS.
     

Share This Page

Loading...