Using On Holiday - What do I need to know


Last Updated:

  1. gd123

    gd123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there, I was wondering if someone can advise the does and don'ts of using abroad ( canaries) to make sure I don't run up a big bill.

    Hotel has wifi in common areas so also keen to know if i can use this to make calls - what do i need to set up download.

    How do i ensure I don't use phone connection for data ( if i need to do that)

    Any advice appreciated
     

    Advertisement
  2. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi,

    I took my Hero to France recently (I'm on 3UK contract) and was worried about this too.

    I don't know who you're with, but 3 have a great policy where going abroad is concerned. They have a limit of something like
     
    gd123 likes this.
  3. Daz666

    Daz666 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    12
    I used APNdroid abroad which was pretty useful, its a wiget you can use so that you phone won't try connecting to the internet or anything, turning off roaming will help too. It wasnt too bad abroad tho cuss if i did try to access the internet it wouldnt let me and id have to pay to use it abroad.

    One thing to avoid would be to go into the pool with the phone in your pockets tho lol! I made that silly mistake after Id told my gf that id never do a silly thing like that! Luckily its working properly again now but it was a close call! :D

    P.s if ya do use APNdroid and want to remove it dont do it without enabling the internet again or you may have to redownload the app on wifi to get your internet settings back
     
    gd123 likes this.
  4. gd123

    gd123 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the advice - i'm with t mobile btw
     
  5. JasonC

    JasonC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    38
    I've recently come back from a 2 week business trip to Barcelona and found out a few things regarding your phone abroad! A few tips I can give are as follows:

    1. Keep your lock screen on all the time, I had my phone pickpocketed but forgot to do this, however, I did have Wavesecure installed which would have locked the phone when they changed the SIM card, making access to my data nearly impossible and gave me time to change google passwords etc just incase. If you have no lock on at all it will be quite easy for them to run up your bill, access all your data etc. Make sure you ring your operator immediately to cancel the SIM card and block the IMEI number of the phone. Make sure you have the operator number on your partners phone, a spare phone or written down somewhere because if you don't it could take you a while to cancel your phone.

    2. If your going to use the phone by water and on the beach, I recommend an Aquapac case which is completely waterproof and is submersible up to 5m. (see pics below of mine)

    3. Data - Using data costs a lot so keep this switched off as much as possible, however, I'm with Vodafone and they seem to have got a bit better regarding data usage abroad and I got a text message every megabyte or so reminding me how much it was costing. They also put a cap on the data usage so you can't go way over the top, but they do give you the option to remove the cap (which I did as my business was paying for it)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. AceMathias

    AceMathias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'm with T-mobile and went to Germany recently. I could only use wifi over there because i think i may have needed to call them before i left to activate the phone for use abroad. Was a bit of a pain, but at least i had no bill when i returned.

    JasonC, how did you get that extended power/system widget near the bottom of your phone? I have froyo, but can only get a smaller one, have you rooted or something?
     
  7. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Looks like Extended Controls from the market to me
     
  8. JasonC

    JasonC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes it's Extended Controls, I'm on 2.2 unrooted.
     
  9. Moogle

    Moogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    um... I checked email a few times abroad, but sent my usual number of messages...


    and will have to pay around
     
  10. Daz666

    Daz666 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah im on T-mobile too and it won't let you access the internet without paying extra for it.

    lol, on my plane ride home from Spain my phone wasnt working because it had got wet and just to rub salt on my wounds I saw a waterproof packet which would have helped! I'll have to try an Aquapac when I next go on holiday just incase I do something silly like going into the pool with it again but I think ive learnt my lesson after the first time! :D
     
  11. chris 290

    chris 290 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    44
    Think you could use skype over wifi if you download nimbuz. This could be a big saving :)
     
  12. marcimpala

    marcimpala Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks JasonC for those awesome shots of the aquapac, that's my next priority purchase.

    I travel frequently abroad and I just make sure the "data roaming" button remains unchecked. Once in the states, there is no need to re-check it so it can basically always stay off. You can still make calls from abroad and send SMS messages using your US SIM card.

    For any lengthy period of stay, I always purchase a local SIM card and just pop it in (I had to unlock my HTC "My Touch" first but T-mobile sent the code quickly enough). Most countries offer some form of 3G network so you simply need to enter their internet access code as a new APN under wireless settings. It's just that easy...no DNS, no other parameters, just the APN name.

    I actually have 3G connectivity in most parts of Africa using Zain. In Europe, I use T-mobile UK.

    Hope this helps.
     
  13. wrigglesworth

    wrigglesworth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well not if you want something that actually works! (according to the marketplace comments)
     
  14. Baz8755

    Baz8755 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7

Share This Page

Loading...