using phone 3g for internet?Tips


Last Updated:

  1. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi guys

    I have heard it is possible to use a phone 3g signal to use the internet on the WiFi only nexus. Anyone know how?

    Many thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Claghorn

    Claghorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    45
    I used Fox-Fi on my phone and PdaNet Tablet on my Nexus 7 via bluetooth, and it worked perfectly. Did a whole chat session with comcast to schedule a cable repair when my cable wasn't working and I couldn't use Wi-Fi.
     
  3. whs37

    whs37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    113
    Am I right in assuming that you need a 3G contract for that ??
     
  4. tcat007

    tcat007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    262
    Yes, 3G contract (many prepaid month to month plans), or a phone that tethers. I have an Optimus-V on Virgin Mobile that tethers fine. Not really "allowed" per VM contract, but works. I never use it though, I am almost always on wifi.

    info about Apple, but applicable: Which iPad 3G Data Plan Should You Buy?
     
  5. whs37

    whs37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    113
    Hmm, that kills it for me. No phone, no contract either.
     
  6. metalbiker

    metalbiker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    10
    i just use my Gnex that is rooted and romed to use hotspot and connect to internet that way when not in wifi
     
  7. EVU

    EVU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    47
    another +1 for Foxfi on the cell + PDAnet on the N7.
    Great story btw!
     

Share This Page

Loading...