Using Sprint network instead of wifi out of spite


Last Updated:

  1. x081967

    x081967 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Because of that extra $10 charge, I find myself intentionally using Sprint's data network to stream / download music instead of using available wifi just so I can use up Sprint's bandwidth.

    Just wondering if I'm the only one.

    I didn't do this when I had my Pre.
     

    Advertisement
    thaprinze likes this.
  2. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    then you are shooting yourself in the foot, speed wise. WiFi > 3G or 4G (provided you have a decent cable connection and not dial-up)
     
    AJ_EVO and EarlyMon like this.
  3. SMFDawg

    SMFDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I laughed so hard when I saw this I had to register. You are not alone, haha
     
  4. jpshotya

    jpshotya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    i do the same thing
     
  5. mms1946

    mms1946 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    58
    same boat. my router is in the basement and the evo's 3g connection is pretty fast in my home... + i'm paying $10 extra, so i will use and abuse as much as possible.
     
  6. dtrose

    dtrose Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's the Spirit! :)
     
  7. berardi1111

    berardi1111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yeah and when the impose restrictions you'll be the same one crying here. Just remember this thread, lol.
     
  8. drksilenc

    drksilenc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    68
    there are no restrictions berardi
     
  9. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    I don't do anything out of spite. I use whatever connection is most stable and fastest. At home, that's usually my wifi. When I'm out though, I don't like to use just any open wifi connection available so it's mostly network.

    I want Sprint to succeed and for things, and I'm glad they've thus far bucked the trend of tiered (read lower) data plans.
     
  10. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    85
    I streamed Slingplayer all night on 3G lol. Too bad I'm at 4.6GB of data now! :O Didn't think it would use that much.
     
  11. s0ber

    s0ber Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eventually they will do the AT&T and Verizon route and start throttling their "unlimited" data plans because of all the extra bandwidth usage.
     
  12. lotharmax

    lotharmax Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can't even get the wifi connection to work, it shows that it is connected but when i try to refresh a page there is a message "unable to connect" - so I keep it on 3G all the time.
     
  13. MalloThaPrince

    MalloThaPrince Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    I Use up all of sprints data lol..heck i'm getting my $10 worth lol
     
  14. ericshmerick

    ericshmerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    40
    I do simply because Wifi hardly works in my house. And because I want to make Sprint earn that 10 bucks...
     
  15. secretmethod70

    secretmethod70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    8
    I use Sprint's data connection instead of WiFi, but it's not out of spite... it's because the WiFi radio on the Evo sucks. I only get reception when I'm in the same room as the router, despite the fact my laptop gets excellent reception anywhere in the house.
     
  16. jerzeywill

    jerzeywill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    I use sprint network because my wifi doesn't work all over in my house and sprint network is great. Not because I pay extra $10 lol.
     
  17. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn Guest

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    42
    Before I got my Evo I thought I'd put a hurt on them too.
    One small thing though. The Evo screams on Wi-Fi where the Pre never got speeds far beyond 3G.
     
  18. zaltol

    zaltol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    I still use my WiFi, much better speeds.
     
  19. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    LOL why? I use sprint because I pay for it. Wifi is only when you do not have sprint signal or want faster signal.


    But you are paying for it, why not just use? You can be all, I am going to screw them, but that is up to you. You should not be ashamed to use something you are paying for.
     
  20. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    86
    WiFi > $10 grudge.
     
    JunBringer likes this.
  21. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    omgz 10 dollars that i'd be paying more at ATT or VZW anywayz!!
     
  22. Minjin

    Minjin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    12
    Some people just don't understand that their actions have consequences and can't think further than tomorrow.
     
    denise1768, stevehy, geekaren and 2 others like this.
  23. Droidone

    Droidone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    118
    Well im sure sprint will return the favor by throttling data soon. Keep that wifi on standby. There has been mention that this may be happening, so stay tuned.
     
  24. zombdroid

    zombdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    96
    I am stomping my feet and holding my breath. :rolleyes: (But I am still using wifi)

    Actions like this may encourage Sprint to cap data like the other carriers.
     
  25. ramiss

    ramiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    55
    Um, I think you got that backwards. The reason for the $10 fee is because they knew more people would use the Sprint connection and/or more bandwidth.

    I don't use Wifi because it is too much trouble to switch back and forth. but then again, all I do is check email and browse the web. I have also really liked the idea that the phone should just always be connected.
     

Share This Page

Loading...