Using US versions in other countriesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. caldvite

    caldvite Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm from Turkey, where Galaxy S hasn't been introduced yet. Next week, I'm going to US and willing to buy either Vibrant or Fascinate (unlocked version); but there are some questions and concerns that bother me.

    -I'm concerned that if I will be able to use my phone in Turkey. Does the carrier(verizon or t-mobile) block network or i don't know, anything at all that will prevent me from using properly in Turkey?

    -Will I have a problem downloading upgrades or any app?

    -Also, I've read that Galaxy S versions which pre-loaded with some carrier apps have some performance issues, such as lagging, not being so smooth, etc. (I think they were Singapore versions) Since vibrant and fascinate will be pre-loaded with some apps, do they influence the phone's performance?

    I will be very pleased, if anyone can answer my questions.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Fascinate doesn't have a release date yet. However the Vibrant does release the 15th of July.

    You probably will have a problem with receiving OS upgrades due to you not being on T-Mobile USA Network and the fact that their updates are OTA only but downloading apps will be fine.

    You will receive slower download speeds if the version you buy doesn't support your networks 3G band.

    The preloaded apps don't affect performance in any way it just takes up space but with 16gb's built in memory that shouldn't even make a dent into the phone space and its still upgradable to 32gb via MicroSD for a totaling 48gb's being the maximum amount of space.

    Why not just get a Euro version though? Maybe Vodafone's Version... I heard they received one.
     
    caldvite likes this.
  3. caldvite

    caldvite Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can't get euro version; because gadget shipment from european countries to turkey is restricted due to some custom or "turkish distributor" issues. I can only get it if i'll go to that country.
    by OS upgrades, you mean android upgrades, right? or just simple verizon or t--mobile upgrades?
     
  4. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Oh... and actually I mean android upgrades but its also the non Android upgrades if any as well.
     
    caldvite likes this.
  5. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    You may be able to get Verizon's Android Upgrade though because I think they do the flashing it via ODIN but thats if you get the Verizon version though and there is no guarantee that its releasing next week. The only Galaxy S confirmed for next week in USA is the Samsung Vibrant of which is T-Mobile.

    Oh and not to mention Verizon isn't a GSM network so if your network requires SIM Cards you would be out of luck. Same for Sprint's version.
     
    caldvite likes this.
  6. caldvite

    caldvite Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    to upgrade to Froyo, i thought samsung will release the update. Can't I download it from samsung website?
    My network does require SIM card. what do you mean by this?
     
  7. ardyer

    ardyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    35
    1) Because each carrier customizes android on their phone, the carrier has to release the update, not Samsung or Google.

    2) Verizon (and Sprint) use CDMA technology, not GSM. That means if you're provider in Turkey uses GSM (which it does, since you have a sim card) you could not use a phone purchased to run on Verizon's network.
     
    caldvite likes this.
  8. caldvite

    caldvite Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) Is this the same for the versions in Europe? do you have any idea? for instance, for vodafone UK, or any other version.. or it's just the case for US versions??
     
  9. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    SIM Cards are only used by GSM Networks Aka AT&T and T-Mobile USA. Verizon wireless is a CDMA company and Sprint is a WCDMA company. So you would have to get either the Captivate unlocked or the Vibrant unlocked but also other American gsm carriers will have it as well but once again their release date hasn't been confirmed yet so it will be longer than next week probably.

    Nope the update only comes through t-mobile but there will be other ways to get it even though you aren't on the actual network. Thats what Root and Custom Roms are for. With them once t-mobile releases the android upgrade a few people in these type of forums also known as hackers and modders or developers get together with their t-mobile upgraded device to create a custom rom that puts the upgrade on your phone if you fail to receive it OTA but the OTA update most certainly is not sent out via Samsung themselves but they do create it and t-mobile is just responsible for pushing it out to people and T-Mobile has only ever done updates for android OTA.
     
    caldvite likes this.
  10. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Yeah. thats how all work normally.

    But Samsung could skip the carrier and Just release it on their support site but that seems unlikely to me.
     
    caldvite likes this.
  11. caldvite

    caldvite Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    those custom roms or root affect performance? I mean custom roms' performance and OTA donwloaded android's performance will be the same?
     
  12. caldvite

    caldvite Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    also one more thing, some phones are being sold carrier-free, such as in Amazon.de: G
     
  13. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Yes, if the you download the stock upgraded rom it will be the same upgrade performance and experience and so on. It would only be different if it was a modified rom that removed some things but developers always create a stock rom so that we can always go back to factory performance and experience or factory upgraded performance and experience.
     
    caldvite likes this.
  14. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    caldvite likes this.
  15. caldvite

    caldvite Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you very much. you helped a lot.
     
  16. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    No problem anytime.
     

Share This Page

Loading...