v3 2.1 os NOT WORKINGGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. dmadrid98

    dmadrid98 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've searched many many times... I followed the instructions (wiped out my sd card) and completely reset the phone to factory settings, put the file on the sd card, Volume down + the Power key and I get the 3 skater androids but no option to install the new os.
    Please help me! I have limited time online (pdanet, and am a Truck driver so NO SIGNAL a majority of the time)
    :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. dmadrid98

    dmadrid98 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW, I started this so I wouldn't jack somebody's thread. Also, the others have over 500 replies and makes it difficult to find an answer.
     
  3. silbay

    silbay New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had same problem until I switched SD cards.

    First card apparently was too slow for the boot sequence so when I put in my Sandisk card no problems. Generic POS card was total fail.
     
  4. kar0la420

    kar0la420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    If nothing is happening, or you don't see any progress on the blue status bar, you might need to download the file again. I had that happen to me when I downloaded directly to my phone instead of my laptop. basically you have to start over and keep trying . Also, I didn't wipe out my sd card files, only transferred the file from lap top to phone, then flashed.
     
  5. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Does your phone at least work? If it does, wait til you get home before you start messing with it. For the times you do have signal, have a functioning phone, in case something were to go wrong.

    I think the reply regarding the generic microSD card vs a good, name-brand one like SanDisk has some substance. Are you using the microSD that came with your phone? Should be a Class 2 (written very discretely on the card somewhere) SanDisk.
     
  6. Jayse

    Jayse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
  7. omfgwtflawl

    omfgwtflawl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    lolwut? He said that!

    Anyways, don't let go until after the three skating Droids go away. Then the boot screen loads up.
     
  8. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you're not getting the "boot" screen, you're not doing the keypress sequence properly or long enough. Even with a corrupt file or a wrong-named file, it will at least go through the sequence of looking for and checking certain files that it can boot from. THEN it will fail, of course... You're not getting that far though.
     
  9. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Isn't it supposed to be the power button and the call button at the same time (red and green buttons)?
     
  10. Synaptyc

    Synaptyc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    The issue here is more than likely an SD card not formatted properly.
    Put the SD card in your computer and backup all the stuff you want to keep.
    Next, format the SD card to FAT32. Most of the default 'drop-down' options should be fine, but make sure you are on FAT32, and not just FAT.

    I hope this gets you going!


    Below is a list of the different boot modes for the ERIS.
    (hold these buttons in until you see the menu you need)

    Recovery Menu
    Volume UP + PWR (tap these buttons again to continue to enter the Recovery Menu)
    use volume up or down to navigate.
    PWR button selects the highlighted option

    Bootloader
    HBOOT
    Volume DOWN + PWR

    FASTBOOT
    SEND + PWR
     
  11. draconus

    draconus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    here is something I found out after finally diving into the 2.1 leaks (specifically v3), and driving myself a little batty at first: Even though you formatted your SD Card from your PC OS I HIGHLY recoomend you have the phone format the card afterwards, THEN place the image ZIP file in the root directory (make sure its' named appropriately). Thats what I had to do in order for it to see the image file and give me the option to run the upgrade.
     
  12. Richman

    Richman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if you are missing the step I did previously. I
    did not power the phone off, I only had it in standby. It needs to be powered off by holding the power button about 4 seconds, then selecting power off. Then simultaneously press and hold the volume down and power!
     
  13. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Formatting or re-formatting the card, whether in your PC or on the phone, is NOT necessary. It doesn't hurt, but unless something's wrong or corrupt with the filesystem on the card, people don't have to do that.
     
  14. jaws

    jaws Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have downloaded the new leak a couple times and I still can't get it to work. I have flashed this phone with the last two leaks with no problems but this one won't take. It won't even start the update process. I check the downloaded file and compared the md5 hash and everything matched.
     
  15. bradrobster@gmail.com

    bradrobster@gmail.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    Are you sure its the only PB00IMG.zip file in there? Make sure that the download of a duplicate named file has not added a (1) or (2) to it, like PB00IMG (1).zip. You probably already did this since you checked the hash but I figured I would throw it out there to try to help.
     
  16. jaws

    jaws Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done all that. Like I said, I never had a problem like this before with the other two leaks. Flashing this phone really isn't that hard so I don't know why I am having this problem.
     
  17. draconus

    draconus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    It may be just that. In my experience, new pre-formatted cards or cards used in other devices tend to have issues when used in a new device, which may be due to how it's formatted. I've seen it often enough where the first thing I do when moving or buying new cards is have the device format it first before use.

    After that i have no problems with swapping it between my device and my PC.

    Jaws: Where did you download the v3 leak, was it through these forums or was it the rooted version from the XDA forums?
     
  18. rthibeault

    rthibeault Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4

    Right here...

    It's stickied right at the top of the Eris page...
     
  19. dmadrid98

    dmadrid98 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thread has been jacked.. Damn.

    anywhoo, I will try to hold down the correct sequence of buttons. I'll give it a shot now and let ya'll know how it comes out.
     
  20. jaws

    jaws Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the original non-rooted leak found on this forum. I have tried a couple different sd cards (the one that came with my eris and the one that came with my incredible).
     
  21. dmadrid98

    dmadrid98 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Volume UP and power down keys led me to a screen with a ! and a phone...
    Send/End buttons leads me to the screen with the 3 droids and
    FASTBOOT
    <VOLUME DOWN> HBoot mode.
    then if I press down i get
    <SEND> FastBoot Mode
    <VOL UP> Recovery
     
  22. jaws

    jaws Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally got the update to work. I went through 2 different microSD cards and many reformats. I don't know why that gave me this much trouble. The last two updates didn't give me this many fits.
     
  23. draconus

    draconus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
  24. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    14
    I remember when I loaded 2.1v1, I brought up the bootloader by holding Call+End. When I loaded v2 and v3, I held VolDown+End because that's what everyone said to do. I don't think the firmware changed the way to access the bootloader. I just think there is more than one way to bring it up.

    So VolUp+End brings it up, too? So easy! I'm amazed I don't hear more stories of people accidentally flashing a new OS while the phone is in their pockets!
     

Share This Page

Loading...