Vanilla MMS ported for non-rootedGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    118
    I have finally figured out how to get the Vanilla MMS app ported for us 2.1 leakers that can't root. Thanks to jonasl over at XDA for helping me figure this out. Took some time.

    Problems that I have with it:
    -Every time someone sends you a message, it sends 2. It only notifies you of one, but two show in the thread. I'm trying to fix it.

    That's it so far, let me know of any you come across and I'll see what I can do.


    Screens:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]




    Download: Mmz.apk



    Please DONATE if you love this.
     

    Advertisement
  2. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    118
    Wow, no one wants this? I've only been trying to do this for like 4 months.
     
  3. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hmmmmm tho I do like handcent I'll give this a try

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  4. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I will throw out a thanks because of the effort you have put in to this. I've been happy with the stock Sense MMS and Swpye. I'll wait and see if you can get the two texts received at once bug fixed and then give it a shot.
     
  5. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    fix that double MMS glitch and I'm all over this
     
  6. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    16
    This :cool:
     
  7. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    i would love this if i was not already on root!
     
  8. kkpsichologist

    kkpsichologist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm trying it and so far am pleased. I am still in the configuration process (getting it how I like it of course.) once the double message thing is fixed this will be awesome!
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I don't mind the double messages. I absolutely HATE sense sms.
     
  10. snyluc13

    snyluc13 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    awesome job dude, gonna give this a try
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Do we have any update on the double MMS glitch? I still don't mind it. This is miles better than the stock app. just checking in to see what if any progress had been made.
     
  12. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    118
    I can't find where the problem lies. I think the reason is, since this is a STOCK messaging app, it's got same code as the stock HTC messaging app. Therefore, it getting messages from HTC's and this one, even though notifications for the HTC one are turned off. I just can't seem to find how to change that unless you're rooted..
     
  13. Zepplin

    Zepplin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't get the two notifications.. Works just fine for me.. Good Job btw..Much better than the stock.
     
    oldngrumpy likes this.
  14. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    no double notifications?? Well time to jump on board
     
  15. Zepplin

    Zepplin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    My launcher pro even picked it up as default messenger so it's link to the dock on the bottom of the screen.. That's a big + for me!
     
  16. KrazyRay

    KrazyRay Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds good, I'll give it a try. :)
     
  17. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    So does Swype work with this?:confused:
     
  18. fmadrigal

    fmadrigal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    174
    Yeah i get the double sms thing...
     
  19. Zepplin

    Zepplin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had handcent set as my default sms app when I installed this.. As soon as I installed and opened it up it gave me the box to set my default again.. Set it to this app and cleared the defaults on the others.. I never got double notifications in mine..
     
  20. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    you still only get ONE notification. The problem is you get the same message twice, at the same time.
     
  21. thetingster

    thetingster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    31
    I can confirm the double message thing.
     
  22. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
  23. zerovertex

    zerovertex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    You have to go turn notifications off on your other MMS/SMS programs. I had to disable notifications in Handcent and Messaging. The app works great! Love it! Thanks!
     
  24. adrenalinerush12

    adrenalinerush12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    118
    I know that you have to turn the notifications off, but that's not the problem we're having. We're getting ONE notification but TWO messages appear in the thread.
     
  25. zeroleonheart

    zeroleonheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    6
    Since no one has asked, I'll put my neck out there and go for it: if I dont like it, can I uninstall it? And also great job on your hard work. I'd love to try this out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...