Various issuesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    We'll begin Tips and Tricks, Support and Troubleshooting, Accessories sub-forums, along with All Things Root (once the device is rooted) pretty soon here, dryhte.

    To you and all LG Optimus users, keep the tips coming, as they'll end up in the sub-forum once it's created. ;)
     

    Advertisement
  2. EintrachtBlue

    EintrachtBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    Sounds like a good idea. As it states in my profile I'm new to all this smart phone stuff and have just got a P500 so am looking for as many user tips as possible!

    First thing I've noticed is a) I can't set my default homepage when connecting to the web - well, I can set it but it completely ignores when I next go in. Maybe it's a T-Mobile thing?
    b) I set up a twitter account (look at me!) and when I try and refresh when connected through 3G I get 'cannot retrieve Tweets at this time'. If I connect through wifi it seems OK.

    Probably lot's more to come!

    Bye for now
     
  3. ianca

    ianca New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi EintrachtBlue
    I had the same trouble with the browser homepage. My change wasn't registered until I went to Settings>Applications>Manage applications>Running>Browser. I then hit the Force stop button. When I next launched the browser my homepage had changed.:)
     
    EintrachtBlue likes this.
  4. EintrachtBlue

    EintrachtBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great! Thanks a lot! :)
     
  5. stonedchewy

    stonedchewy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    which is auto rotating test? and the gyroscope test?
     
  6. Kalid

    Kalid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do I create folders to separate my received messages from my sent messages on LG optimus One (P500) mobile phone ?
     
  7. r3JAM

    r3JAM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I really can't understand the CPU thingy on the flash issue of the Optimus One. They're saying that it does not meet minimum requirements for Adobe as it is only an ARMv6 and for flash to work you need to have an ARMv7. However, if it is true that this runs on a Qualcomm MSM7227 (which is an ARMv6), then it should support flash. I have seen a local device (Cherry Mobile Superion; Cherry Mobile) which supports Flash 10.1 and it has the same OS and processor with the Optimus One.
     
  8. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    I don't think, you can, at least not with the standard sms application. You might have better luck with different sms apps, search around in the market?

    Where does it say that this phone supports Flash 10.1? Not on the site you linked to, at least I didn't find it there.

    Maybe they have Flash Lite on the phone or something like that, but it will never be the official Adobe flash 10.1 because as you said, they didn't develop it for ARMv6 cpu's and never will.
     
  9. Spetsnaz101

    Spetsnaz101 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still don't get it. The box which the phone came in clearly mentions "Adobe Flash v10.1". Whats that all about?
     
  10. Spetsnaz101

    Spetsnaz101 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can one find this wall paper? Have looking for it all over. [​IMG]
     
  11. gregster

    gregster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just got my P500 yesterday (yes, im a noob) but im having trouble managing my apps, my battery drains so quick. i only dowloaded angry birds.

    Help!

    is it normal to see 10 or more apps in the running apps tab. (settings,application)
     
  12. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yes, that's normal.

    However, before complaining about your battery, wait a couple more recharge cycles and see if it gets better (often, batteries don't reach their full efficiency until after a couple of charge/discharge cycles. Mind you, you don't have to discharge completely)

    Another thing: it's quite normal for the current generation of Android phones that the battery doesn't last more than, say, 2 days and a night with not too heavy usage. If you're surfing the webs all day long or playing games, one day sounds just about right (with the display and cpu running all the time, the battery melts away like ice cream ;) )
     
  13. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    That's a good post, dryhte, bringing up and clarifying oft repeated questions about device batteries.

    This is the stuff that'll end up in the Optimus One Guide.

    Keep 'em coming, folks. ;)
     
  14. gregster

    gregster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks dryhte, that was uber helpful.

    what software or apps do u reccomend to new android users?
    (i.e. taskiller, swype etc)
    -for noobs like me-
     
  15. Av_CrazY

    Av_CrazY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    even ive been looking couldnt find it anywhere

    yes can any1 plz specify any good messaging application :)
     
  16. gregster

    gregster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    my P500 is just 3 days old, i was fiddling with the taskiller app and managing my apps in the settings tab yesterday. i was able to connect to a wifi connection but for some reason my mail,browser,facebook--anything to do with an intrnet connection failed, it said something about an error in the LG software crap.

    should i go to a LG service center or does anyone here have a quicker and simpler solution??????!!!!
    :(:confused::(:confused::(
     
  17. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    Optimus One specific:
    - Call Log (because there's no physical 'call' button, you can make a shortcut to the call log)

    For anyone: I don't actually use that many apps, but I'm partial to:
    - RealCalc (scientific calculator with RPN option, now I can sell my HP42S ;) )
    - AdFree (no more pesky google ads)
    - Barcode Scanner (ZXing)
    - Astro file manager
    - CalWidget (beats the standard calendar widget to death)
    - SMS Backup & Restore (Ritesh Sahu)
    - Spare Parts (for battery info)
    - Toddler Lock (to keep my 2y old entertained)
    - Angry Birds (just great)
     
    Spetsnaz101 likes this.
  18. sachinchavan

    sachinchavan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    NOTE: There is no yes/no confirmation in the menu.
    dialing 3845#*500# opens the internal test & settings menu

    Eg.
    Clicking on Factory Reset menu shows

    Format SD Card
    Factory Reset
    Delete User Data

    You will expect to show something like "Are you sure?".
    But it don't. It just resets.


    I know I am a fool and I did it just now.:eek:
     
  19. chloda100

    chloda100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guyss :) ermm i would like to know if anyone can help me, i am wondering if you can change the message tone on the LG-P500? i really want to select my music as the message tone?
     
  20. alanbingham27

    alanbingham27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    9
    Chloda100 - Go to settings, sound, notification ringtone. That's it.

    Anyone having any bother with the Faceboo app? That chat and places section just keep displaying a screen saying loading and never does anything.
     
  21. chloda100

    chloda100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the thing is it only give you the ones already on the phone, i want to know how you can do it with your own music like the music u have put on there?
     
  22. entimsu

    entimsu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  23. r3JAM

    r3JAM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay, sorry, it was the other unit that has flash. THe one that has a humming bird cpu... My mistake. However, I saw another Mobile CPU that is an ARM V6 that can run flash... It's the S3C6410 (Samsung S3C6410 - CPUlist | PDAdb.net - Comprehensive Database of Smartphone, PDA, PDA Phone, PNA, netbook & Mobile Device Specifications) which is manufactured by Samsung and this is the one being used by Spica.
     
  24. JulyDerek

    JulyDerek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    12
    Flash 10.1 comes preinstalled in all India P500 phones. It works perfectly and without any lag. Dunno why they havent installed it for other countries...

    You can install Flash 10.1 from the Android market if it isnt there on your phone.
     
  25. Amanai

    Amanai New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sadly I cannot find flash 10.1 on market or the adobe website. My hunch is that applications that are not supported by p500 do not show up. Only way I can think up of installing flash is by manually copying the flash apk on the sd card and try to install it from there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...