Velocity 1.1 Upgrade Procedure


Last Updated:

  1. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    [​IMG]

    The new Velocity 1.1 will be available tonight as a Midnight release, we have been working all day to ensure the process is smooth. Here is how it is going to work, Trident is going to host the standalone and mirror it on a separate server. I will be hosting the OTA version the script will download on the 3 Velocity OTA mirrors. This gives us a total of 5 separate servers hosting the rom, so bandwidth should not be a problem.

    Flashing Standalone Update:
    The Standalone Rom will be flashed just like any of the previous versions. There is however one new feature. [ (doing the following may result in an inability to send MMS messages) If you are coming from Velocity 1.0 it is possible to flash the rom and retain all of your downloaded applications and settings. Simply Wipe Dalvik-Cache and Cache in recovery before flashing (instead of wiping all userdata) ]
    So heres a step by step for those of you not used to this:
    • Download the Standalone Rom from the Release thread (available tonight at midnight)
    • Copy the file to your phones sdcard
    • Reboot your phone into recovery
    • Make a nandroid backup
    • Wipe [(doing the following may result in an inability to send MMS messages)] (if coming from 1.0 you can skip data and only wipe cache and dalvik as mentioned above)
    • Flash the ROM from your sdcard
    • Reboot and enjoy!

    From the Script OTA:
    As you have probably noticed there is a option in the script to check for Rom Updates in the script menu. Well it will finally report an update as available at midnight tonight! The script will let you choose between an update that will wipe data and one that will not. The choice is entirely up to you, (failure to wipe may result in an inability to send MMS messages) if you choose to wipe data it will be like restoring factory defaults, which is nice if you want a clean slate, or if you have some apps causing problems. But if you do not wipe it will leave all the apps you have in /data/app and your sdcard. And retain their data, as usual perform a nandroid if you don't have a recent one. The rom OTA is a large file (115mb) so it will take awhile to download, its not recommended to attempt this over 3g, while it is possible it would be hard to retain a connection for that long without some corruption. So for best results, get on wifi, and either plug your phone in and turn the display sleep off, or turn off the wifi sleep policy, (Menu, Wifi, Wifi Settings, Settings, Wifi Sleep). If the download is going horrendously slow you could always exit the script and start it again to get a different mirror. The script will check the Roms MD5 before it trys and flashes, so if it says the md5 fails, it will automatically remove downloaded files and take you back to the main menu, you can try again. Here is a step by step:
    • Open a terminal and type su for superuser access
    • Start the velocity by invoking velocity in the terminal
    • Enter the Rom Update checker (4 then 2)
    • Choose The Wipe or No Wipe OTA (failure to wipe may result in an inability to send MMS messages)[/B
      [*]Download OTA (115mb)
      [*]Select Y to reboot into recovery and flash automatically
      [*]OTA will flash and phone will reboot to 1.1 automatically


    [EDIT BY TRIDENT:] It has been found that failure to wipe ALL userdata will result in the failure of MMS messages on send and receive! YOU MUST WIPE EVERYTHING!

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
    androy, esseebee, mchype14 and 13 others like this.
  2. gb4fan

    gb4fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sounds simple enough even for a beginner like me!
     
    savoxis likes this.
  3. jmar

    jmar Nexican VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,851
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    If I chose to not clear data will it wipe dalvik cache and cache? Or can that be done once booted into recovery. It sounds as if it will auto boot into recovery and auto install. Sorry if this sounds noobish.
     
    savoxis likes this.
  4. krisdezzy

    krisdezzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    16
    How come thaat I never knew clearing data will erase every thing :[ I kept clearing data cause I. Thought that will cause bootloop..
     
    savoxis likes this.
  5. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    It will wipe cache and dalvik for you.
     
  6. Goonie21

    Goonie21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    42
    Savo you, Trident, GNM and Death are a bunch of PIMPS
     
    savoxis, mchype14 and k.c.cole like this.
  7. Brandonson112

    Brandonson112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    45
    I accidentally zip-aligned my rom is that gonna cause a problem?
     
    savoxis likes this.
  8. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    No, But if you are ODEXED you will want to make a nandroid before attempting to flash without wiping, I haven't tested that one. You will also be ok with dalvik on cache.
     
  9. azuma73

    azuma73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    25
    So, if I ODEXED I should wipe data too?:eek:
     
    savoxis likes this.
  10. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    Make a nandroid and be a guinea pig, worst case is you will have to restore the nandroid and try again. You will have to odex again after flash because this will replace all your system partition with 1.1
     
  11. azuma73

    azuma73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    25
    Awww man!!!:(
    Will we still have the same options in terminal emulator as before?
    What do you recommend I do?

    Nevermind, we'll just wait & see what happens!!
    Thanks man.......
     
    savoxis likes this.
  12. Matt's 175

    Matt's 175 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    32
    Hmmmm... I have 2 Allys and one of them is downloading the OTA, no problem, and the other keeps repeatedly saying "You already have the latest rom version Press enter to continue".

    Any ideas what I should do?

    EDIT: Simply re-booted phone and tried again and it's downloading now.
     
    savoxis likes this.
  13. x-amp

    x-amp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    14
    try a different server. i had the same problem
     
    savoxis likes this.
  14. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    36
    Clear your download cache. It fixed mine just like that.
     
    savoxis likes this.
  15. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    One of the mirrors didnt sync up right fixed it
     
  16. gb4fan

    gb4fan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    7
    And simple it was!!! Installed with no problems. Absolutely love the fact
    that I gained 61MB internal storage. And it appears my SD card increased space as well. Really made this phone much better than a beginners smartphone. A big thanks to the developers. Payday is Friday!
     
    savoxis likes this.
  17. artcwolf

    artcwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    9
    How long does it take to ask to reboot once download is completed? I left the phone for an hour sitting at 100% download and nothing happened.
     
    savoxis likes this.
  18. gratt26

    gratt26 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    i tryed the ota option 3x and no go? keeps comming up "comming soon" getting ready to try stand alone
     
    savoxis likes this.
  19. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708
    ...
    Please use script V > 30

    I feel like I spend all day repeating myself...
     
    gratt26 likes this.
  20. gratt26

    gratt26 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    stand alone worked great!... well actualy it froze during first reboot but no issues now.
    much love to team velocity! you deserve more than you get!
     
    savoxis and guitarzero like this.
  21. gratt26

    gratt26 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    deleted
     
    savoxis likes this.
  22. artcwolf

    artcwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    9
    I got it to work this evening, i'm impressed, I really like the one little tiny thing, and that's the battery icon showing me the % left.

    Now to learn how to change the themes :)

    Thank you so very much Devs.
     
    savoxis likes this.
  23. Zoandroid

    Zoandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    209
    Hey! I like the colored progress bar for unpacking the system files on the otherwise "all text" screen in Recovery. Nice!

    The

    VE
    LO
    CI
    TY

    boot screen mentioned above actually looked better to me once I saw it than I thought it would.

    I now see an "87" in the green battery icon. Looks like you addressed the previous tendency to show only multiples of 10, which would stay on the higher number (say, 90) until it actually fell to (say, 80) before updating, which meant I always had to be prepared to have 9% less battery than I 'thought' I had. I like this much better!

    In case anyone wonders where Terminal Emulator went, it is listed in the menus of the Velocity Tool Kit. Its icon which I had on one of my home screens gets disabled. Nice to be able to set the OC right from the Tool Kit now!

    THANKS!!

    (Oops, I meant to post this on the 1.1 thread, not on the procedures thread. My bad. ).
     
    savoxis likes this.
  24. DHusky

    DHusky New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just did standalone update from 1.0 to 1.1 with no problems. Thanks crew ^_^

    (I do wish the notification for VS740ZVE would go away though. There's no way to turn that off is there? I clear it every time I see it but it keeps coming back >_>)
     
    savoxis likes this.
  25. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    179

    Click install, it will fail. Notification goes away
     
    savoxis and DHusky like this.

Share This Page

Loading...