Verizon 3G


Last Updated:

  1. Extr3m1st

    Extr3m1st Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is it just me, or does 3G suck almost as bad as 56K? I have a Droid and live in suffolk county long island NY. And the speeds are dreadfully slow for me. Even when I have 3 or 4 bars on my connection my 3G is so slow as to be painful. Wifi works great off of my Optimum online service but 3G speeds make me just put the phone down. Is there any way for me to speed that up on my phone? I already did the #228 and then press #2 to update my roaming. I assume 4G will suck too when that comes. I already know T-Mobile and the Iphone have huge 3G issues correct. Just really takes the fun out of using the phone sometimes. Dunno how anyone streams netflix at these speeds out here on the Island.
     

    Advertisement
  2. snapcase

    snapcase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    69
    Just you. My 3g works fine. Well, actually I'm sure other people have problems with it depending where they live, but that's not uncommon.
     
    ckochinsky125 likes this.
  3. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    It has to be you and where you live. My 3G is AWESOME. Full bars 94% of the time.
     
  4. Morte

    Morte Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    It will vary location to location. In my normal location it is super fast. In others it can be pretty slow. Just like any other broadband connection the current location can be oversubscribed.
     
  5. bleedGreen

    bleedGreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    7
    I agree, it HAS to be where you are. I am at 95% most of the time. ToO bad WIFI cant be global
     
  6. Extr3m1st

    Extr3m1st Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have almost full bars here but when I go online with the phone the lag is just unbareable..its slow as crap. Kinda stinks, could it maybe be that I am using the regular browser instead of a different one? I doubt it because even my app downloads are kinda slow. I just think its my area. Almost feel like not renewing my contract because of this but I don't think I would fare any better with an Iphone and T-Mobile from all I have heard about their network.
     
  7. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    I live in a crappy coverage area and show full bars and then no bars but my dBm is usually right around ~97. My internet and market are pokey but not horrid and if I switch to wifi it flies. When I'm at work dBm is around 75 and I have zero lag or pokey-ness. Don't judge your reception on bars alone, they can be very misleading.
    Verizon should be getting a new tower up about 1/2 mile away from me...it's been through all the town boards and should have final approval this month (I hope!!). YAY!
     
  8. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    you should root and try different basebands. it is one of the primary benefits of rooting. you could also download the app speedtest.net. it tells you what your current 3g speed is.
     
  9. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    32
    speedtest app = 2185 download and 657up (that's half of my 5mb cable service) on a 4 bar -95dbm connection.
     
  10. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    those are excellent relsuts for 3g service. not as good as cable but hey its a phone lol. im happy with anything over 1mb.
     
  11. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yeah that was pretty high, usually 1.5 or so..
    just tested again 2041/691 wow I gotta get to the porn sites... LMFAO
     
  12. carassius

    carassius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    40
    I used to get annoyed with posters constantly recommending doing a factory reset...but after I manually upgraded to FRG22D I was getting much worse speed than I had previously despite having full bars (in NC).

    I had also tried *228 option 2 with no improvement.

    BUT...I did the "soft" factory reset over the weekend and that issue has improved profoundly for me and I am flying.

    Almost all apps automatically downloaded afterward and even my wallpaper returned. I did have to go "retweak" some things and add all the widgets and other stuff. But you might give it a try.
     
  13. Rugger

    Rugger Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this thread is old, but I've been fighting with this. I turn off Use my Location, Use Wireless Network, and turn on GPS. I get way better speed and GPS still lets me have location specific function. Surprisingly, doesn't seem to change battery life for me.
     
  14. watersrules

    watersrules Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    25
    99% of the time I have great coverage, but at times it is frustrating when I'm sitting in the same exact position (like on the can) and all of the sudden 3g drops out then back in... overall its cool though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...