[Verizon] accidentially disabled Google widget?


Last Updated:

  1. Tinytacohead

    Tinytacohead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Installed RootAppDelete & as I was afraid, I managed to screw something up. (I'm guessing I'm at fault anywho, tho I don't recall messing anything to do with Google) No matter how I interact with the basic Google widget, (the one that's 4x1, says Google on the left & has a mic graphic on the right), it no longer responds. How can I fix it? Also, is there anywhere I can go that clearly outlines what the default apps & services etc are, so I know for sure what I'm messing with? (kinda expected RootAppDel to be more informative in that regard) As always, thanks in advance! :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    882
    Hopefully you mad a backup of your ROM before you started deleting things, if so its time to restore the backup. If not, it's probably time to flash your ROM over again.
     
    Tinytacohead likes this.
  3. ironass

    ironass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,044
    Likes Received:
    5,307
    There is an S4 database of removable apps in step #10 of the Bloatware removal - Dummies Guide.

    As Podivin states, if you have a nandroid or Titanium backup, you can revert to that. Otherwise you will need to re-flash your ROM.
     
    Tinytacohead likes this.
  4. Tinytacohead

    Tinytacohead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    All I've used thus far is the junk scan & task manager area's/not actually started deleting apps etc. Do I still need to flash my ROM to reset whatever I could have done in those two areas and will doing such effectively reset my WHOLE phone.. or just the essential services and settings? Since I had no idea what was Ok to permanently remove, I was making sure not to go mucking around tooo deep yet, or thougbt I wasn't anyways. :eek: Also, thx for the dummies guide link. That's precisely what I was looking for. (I expect, haven't had a chance to go look it over yet)
     
  5. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    882
    Re-flash your ROM, but only wipe dalik and cache, don't wipe system or do a factory reset.
    That will reinstall everything without totally wiping your phone and making you start over again with setup.
     
    Tinytacohead likes this.
  6. Tinytacohead

    Tinytacohead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok thanks. I'll get on figuring that out. Considering how little I changed & that the only issue is the one widget, I was really hoping it'd be as simple as re-enabling some service I stopped though. I suppose it must be harder to discern what exactly needs turned back on/messier than a PC OS.. ? :p (happy holidays to those celebrating!)
     
  7. Tinytacohead

    Tinytacohead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    What if I were to use RootAppDel to simply remove Google Search.. could I then re-download it from Google Play, (can't atm, obviously because it's already installed), and use that as a simple way to fix said widget? (since nothing else is amiss) That's most likely what try first on a PC anyways..
     
  8. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    882
    I don't think it could hurt to try that. The worst thing that would happen is that you'd have to reflash your ROM... and you're sort of to that point already. :)
     
  9. Tinytacohead

    Tinytacohead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good deal/that's kinda what I figured, but thought I may as well check first. Thanks again! :)

    PS - my 5200 Hyperion came over the weekend & it rocks! (hope I like the cover too. dunno why they don't offer the batt cover in more than B&W tho)
     
  10. Tinytacohead

    Tinytacohead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, I went to do the above & realized I've yet to actually root the phone. :p (again, why I don't think I've permanently screwed anything up/to the point of needing a flash, yet) Followed instructions for basic rooting & SuperOneClick never responds/locks up every time, heh. Guess it's time to go bother the peeps in the rooting section again. (but this time with something actually related to rooting :eek:)
     
  11. Tinytacohead

    Tinytacohead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    While bored & bumbling around in settings, I finally got my Google widget working again, and as I expressed an inclination of before.. there was no need to deal with ROM's, flashing etc. In Application manager-Settings, I simply needed to Reset app preferences. Now it's time to back things up & actually go root the thing/get rid of some bloatware. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...