[Verizon] Galaxy Nexus stuck in boot loop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sronk510, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. sronk510

    sronk510 New Member
    5

    Dec 1, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I flashed a bad ROM last night and i had no Nandroid backup of any kind, i had no zip to flashto it so i wiped and formatted EVERYTHING i could in recovery mode. The phone is rooted and unlocked and it boots to clockwork recovery for recovery mode. After the entire wipe wehn i reboot it just sits at the Google screen with the unlocked sign. What steps should (if any) i take to get my phone back to normal.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Moderator
    6,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    6,333
    Washington, DC
    Welcome to AF and I'm sorry about your bootlooping issues.

    If you wiped system without installing anything, then you wiped the OS off the phone and it doesn't have anything to boot into. There's two options to go from here and both require connecting it to a computer.

    The first is downloading a good rom and gapps for your phone, use ADB to push the zips onto the phone. From there, you can flash both in your recovery.

    The second is flashing the factory image through fastboot. Doing this will wipe your device totally clean though.

    Before progressing, may I ask which type of nexus your have, (GSM, Verizon, Sprint) and what computer os you have?
     
    dhworph, NSutherl and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. sronk510

    sronk510 New Member
    5

    Dec 1, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I have the i515 Verizon model. (BTW Thank you for the extremely quick response). I had figured i had wiped the OS but im new to android so was not sure where to go from there.
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Moderator
    6,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    6,333
    Washington, DC
    The easiest way to restore if you are using windows is to flash the factory image through Wug's Nexus Toolkit, which can be found here. Wug's Nexus Root Toolkit v1.6.0 [Updated 11/26/12]

    Download and install. Once installed, you'll need to install the fastboot drivers for the phone if you haven't already. Once the driver is installed correctly, click the radio button under Back to Stock that says Soft-Bricked/Bootloop. After that, hit Flash Stock + Unroot. Doing this will return it to factory state and you'll be unrooted. Root and custom recovery can be easily re-obtained through the toolkit and you can continue on your merry way.

    Edit: I have moved this to the Verizon All Things Root section to help attract more attention
     
    NSutherl likes this.
  5. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Well-Known Member
    93

    Jun 14, 2010
    808
    146
    93
    CRNA
    Tennessee
    I had the same problem as you last night and used Wug's this am. I had trouble getting it to even recognize via USB and had to do a restor/root via Wugs. Worked perfectly.

    You are gonna be fine. Wugs will fix it.
     
  6. Danielson2047

    Danielson2047 Well-Known Member
    43

    Jan 10, 2010
    370
    34
    43
    Portage, WI
    Did you wipe through clockwork or through the phone?
     
  7. NSutherl

    NSutherl Well-Known Member
    68

    Sep 6, 2011
    364
    150
    68
    HVAC Design Engineer
    Los Angeles
    Click here to thank jhawkkw.
     
  8. sronk510

    sronk510 New Member
    5

    Dec 1, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Hey thank for the help, Wug's Kit worked perfectly. Everything is fine, i rerooted the phone after the restore. Thank you so much for the directions you guys are awesome.
     
  9. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    The system is giving me problems so I have to make a kind of generic post first...sorry about this.
     
  10. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    My sgn is stuck in a bootloop as well. The bootloader is locked and unfortunately I do not have everything backed up. I had checked off that option in "backup & restore" but from what it seems to me, that doesn't back up everything to googles servers such as your sms and pics (which I'm concerned about).

    Is there anyway I can fix this bootloop issue without losing my data?
    I get to the unlock screen and the phone keeps restarting,,

    I would really appreciate some help!

    Thanks
     
  11. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Moderator
    6,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    6,333
    Washington, DC
    I would try clearing the cache partition within the stock recovery. That is probably the only option available that will allow you to keep your data. If it doesn't work, a factory reset from within recovery will wipe your apps, but will leave media intact such as pictures, music and videos.
     
  12. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Ok going to try that now. How do I go from recovery mode to deleting cache pls?
     
  13. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Will I loose my text messages if I do a factory reset?
     
  14. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Moderator
    6,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    6,333
    Washington, DC
    Yes, you will if you factory reset.
     
  15. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Is there anything else I can try?

    FYI:
    It weird, the phone used to reboot right after the nexus logo, not even bringing me to the lock screen. I heated the phone up with hot air and now it brings me to the lock screen. If im fast enough im even able to get past the lock screen and into the phone but then it reboots after.

    Are you sure pics don't get deleted after a factory wipe?

    Anyway I can ssh/ftp into the phone and export everything onto pc?

    Here's the info from fastboot:

    PRODUCT NAME - tuna
    VARIANT - maguro
    HW VERSION - 9
    BOOTLOADER VERSION - PRIMEKK14
    BASEBAND VERSION - I9250UGLH1
    CARRIER INFO - NONE
    SIGNALING - production
    LOCK STATE - LOCKED
     
  16. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Moderator
    6,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    6,333
    Washington, DC
    A factory reset from within recovery will not touch anything media based. The only thing that would that would delete those would be flashing a factory image through the bootloader or unlocking to bootloader. If clearing the cache partition didn't fix the issue, then because the bootloader is locked there is not much else we can besides factory reset.
     
  17. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    So no programs I can use to get into the folders of the phone to extract anything?

    And you're saying if I unlock the bootloader (which would be needed) I also wipe the entire phone, catch 22 basically?
     
  18. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Moderator
    6,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    6,333
    Washington, DC
    Yep, basically. If the bootloader was initially unlocked, more could be done. But since it is locked, options are limited.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  19. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Ok, are you sure I will not lose media with a recovey wipe and locked bootloader?
     
  20. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Moderator
    6,333

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    6,333
    Washington, DC
    Yes, media will remain intact unless you unlock your bootloader through fastboot, flash a factory image through fastboot, or manually choose to wipe the sd card in custom recovery. A factory reset in Stock recovery will wipe apps and settings, but will leave the internal sd untouched.
     
  21. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Ok, thanks so much!

    What about a device like the riffbox or SE TOOL, (JTAGGING the device)?

    Also. when I went to do a factory wipe it says ALL USER DATA will be deleted. Therefore won't my pics get deleted too? I know you said it won't but are you 110% sure?
     
  22. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    Well I did the wipe and my pics are no longer there! :(
    What happened?
     
  23. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    VIP Member
    523

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,851
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    Which 'wipe' did you perform? Detailed above were the 'wipes' which would indeed delete your pics (as well as/an option(s) which would not)...(i.e. all media, including music, ringtones, pics, etc). Did you perform one of those 'wipes?' If not, which type did you choose?

    jmar
     
  24. houzemuzik

    houzemuzik Member
    15

    Feb 5, 2013
    11
    0
    15
    I went into fastboot mode and from there into recovery mode and then selected "wipe data/factory reset" that was the only option to wipe! The only other one was to wipe cache partition but that option still kept me in the boot loop I was in.
     
  25. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    6,393

    May 2, 2010
    12,138
    8,616
    6,393
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Hmm, I didn't figure that would wipe your sdcard either. Just to be sure, are you looking at location /data/media/0/DCIM/Camera? Assuming you're running Jellybean that is.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...