1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

[Verizon] How to: Unroot the Galaxy Nexus, Re-lock the Bootloader and Return to a Factory State


Last Updated:

  1. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    I would be interested in seeing the specific files and commands for this too.
     

    Advertisement
  2. esmith818

    esmith818 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    316
    civicsisedan likes this.
  3. civicsisedan

    civicsisedan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    178
    Yes this...

    Thanks, that thread should be STICKIED!!
     
    Mahalo likes this.
  4. civicsisedan

    civicsisedan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    178
    alright doing it now...

    this should be stickied...

    Easy as pie....

    Thanks!!
     
    soy.lor.n likes this.
  5. civicsisedan

    civicsisedan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    178
    Yeahha 2nd post...

    it should say

    adb reboot bootloader
    fasboot oem lock


    not adb reboot blootloader
     
    Yeahha likes this.
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,693

    Thanks! Fixed now
     
  7. soy.lor.n

    soy.lor.n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    151
    ok...upon looking into this a little more I have a question.

    Am I supposed to extract the file containing the image twice? It starts as a tgz, then when I extract it it's a tar, and if I extract THAT I get a folder containing the image-mysid-icl53f.zip plus the other .img files that are needed.

    I think maybe I answered my own question.... But if that's not right, someone lemme know please!
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    I added a link in the SA's locked All things root guide to this thread under general guides.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  9. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    You are correct, you have to extract twice :D
     
    soy.lor.n likes this.
  10. soy.lor.n

    soy.lor.n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    151
    OK and one more that's actually a legitimate noob question.

    What state is our phone supposed to be in to do this?

    Should it be on or off?

    Should USB debugging be turned on?

    From reading the comments on this page I'm assuming ON and ON?
     
  11. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    It should be on (just like when you are ready to make a phone call) and when you run the first command "adb reboot bootloader" it puts it into the bootloader or if you are completely bricked I assume you can just start from the bootloader...
     
  12. soy.lor.n

    soy.lor.n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    151
    Alright, done and done

    THANK YOU guys so much!!
     
  13. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    120
    I keep getting an error in bootloader stating cannot load bootloader-toro-primekk15.img

    Any help?
     
  14. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    120
    Ok...I got that issue figured out. For some reason, even though my paths were correct, it wouldn't work from platform-tools. I extracted the sdk-tools mini folder, placed my files there and ran my commands through that path, and it worked.
     
  15. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    Were you using vista or windows 7? Maybe you needed to run it as administrator?
     
  16. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Agreed. Its also likely that many users will be accepting OTA updates through Google which will always keep our radio updated. With an unlocked bootloader, its not a worry like it is on many other devices that rely on exploits that may get patched via OTA. Even thinking about roms...we are on the leading edge here with the newest android version. Most roms are going to be based off what we get as stock. So why needlessly flash partitions, especially the radio which is the most apt to cause problems? I think this topic need more discussion. It may just be that we would be best served to throw out what we know...full wipes...and focus on targeted wipes? Idk, I'm still learning here too but I'm finding that fastboot is a powerful tool and moving forward with caution may be beneficial.
     
    Yeahha likes this.
  17. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Yeahha, are your instructions 100% correct? I have to do that now and return this pos for another.
     
  18. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    Bjanow they should be correct. Be aware that there is a possibility unrooting will not remove all traces of root.
     
  19. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Something I'll have to live with I guess. But your instructions are golden, right?
     
  20. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    Yeah they should work fine. You may have superuser installed after you unroot.
     
    bjanow likes this.
  21. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    ok I'll uninstall it then, thanks. Doing a Tib and cwr now, then giving it a go.
     
  22. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,014
    Likes Received:
    20,735
    I think we're good now re. this...

    I flashed back to stock about 8 times this weekend... For the first 7 times, I kept re-signing back-in during the activation / setup part and saw that my apps had mysteriously reappeared. I was also re-applying the root package via ClockworkMod at times, so I was putting those pieces back manually (and, of course, you can't examine the /data/app directory to see what's there without being rooted--a small catch-22).

    I believe this occurred because Android was auto-downloading my apps.

    On the last time I flashed back to stock, I skipped the sign-in part and there were no sign of my old apps.

    I would just re-lock and unlock the bootloader, flash back to stock (skip the sign-in part of the activation / setup), and finally, re-lock the bootloader one last time before returning.

    I also think you can skip re-flashing the radio and bootloader if you haven't changed them...

    Cheers!
     
    woodstorm, bjanow and Yeahha like this.
  23. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Done, thanks guys. No trace of superuser afaik. Off the the vzw store now.

    Edit: I got a new phone, rerooted, installed cwr, restored my old backup, back to where I was an hour ago. Once again, thanks guys for the great support.
     
    soy.lor.n and scary alien like this.
  24. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    Mahalo, bjanow and Yeahha like this.
  25. jdowney88

    jdowney88 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    So if I follow the steps in post #3 to unroot, this will allow me to get OTA updates? Then I can root again and be back where I was with but with an update?
     

Share This Page

Loading...