Verizon Morotoral Droid changer service provider..Possible?


Last Updated:

  1. andro1d5

    andro1d5 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible that if you have a rooted phone, you can change service providers? I want to go with boostmobile, my phone is Verizon Motorola Droid.
     

    Advertisement
  2. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    I've heard of people using a Droid on Boost, but I don't know how they did it. Might be best to Google that while you wait from a reply here. Also might want to do a search in the regular Droid forum, I'm pretty sure I've seen it come up there in the past.
     
  3. andro1d5

    andro1d5 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will continue to search
    My bro went to a boost mobile store and told him he couldn't use it with them because it was locked. So I rooted the phone (motorola droid). Boost mobile does support CDMA and when I go to the phone settings it says the network type is also CDMA.
     
  4. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    481
    If you can get it activated (I think this is unlikely) you would need a PRL to use that would give priority to Sprint SIDs, or use only Sprint SIDs, since Boost is Sprint. There may be other aspects that would be more difficult to get working - like 3G. On my previous phone with Sprint, I modded it to use a customized Verizon PRL and activated it on Page Plus (a Verizon MVNO), but it would still only work with 1x.

    Your best bet is probably to ask in a forum dedicated to the carrier you want to switch to.
     
  5. ultradroid

    ultradroid So many android phones... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    71
    Back a few years ago, I had a Sprint Motorola Razr, moved to Verizon and brought it with me. That phone (which I had a professional switch over to Verizon's brand of CDMA) lasted me for probably five years. I finally moved from that to the Droid 1, but it worked up to the day of the switch to Android.

    I realize that I'm talking older, non-3G service here, but I was trying to show that there is usually a way to pull off these kind of moves, as long as (in the case of the Droid), you're willing to accept a lesser kind of OTA service, because I don't think that Sprint and Verizon use the same frequencies for their 3G and 4G services.

    -Mike
     
  6. sherry maddux

    sherry maddux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i need to change my phone from virgin mobile pre paid to verison pre paid i cant get a signal with virgin mobile at my home how can i switch the service providers
     

Share This Page

Loading...