1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

[Verizon] New Radio leak(CDMA/LTE Nexus)


Last Updated:

  1. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    The old radio is in the stock images that Google posted and can be flashed through fastboot.
     

    Advertisement
    trophynuts likes this.
  2. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    59
    is it possible to flash just the radio? or will that flash back to complete stock?

    if it goes back to complete stock, can we just restore nandroid to get back to where we were then?
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    This fastboot stuff is pretty new to me, what file(s) do I use from the zip and how do what commands do I use in fastboot? Thanks in advance.
     
  4. johninc

    johninc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    166
    That will only change the radios, nothing else. Just make sure to do a nandroid any time you flash.
     
  5. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    There should be no reason you will be wiped with a radio flash. Perhaps we should sleep on this one? Let the reports come in. Remember that a radio is totally separate from a rom. If you just can't wait the reports look promising so far.
     
  6. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    This looks like a recovery flash, not fastboot.
     
  7. mwsmith

    mwsmith Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    24
    unzip the two radio files from the stock image. place them in the folder with adb.exe. open a command prompt.

    adb reboot bootloader

    fastboot flash radio radio-toro-i515.ek02.img
    fastboot reboot-bootloader
    fastboot flash radio-cdma radio-cdma-toro-i515.ek05.img
    fastboot reboot-bootloader
    Then, click the power button on START.
     
    cbeng and crackers8199 like this.
  8. trophynuts

    trophynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Guys as with most mods and ESPECIALLY until we all get a feel for this G Nex. It is good to make a fresh NANDROID backup before doing any modding. So that you can restore back to where you were before trying this or any mods.

    ..end PSA lol
     
    Steven58 likes this.
  9. igotgame

    igotgame Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    8
    Would this prevent getting an OTA update?
     
  10. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Nandroid will do you no good with a radio flash. Just flashed it, same speed test and dbm. Looks safe. More tomorrow.

    Edit: Yeah, it's not looking so hot. If you didn't flash I'd def hold off for now. I'm not sure if the huge batt drain is due to vzw data outage or the new radio but I flashed back to the old one.
     
  11. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    I have added this thread to the Root Guide sticky.

    Just something everyone should note, if you are wanting to accept OTA updates installing this radio may prevent you from doing so.

    If you wish to flash back to the prior radio(s) and/or bootloader do the following.

    1. Download this file it is the factory image from google and can be found here verify the MD5sum is bafc4d3c5faa9822f76a5313fc91f743

    2. Extract the file and move the radio(s) img files to the same folder your adb.exe and fastboot.exe files are in.

    3. With the phone powered on and with USB debugging on plug it into the computer.

    4. Hold shift and right click on the folder you placed the img files in. Choose "Open command prompt here"

    5. Execute the following commands in the command prompt:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb reboot bootloader
    2. fastboot flash radio radio-toro-i515.ek02.img
    3. fastboot reboot-bootloader
    4. fastboot flash radio-cdma radio-cdma-toro-i515.ek05.img
    6. Reboot your phone by highlighting “Start” and pressing the lock switch and you have restored to the previous radios.

    Note: If you wish to only revert 1 radio then leave out the fastboot commands for the other radio. If you are wanting to play it safe and revert the bootloader too then run these commands as well (also move the img file to the folder with the radios)

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. fastboot reboot-bootloader
    3. fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-toro-primekk15.img
     
    Podivin, RazorSharp, cbeng and 2 others like this.
  12. Sports1131

    Sports1131 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    14
    Not much of a change for me. My dBm reading at the moment is -98 whereas it was usually over 100 before. LTE speed test gives me 12785 kbps down/5048 up.

    The big test will be at work tomorrow where I keep dropping to one bar and occasionally lose my internet connection completely.
     
  13. blastbeats

    blastbeats Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    21
    Flashed this a few minutes ago. My 3G signal at home has been decent but usually not used since wifi is available. True test will be tomorrow at work where I spend most days with no signal (as in -120 dBm). Some quick results:

    Old radio:
    Date*************|*Download*|*Upload*|*Latency
    12/20/2011-22:52*
    |*1285*****|*685****|*113
    12/20/2011-22:51*|*1215*****|*760****|*266
    12/20/2011-22:50*|*1332*****|*316****|*236

    New radio:
    Date*************|*Download*|*Upload*|*Latency
    12/20/2011-23:09
    *|*1564*****|*225****|*207
    12/20/2011-23:06
    *|*1020*****|*527****|*114
    12/20/2011-23:05
    *|**771*****|*369****|*190

    (apologies for the formatting)
    Doesn't really answer questions definitively but figured I'd share in case people were wondering. The dBm stayed roughly the same, between -80 and -100.
     
  14. sneakking

    sneakking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    273
    solid info, good to have just in case
     
    Yeahha likes this.
  15. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    59
    is there a certain battery level i should be at before flashing? i'm at 32% right now, just installed my extended battery today and trying to let it run all the way out before re-charging...
     
  16. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,693
    I've always heard you should have a somewhat full charge when you flash thing. I don't know how true it is but I usually will wait until my phone is at least at 90% before I flash something just in case.
     
  17. jdowney88

    jdowney88 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    I will be needing to revert to the old radio. This new one was marginally better speed wise. Same signal strength. Im thinking this is just margin of error. However, a couple hours later and I have no network connection.
     
  18. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    VZW data is down nationwide
     
  19. jdowney88

    jdowney88 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Of course, right after I flash the old radios back :p
     
  20. load97

    load97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    12
    I came on here to see if VZW network was down. Looks like it is.
     
  21. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I have service here but my speeds are still extremely slow.

    Edit: I flashed back to the old radios and my speed is back to normal.
     
  22. esmith818

    esmith818 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    316
    MORNING HEADLINE: VZW data network crashes due to an unauthorized release of a test radio update on LTE devices. Story still developing.

    ;)
     
    Podivin likes this.
  23. VeryEvilAsh

    VeryEvilAsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    20
    Haha, oh no. Will this enable me to force LTE only on my radio?
     
  24. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I just wanted to post the test results that I was getting with the new and then old radios.

    Here are the tests I ran last night with the NEW radio:
    [​IMG]


    Here are the results after going back to the OLD radio this morning:
    [​IMG]
     
  25. trophynuts

    trophynuts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    I think i'm going to hold off on flashing this for a little bit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...