Verizon Replacement came with HBOOT 1.49General


Last Updated:

  1. Gnomesarealive

    Gnomesarealive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had a legitimate problem with my Eris that I sent it back for, but was still hoping to be able to root again when I got my replacement. Turns out it has HBOOT 1.49. Any one else encounter this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. xAusTiN

    xAusTiN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes there has been a thread on this before. Wonder how Verizon is supposed to do the next update with two different HBOOT numbers on phones.
     
  3. Gnomesarealive

    Gnomesarealive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I don't understand why. Seems to me like they installed the v3 leak onto the replacement phones. I'm not too happy.
     
  4. DroidJW

    DroidJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11
  5. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    you guys are gettin leakers phones that they sent back. thats my theory.
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Supplies!
     
  7. greyhndz

    greyhndz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    12
    Got my replacement today with 2.1 already installed. How can I check the HBOOT?
     
  8. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    First power down. Then hold VOLUME DOWN and Power and a screen with skateboarding droids should come up with text, it will be on that page. Then just battery pull and reboot.
     
  9. senfoo

    senfoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    ROFL. this is too funny.
     
  10. greyhndz

    greyhndz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks, surgeon. I've got 1.49. So this was a legitimate 2.1 update as opposed to a "leaky" 2.1?
     
  11. Gnomesarealive

    Gnomesarealive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    To me this seems like they flashed the v3 leak onto it. Users who manually updated to 2.1 still had their 1.47 hboot, allowing them to root. Hopefully a way will be found to root with the new hboot. My replacement doesn't have the problem I sent my first Eris back for though, so with that I can be happy at least.
     
  12. DroidJW

    DroidJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11
    It could be either a returned 2.1v3 leak OR it means Verizon is flashing replacements with the same ROM as the v3 leak (hence both having HBOOT 1.49)

    Either way you are fine its been shown here in other threads that the 2.1v3 leak and the OTA 2.1 update are the same (except for the HBOOT version, and thus the ability to root)
     
  13. DroidJW

    DroidJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11

    I believe this was because the manual update, like the OTA, did not wipe the phone, but rather updated the necessary files. The v3 leak was a full ROM image that resulted in a full wipe upon install.

    Note the 2.1v3 ROM was over 100MB vs 77.7MB for the update file (smaller as it only included files that required updating and no new HBOOT)
     
  14. gpa111

    gpa111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine just came with 1.47.
     
  15. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I'm legitimately concerned about this. Verizon is sending me a replacement because my current phone is nearly unusable due to the trackball scrolling left constantly. I really hope I get a phone with a 1.47 hboot. I really like having root.
     
  16. greyhndz

    greyhndz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    12
    This is an interesting topic. The phone I received has a date of 5/15 as the date of refurb (I assume). I also assume they would have done a factory reset prior to installing 2.1? If a phone has a leaked 2.1v3, would it be wiped by the factory reset? If so, wouldn't that make it more likely that phones coming out with after refurb would probably not have 2.1v3?

    I know they're one and the same -- just curious.
     
  17. Gnomesarealive

    Gnomesarealive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think it is due to what DroidJW said. They are flashing the phones with the new ROM, causing the new hboot. They come with 2.1 now, so that it my theory as well.
     
  18. dewalist

    dewalist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    21
    A friend of mine just got a brand-new Eris this week and was interested in rooting, only to find out that his hboot is indeed 1.49... :-( I really hope the devs can root that soon...
     
  19. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    First, they can remove any "checks" that looks at versions of s/w. Two, the current update-script used by OTA does not check 'hboot'.
     
  20. SirEagle

    SirEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Then why didn't anyone with a leak (1.49 HBoot) get the OTA?
     
  21. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Excellent point. You can't even say that the OTA and the leak were the same because V.1 and V.2 were not the same and no leakers with any version got the update.
     
  22. SirEagle

    SirEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    The only thing said was leak v3 was the same as the OTA, except for the HBoot.
     
  23. SirEagle

    SirEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    But all three leaks have HBoot 1.49.
     
  24. MrChips

    MrChips Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is probably because the OTA was for updating Android 1.5 to 2.1 not 2.1x to 2.1x. ...I mean, it makes complete sense right? I know the updates my company sends out are targeted to specific versions of our software and skipping of versions is not allowed.
     
  25. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    The update script checked the OS version, not 'hboot'. It was looking for "1.5" only. This is a fact, not speculation.

    Code (Text):
    1. assert compatible_with("0.2") == "true"
    2. assert file_contains("SYSTEM:build.prop",  "ro.build.fingerprint=verizon/htc_desirec/desirec/desirec:1.5/CUPCAKE/104882:user/release-keys")  == "true" || file_contains("SYSTEM:build.prop",  "ro.build.fingerprint=verizon/htc_desirec/desirec/desirec:2.1/ERD79/165907:user/release-keys")  == "true"
    3. assert getprop("ro.product.device") == "desirec" ||  getprop("ro.build.product") == "desirec"
     

Share This Page

Loading...