Verizon sent me Droid 2 as replacement...IT SUCKS


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. rag133

    rag133 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am NOT happy here at all. I was having problems with my Droid phone, touch screen was not working right, phone kept freezing, so I called and they were sending me a replacement. I got it today, and they sent a Droid 2. I was happy at first until I turned it on. Wow. So far this phone is GARBAGE and I am not happy. I first connected the USB cable to transfer my photos/videp/etc...that i transferred from the Droid 1 to the computer. BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH. Every time I connect the USB cable to the Droid 2 I get blue screen crash on the computer and it reboots. I called Verizon, talked to Motorola, they have no clue and are taking me in an endless loop of idiots with no answers.

    Other fun problems:

    - Facebook contacts ALWAYS sync to phone contacts list, so I have 100's of unwanted contacts to scroll through when trying to make a call. There is no way to unsync this so facebook has to be removed.

    - Battery has drained in ONE HOUR.

    - They pack so much garbage on there that you cannot remove without rooting the phone. News apps, blockbuster, weather, etc....all run when the phone is turned on and cannot be removed.

    This is BS, I do not want a Droid 2, I want a Droid 1 that WORKS, this one is full of unwanted garbage and keeps crashing my computer!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. gallandof

    gallandof Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,927
    Likes Received:
    296
    if your facebook contacts sync just choose to view only your phone contacts, all you need to do is press the menu key and select disply groups and choose phone only, it will default to this.

    battery will take a day or two to get set up, also they onyl give you a battery with about 1.4th of a charge on new and refurb phones.
     
    navin likes this.
  3. gnath9

    gnath9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    43
    I also think if you sign a 2yr agreement with any phone ... VZW should be held accountable to replacing it with the same Damn phone. After all you never agreed to a Droid2 when you signed up. sorry for the rant but, this crap pisses me off to no end and thankfully I have not had to deal with it yet.
     
  4. jmt9779

    jmt9779 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    56
    actually, those agreements state that if they can't give you the same exact phone, they'll send you one of equal value or something to that effect. basically, if your phone is no longer available, they can upgrade your phone (for free, of course) but they can't downgrade you.

    i don't think they droid 1 is even being produced anymore so there's a finite number of refurbs out there. to the OP, if you're that unhappy with the droid2, maybe try exchanging it for a refurbed droidx or incredible...? (other people have received those phones as replacements).

    My boss has a great rule when it comes to stuff like this: you're allowed to be mad for 10 minutes, then enough. move forward and start looking for solutions/options. god knows you have plenty of options here, starting with rooting to clean up the bloatware/software on the phone, look into using wifi instead of the built-in "mount" feature, etc. And Facebook?...Well, I don't even have facebook (and it's AWESOME) so you're on your own with that one :p
     
  5. corbinator

    corbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    13
    I don't have a droid 2 but you might want to try this.

    http://www.motorola.com/Support/US-...tware_and_Drivers/USB-and-PC-Charging-Drivers

    It might aleviate the BSOD, don't know if you have them already but it's worth a shot.

    As for the other problems, I don't use/have face book so I don't know what to do.

    I agree though, if they gave me that motoblah crap I'd go ahead and root. been debating it for a while to get rid of facebook and twitter. If you look around you might find a droid1 on craigs list or ebay, lot of people selling there for DX's and the like, though why I don't know. I would rather have my D1 than any of that other crap.
     
  6. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    I'm pretty sure you're doing something wrong. I have yet to hear of anyone complaining of the same problems as you. Either your computer is not running current drivers....or something.

    You should probably troubleshoot before making such bold statements.
     
  7. barry99705

    barry99705 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    20
    I've read one other post somewhere about the pc bsod-ing when the droid2 is plugged in. At the time there wasn't a fix, just a bunch of bitching. ;) I say upgrade Windows to Ubuntu. :D
     
  8. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    He hasn't called the PC manufacturer, he hasn't listed what OS he's running, and possibly the specs of his computer. What are we to do? Doesn't sound like he knows what he's doing.

    You've tried other computers? Other OSs?
     
  9. Optimus

    Optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    16
    Your blue screen is an OS or driver issue not your phone's fault. Bloatware on the phone does suck however. U need to only sync prexisting contacts with facebook(it's an option). Look under your google account and you MAY be able to get your original list back otherwise you'll have to clean it up, this happened to me when I first got the D1. Battery, your best bet is to turn off your wifi, gps, bluetooth, and even 3g if you don't need it (I use switchpro to manage them from one widget). Even if I leave gps on for my D1 it eats into my battery. Your battery will have to get conditioned a bit, or u can always get an extended battery.
     
  10. rag133

    rag133 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried it on 2 computers. First is a 1 year old desktop running Win 7, quad core, yadda yadda, it is pretty powerful. This one gave me blue screen of death when I plugged the USB in, even just to charge it. Happened several times. I finally plugged it in without the crash and was able to do the files.

    Other one is a laptop with Vista. It didn't blue screen, but the phone kept saying "preparing SD card" over and over and never was able to connect properly.
     
  11. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Back up your SD on your computer and then reformat the SD card.

    I'm on OS X, but I run Win7 on Boot Camp but I don't know if it has the compatibility mode thing. Try switching to XP's compatibility mode and run it that way.
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Since you now have a DROID 2 I would head over to their forums to get answers - you're not the only D2 owner, and (hopefully) by now someone has figured out some of the answers to the issues you're experiencing....

    Have you considered purchasing a DROID online and selling your D2? (of course, asking VZW if you can first do that)....
     
  13. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    This. I had the exact same problems after gupgrading to 2.2, FCs, freezing, unresponsive screens and buttons/soft keys. Reformatting the SD card solved everything on my Droid 1. I came very close to asking for a replacement as well but decided to try putting a spare SD card I had into the Droid to see if my problems were SD card related. They were.
     
  14. ihaveadroid

    ihaveadroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    So basically mount your SD card to your comp, copy and paste all files and folders on SD onto a folder on your computer, reformat the SD card and then paste all the files back onto the SD card?
     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    That is what was meant, yes.

    if you have a card reader that can accommodate micro SDCards, or else have a micro-to-SD adapter, and a car reader on your computer, you could do it that way too, assuming the SDCard is removal.
     
    ihaveadroid likes this.
  16. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Was it a new D2, or refurb?
     
  17. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    73
    I played with the DROID2 and it's not that bad, but it ain't the OG DROID. I love having vanilla Android. No whack skins to deal with. My next Android will be vanilla or else I'm going iPhone. I hate all this skinning.
     
  18. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    I would even be willing to deal with Motoblur over the crap that is iOS, but if there's no vanilla Android devices on my upgrade date, I'll just continue holding onto my Droid.

    It doesn't look like we can count on Motorola for anything anymore though. The high-end phones after the Droid (Droid 2 and X) had a locked down bootloader and Motorola meddled with the OS instead of leaving it the way it was supposed to be distributed. There's a reason the Droid was so immensely popular. But hey, you have to remember that letter they sent out right around the time we first got root on the Droid basically saying "if you want to hack, go get a Nexus One". That's kind of like Steve Jobs' whole "if you want porn, go get an Android" thing. Needless to say, I will never buy another Motorola device again unless they get their act together.
     
  19. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    +1000
    Yeah, I can't imagine owning another Android phone and not being able to root it. The hack job they're doing on the X and D2 is pretty half assed. I wish Google would make a CDMA (or in the future an LTE) developer phone for Verizon around when I need to upgrade. The N2 looks pretty sweet and I'm all for bailing on Moto if they keep up locking their phones down.
     
  20. navin

    navin Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the tip on viewing only the phone contacts. I didn't know about that little feature.
     
  21. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    I just got a Droid2 as a replacement yesterday.

    Yeah, how motorola changed the contacts syncing with their blur crap is annoying. I logged on to my twitter, facebook and myspace and it auto added all my friends so I had like 500 friends in my contacts. 200 of them bands from myspace and like 50 follows on twitter which none of are my friends. I use twitter to follow news and politicians and some celebrities. You can't do sync only phone contacts like the normal apps can.

    I removed accounts. Installed the twitter and myspace app and used those b/c i dont want them syncd. Twitter will ask you what you want sync'd like normal. Facebook app however won't sync which is dumb. So to sync that you still need to use the my accounts thing that motorola setup. I don't mind so much b/c all my FB friends are actual friends and it didn't add too many that were already there.

    My battery seems to be normal. maybe better. We'll see I haven't had it that long.

    Yes all the garbage is horrible. It's like I just bought an HP computer or something. And I bet when Blockbuster no longer exists their stupid app will still be on my phone, stuck there.

    All the Motoblur stuff is trash. You can find much better of everything on the Android Market.

    BSOD has to be you computer driver issues. Mine connected no problem.

    Yes, you sign a 2 yr agreement for a Droid and getting a Droid2 is not the phone you signed for. But its an upgrade, VZW didn't do the shit Asurion pulled and give people a Droid Eris instead. Even if personally you'd rather have a Droid, VZW is being the good corp. and giving you something better instead of making you wait or giving you something worse. I was kinda bummed because I lost my root and bugless beast and stuff but 95% of the people that have a Droid don't do that, so they would be excited.

    I LOVE the Droid2. It has 6.7GB usuable memory onboard for apps so I dont have to worry about space and uninstalling apps to make room like I did for the Droid, and I really didn't have that many apps on it.

    There is double the RAM which makes a huge difference. I have never had my homescreen redraw, not a single time. Nada. and it would happen all the time on the Droid because even with persistent settings, and modifying the system's memory management it was constantly getting kicked out of memory. Even running my Droid at 1.2gHz it was still not as snappy and quick as the Droid2.

    I had a good Droid w/ raised keys similar to the Droid2. Mine weren't flat like mosts peoples. I think the Droid2 keyboard is way, way better. The chin is much less awkward feeling, the volume/camera buttons are one million times better.

    The headphone jack isn't all wonky like the Droid. My home softkey isn't purple tinted and the brightness and color is uniform between all the softkeys.

    There's a built in audio equalizer with presets. Sadly you can't change the bands manually. But it's more than the Droid has.

    The battery door doesn't fall off when you look at it.

    The Droid2 is a great phone. I almost don't miss root. ...yeah right! I'll root it eventually.
     
    Thornfullessrose and nader2013 like this.
  22. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah, but will it connect to your wifi? My D1 just won't... wanna trade?
     
  23. dja1980

    dja1980 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    My step-dad just had a D1 replacement ordered last week. Guess what came... a D2 with a letter stating...

    "Due to a shortage in supply of the Droid 1 replacement devices, we have upgraded you to a brand new Droid 2 A955 device. Please accept our apologies..."

    I was extremely disappointed to see this... thinking he would be completely locked out from rooting (I had his D1 rooted with a custom ROM). I was under the impression that all of the fun stuff we are able to do with the D1 is completely locked out on the D2... sounds like this might be slowly changing though... good news!

    I was able to root his D2 this afternoon... all seems good now!

    DROID 2 Has Been Rooted. | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog
     
  24. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    Wow never thought my droid would have problems. Just called in for a replacement this morning. My power/lock button is like sinking in... or sunk in anyway. Just stopped working before i went to bed. Well called them this morning, they are sending out a replacement. Never said what it'll be, she just said replacement. It seems they didnt tell you guys either and you got d2's. Maybe ill get one, or maybe they just happened to have a d1 in stock. who knows. hopefully ill get a d2 and will be able to test drive it. if i dont like it ill send it back and demand a d1 or give me an X.
     
  25. rb240z

    rb240z Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine started saturday with the same problem. Mines a launch day device so its been good to me. It is still usable just difficult to press. I would take and X over the D2 because i rarely use the hardware keyboard.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...