Verizon Upgrade Question


Last Updated:

  1. ndsustudent

    ndsustudent Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    6
    So I got a 2 year plan back on March of this year. I currently have an Eris and have been wanting to upgrade for a while since the phone is a pos. So I am wondering how long you need to wait to upgrade early.

    As I understand it, at 1 year they will let you do an early upgrade if you sign on for another 2 years. Is that true or is there any way that I can upgrade now (for the upgrade price of course) :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    you could always add a line, get you a new phone, then drop a "dumb" phone on the new line. IIRC it would add $10/month to your bill.
     
  3. Knewz

    Knewz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    72
    what trav said would work and...im not sure if this promotion is still going on but you can add a line for free if you activate a smart phone...meaning the usually $10 extra a month would be waived. of course there still would be the data package but u can drop that later.

    Early upgrades are given 20-22 months into the contract. If you are the primary on the account you can upgrade every 12 months.
     
  4. AFAngryWarrior

    AFAngryWarrior Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    40
    I get new phones all the time out of contract. All you have to do is sell your Eris on Craigslist and then buy someone elses Droid on Craigslist. I usually either break even or end up paying less than I would have to upgrade anyway. The only downside is that you have an Eris and you're right it is a POS. I had one and got rid of it within my 30 day WFG. So you may have to pay a little more $$.
     
  5. ndsustudent

    ndsustudent Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    6
    So in March I could upgrade again for the upgrade cost? I am the only one on my line.

    Otherwise the adding a line and dropping thing seems complicated, I'm not really sure how that works.
     
  6. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    when you add a line, you sign another 2 year contract on that new line. so,.... to avoid the early termination fee,you have to keep the line active for 2 years. save the bucks on the data package, activate a non-data phone on that new line, and drop the data package. the contract is on the line, ($10/month additional) not on the data package.
     
  7. misterfish

    misterfish Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The best (and least expensive) option for you would be to buy your phone online, then swap it out with your Eris. If you are the only line on your account, you would have to upgrade to a family share plan to add a line. If you have the lowest single line plan (450 minutes) and you're paying $40 per month, you're looking at adding another $30 to your bill to go to the lowest two-line family share plan of 700 minutes.

    The adding a line thing works like this: Say you want a Fascinate. By adding a new line to your account with a two-year agreement, you can get the Fascinate for $200 after rebate instead of the full retail price of $700. You add the Fascinate to the new line, but before activating it, you swap it out for some cheapy non-data plan phone like Trav said. You could use some old phone you've got lying around the house somewhere, or you could buy one on Craigslist for $5. That would free up the Fascinate, which you could then swap your Eris for on your line.

    Again, though, by doing that, you're obligating yourself to two years on a line you won't be using. If you did that with the family share scenario, you're actually paying more than full retail for the Fascinate ($30 second line x 24 months = $720 plus taxes and fees on the line).
     
  8. TimDaMan

    TimDaMan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I plan on adding a extra line to, in affect, get an ealry upgrade on my 2nd line. I will change my second line to a dumb phone so I will eliminate the $30 on that line, and add a 3rd line for free after the $10 credit. However, the fine print says you may not change plans, and you must keep the data plan in order to receive the $10 credit.
     
  9. octoberdana

    octoberdana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    13
    We were going to do this for my daughter for her birthday, but I can't move the smartphone to her line and get the $10 credit she would have to change her cell phone number. Which I think is ridiculous. If you add a secondary line you should be able to put the credit on any other secondary line.
     
  10. Sailingmaster

    Sailingmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    The "Smartphones talk free" promotional plan has a couple of other faults. You can't add global data packages without changing the plan, nor can you use the Block Select Secondary feature to stop text messaging. (Yes, there are situations where you want to block text messaging on a secondary line of a talk & text plan.)
     
  11. butthead007

    butthead007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    28
    Annual upgrades are only available if your monthly access charge is $44.99 or higher. If you're on the 450 $39.99 plan, then you would not be eligible for an annual upgrade.
     
  12. Bob-o

    Bob-o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    12

    So I have the family share plan at 139.99. Does that qualify for annual upgrade? I have 2 other lines on my plan as well. They have never told me I can get an annual upgrade? I have read about this annual stuff and its got me wondering? Thanks

    Bob
     

Share This Page

Loading...