• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Very new to this thing and need some info to understand

Screener

Lurker
Aug 5, 2010
Hello everyone

I got myself an android phone two weeks ago
And as I was saying I'm very new at this . . . I have been reading for some time and I need some pro help

I got the motorola milestone with the 2.1 update and arabic keys

So I just wanted to know some things:

1- is an update of 2.2 coming to this phone?

2- what do I get when I root my phone? (after all the reading I did I did not get it)

3- what is the best way to root it? (without loosing Arabic)

4- if I flash a rom on my phone do I lose the original rom that comes with it ? (don't want to lose the Arabic support)

5- can I make a copy of my phone os so I can come back to it when I need to ?

6- if the update is not coming . . . What is the best 2.2 rom that I can use ?

7- should I make my CPU run faster ?? If yes what is the best speed I should go for?

I know it's a lot to ask but I really don't know how every thing works in android

Thanks for the help

1- is an update of 2.2 coming to this phone?

Soon hopefully.

2- what do I get when I root my phone? (after all the reading I did I did not get it)

You gain "administrator" access, allowing you to run programs you cant run without rooting, and allowing you to flash custom roms to change the look and feel of the device.

3- what is the best way to root it? (without loosing Arabic)

There isnt a "best" way. You need to read all about the different methods, and decide which one you want, and are able to, do.

4- if I flash a rom on my phone do I lose the original rom that comes with it ? (don't want to lose the Arabic support)

yes, but you can use a rom manager to switch between roms.

5- can I make a copy of my phone os so I can come back to it when I need to ?

When you first root you can make a backup, or download a backup app.