Vibrate Problem


Last Updated:

  1. mrdeadhead

    mrdeadhead Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, when i put my phone on a Vibrate (using the volume buttons on the side) it just puts it in Silent Mode, but with a vibration icon.
    it doesn't vibrate for anything.
    granted it doesn't make a noise so that's not all bad, but it just sits there and flashes its little light...

    anyone know if there's a way to fix this?
    cause i mean it is the easiest way for me to just pop it into vibrate mode, but the vibrate doesn't work, and i don't want it completely silent, as i do still want to know when i get something.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Just out of curiosity...

    Settings, Sound & display settings, Phone Vibrate.

    Is that checked?
     
  3. mrdeadhead

    mrdeadhead Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    yup
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Mysterious indeed.

    Did you recently install any new apps that could have caused this? Does a reboot fix it?

    If the setting is enabled and it doesn't work, then there has to be something obstructing the setting from taking effect.

    Does the vibrate work for other things? Haptic feedback? Just making sure the motor isn't fried.
     
  5. ttaylor0024

    ttaylor0024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    188
    Vibrate must be enabled under the settings tabs of messaging and phone apps. Otherwise it wont vibrate. Are they enabled?
     
  6. mrdeadhead

    mrdeadhead Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope, it's been like this since the start.
    i there some where else i need to go and turn on vibrate?
    i just figured it would be set to vibrate every time i get any notification with that on.
     
  7. mrdeadhead

    mrdeadhead Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    wait, i just got it working, i had to set Messaging Settings and Email Settings to vibrate.
    well that's silly. hmmm.
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You're saying vibrate has never worked? Just for the phone or for anything?

    If it hasn't ever worked, there's a possibility of hardware malfunction.

    If it's just for the phone, then there's a software error somewhere.
     
  9. mrdeadhead

    mrdeadhead Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    ah yea i tried that right before i saw your post, it's working fine now, thanks though.

    i still find that weird.
    i feel like vibrate mode should just... y'know... vibrate
     
  10. mrdeadhead

    mrdeadhead Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    no it worked, but only when i had the volume up. in fact it usually starts shaking before the ringer even goes off, which has terrified me every now and then when i'm not paying attention.
    either way it's going now so all's well, thanks a lot guys.
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    LMAO. Glad you got it figured out. You do realize that the setting you enabled was the exact one I posted in the first reply to this thread, right?

    It also puzzles me why it is not enabled by default for either the phone or email. At least it is for messaging.
     
  12. mrdeadhead

    mrdeadhead Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    haha i think yours is the general phone settings, you actually have to go into the messaging and email apps to change their settings to enable vibrate. which until now i never realized they even had settings menus inside, i just figured they'd be under the main phone settings.
     
  13. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Yeah, I skimmed - oof.

    But it's weird...the messaging and email apps should have nothing to do with the phone app.

    Either way, glad it's worked out!
     
  14. CegAbq

    CegAbq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Don't have a droid yet (hopefully soon) - but does this mean that if you set messages & email to separate ring tones, you cannot then get the phone to vibrate?
     
  15. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    No, the OP's issue was that in 'vibrate' mode, his phone calls did not vibrate until he enabled vibrate for his messaging and email apps as well.

    I don't think the notification sound had anything to do with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...