Video Demo: HTC Evo playback of HD/720p movies over HDMI out


Last Updated:

  1. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    Since there has been a bunch of conflicting and negative reports on the HTC Evo's HDMI output, I figured I'd shoot a video so you all can see my pretty favorable experiences with the Evo's HDMI out. The YouTube video here is itself shot at 720p so make sure you enable that when viewing, so you can see more of the detail.

    In the video I show playback of animated short, Big Buck Bunny and the trailers for Avatar, Gran Turismo 5 for the PS3, and Toy Story 3--all are HD videos encoded to 720p resolution (and roughly 5.5 Mbps bitrate) using Handbrake. I also show a quick demo of the "HQ" Youtube playback over HDMI. In sum, the HD video playback is solid and performs quite well with no noticeable glitches or framedrops. But I'll let you guys see that for yourself:



    Observations
    It works, and it works well. I know there's been some skepticism about the HD out (e.g., http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/84380-poor-hdmi-review-evo.html ) and people on this forum appear to have varying levels of success with the HD out. All I can say is that when it works (as it does for me) it works well. One could easily throw some movies onto the Evo and take it to a friend's house for some HD movie watching.

    There appear to be three potential variables for why HDMI output over the Evo isn't working well: the TV, the cable, and the media used. As far as the TV goes, it seems like it needs to be able to accept a 480p signal over HDMI for Youtube to work. I've also read some threads of users complaining that the cable they have doesn't work -- mine seems to be ok, it may be a cable problem, or it may be a TV problem in disguise. Lastly, the media needs to be encoded at the proper resolution, using the right container, the right h.264 profile (baseline), and a suitable bitrate (Evo manual specifies 6 Mbps or lower). I'm still experimenting with what Handbrake settings and bitrate works the best, but so far things look pretty good.

    I've got an HTPC hooked up to the TV as well, so I might do some comparison videos between Evo output and output from an HTPC. Also I can demo video shot with the Evo over the TV if that's something people are looking for.

    Feel free to ask questions here, and I'll do my best to answer them. If you found this overview and video helpful, feel free to throw a "Thanks" my way ;)


    Prior reviews/demos of the Evo HDMI out:


    Hardware:
    I'm using an Amzer Micro HDMI cable (cable says v.1.3) purchased on eBay from "wireless4cheap." The seller took a significantly long time to ship (two weeks), but he at least included a free screen protector. There have been reports of people with cables purchased from this seller that haven't worked, so take that into consideration as well.

    Shot with a Panasonic Lumix LX3 @ 720p.

    Television used is a 55" Vizio VF551XVT that was purchased late November 2009.
     

    Advertisement
  2. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    114
    Stupid question, but where is the link to your vid?
     
  3. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    It's coming -- youtube is processing :)
     
  4. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    I figured this would have received more interest. Bump?
     
  5. 305Cane

    305Cane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    27
    Its good to know a feature that was poo-poo'd on so much actually works well from what it seems. ty for all the work you did.
     
  6. scott99

    scott99 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    It looks great !, Nice TV as well, it's a beauty. I'm going to try it when I get my EVO in a couple of months. It's another cool feature that sets this phone apart.
     
  7. Jonhern

    Jonhern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    22
    can u post the setting you are using in handbrake?
     
  8. Jordus

    Jordus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    70
    thats the smallest 55" TV ive ever seen.
     
  9. HarryKeogh

    HarryKeogh Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yeah, I'm on my computer it only looks like a 2.25" TV. What gives?!
     
  10. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    It actually seems to be an issue with HDCP, not bad cables or 480P over HDMI.
     
  11. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    I am using a Samsung HL-S6187w 61" 1080p DLP and I get the message Output not Supported when I try to play videos I did in Handbrake. What settings are you using Op?
     
  12. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    I'm transcoding movies that are already in 720p, just in a different container or using a different codec, so the settings for resolution might be a little different.

    When you load up Handbrake, I first click on the iPhone preset -- this should load the settings for H.264 baseline profile.

    For the Picture tab, I set the "Width" size to 1280 and the "Anamorphic" setting to "Loose." This should grey out everything else, and I leave the "Cropping" to Automatic.

    I leave the Video Filters tab alone (for now, still experimenting).

    For the Video tab, I set the "Video Codec" to H.264 and the "Framerate" to the same as source. I'm still playing "Quality" setting. So far I'm using an Avg Bitrate of 5250 kbps, with 2-pass encoding.

    People say that the constant quality setting produces the best results, but I'm worried that there's not as much control over the bit rate, and I want to be mindful of the 6000 kbps limit of the Evo (if that limit even exists, I haven't experimented with exceeding this threshold yet).

    For the Audio tab, I leave the source to Automatic; the Audio Codec to AAC; Mixdown to Stereo; Sample rate to 44.1 Khz; Bitrate at 160. I believe the sample rate and bitrates are flexible though, so you can try other things.

    Ignore the Subtitles and Chapters tabs.

    I'm still playing with the Advanced tab, seeing whether increasing the reference frames will help or not. But even without that, these settings should produce a decent 720p clip to play on your Evo.

    Do be warned though that your movies should not exceed 2 GB, as a FAT limitation on your microSD card.


    Hmm.. this is interesting. What leads you to believe this? How can we test for this? Why would HDCP be implicated on 480p but not 720p input over HDMI?
     
  13. facekl

    facekl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    29
    does this work for games?
     
  14. PaulMcCartney

    PaulMcCartney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    61
    Nice. You have the GT5 E3 2010 trailer on your phone. Awesome.
     
  15. legacy

    legacy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    99
    I think it only works for games after Froyo, and only if the game developer codes it to work.
     
  16. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    Yeah one would have to specifically code for it -- for the moment, Android doesn't have native HDMI out support so it has to be sorta hacked on by Sprint. Instructions to code for HDMI output can be found in the Sprint Developer doc here:

    http://docs.google.com/View?id=dhtsnvs6_57d2hpqtgr

    There is also some interesting information on output resolutions in there...
     
  17. VGPOP

    VGPOP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    64
    I have a Samsung LN46A630 and I purchased a 6.5 feet micro HDMI cable on Ebay ($18.99). I just received it. Hooked it up to my TV and it won't play Youtbube/pictures, etc?

    It says in my TV "Mode not supported"

    You're to tell me I won't be able to use this at all?
     
  18. indyj1902

    indyj1902 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for your hard work..
    Doing some testing myself
    I believe i purchased the same cable as the guy above me.
    I am having a hard time when encoding it with H.264....cant seem to play the video
    but when i uncheck H.264.. (encoding without H.264) it doesnt have a problem playing the video file.
    Understand that i am very new at this so i'm trying out anything and everything that works.
     
  19. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    I've uploaded some test videos if you all needed help in isolating if it's the video file, cable, or TV that's the problem:

    The Gran Turismo Trailer at 720p (plays at 1280x720): GT5rpHISTORICALv12_720-1.m4v

    The Avatar Trailer at 480p (800x400 resolution, but plays at 800x600 resolution on my Vizio): Avatar_trailer2_480p-1.m4v

    I've confirmed that these files playback in the Gallery player on my Vizio TV (they will work on your Evo) so if these don't work, you can at least determine that it may be a TV or cable issue.

    Try following the Handbrake steps I outlined above. Your problem may be that you're not encoding with the correct H.264 profile. The Evo will only play back Baseline profile, so it might be that you have the settings set to High or Normal. Also try playing back the files I've linked to. If they playback, then it's probably the baseline issue I mentioned.

    Try the files I've linked to and see if they work. It sounds like an HDMI sync/handshake issue. Given my limited experience with the Samsungs, my guess is that the 720p video will hopefully work, but the 480p one won't. Let us know what happens.
     
    JeffinCA, indyj1902 and EarlyMon like this.
  20. indyj1902

    indyj1902 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help Neoterix
    I did download your avatar tralier.m4v file but the evo could not play that at all...saying "file type m4v not found"
    But I think you are right about me not encoding with the correct H.264 profile, thanks for the tip... .testing it now.
    I didnt realize that there are more then one H.264 baseline profile. Thanks again for your help, i'll get back to you on the results. and also my testings
     
  21. jcj487

    jcj487 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    any1 try fiddling with the subtitles tab in handbrake? i want to try and put some english captions/subtitles on "Alice in Wonderland", not sure where to start from, any1 got any suggestions? also, any1 know how to get rid of the black bars in the movies we encode?
     
  22. kamikazekyle

    kamikazekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    16
    Try renaming the files to .mp4. M4V should still be the same container type, just a different extension. There's only one Baseline profile, though different devices/applications are more sensitive to changes in the baseline. Sometimes, if you change a single option, it can wind up changing the profile enough so a device won't play it, even if it technically could. I can't say for sure on Android or its various players since I usually stick pretty rigidly to the Baseline.

    Are you working with a DVD ISO file or file structure? Are you trying to hard-encode the subtitles into the end result or softsub? Handbrake can only hardsub bitmapped subtitles like those on DVDs, so you'll need something akin to a full-on ripped DVD with subtitles intact. Handbrake can softsub (ie. Mux) SRT subtitles into an MP4 container, though it can't hardsub. That means you'll have to use a third party player for Android that supports softsubs, or use a different encoder that has hardsubbing for ASS/SRT subtitles like Format Factory (beware, I think this installs browser toolbars).

    As for the black bars, you'll need to crop the picture using the cropping section in Handbrake, and then use either the video size to manually adjust to fit your device (and stretch/distort the image) or use the zooming/cropping feature in whatever media player you're using to automatically zoom/crop out the black bars. Black bars are the result of a video not identically matching the aspect ratio of your device, so the only way to get rid of them is to change the aspect ratio of the movie by distortion/cropping.
     
    indyj1902 likes this.
  23. indyj1902

    indyj1902 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks kamikazekyle, that did the trick
    And thanks again to Neoterix, you were right.
    Everything is working as they should.
    The quality is so much better then before when my settings were all screwed up.
     
  24. indyj1902

    indyj1902 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanna let you guys know that i did transfer over a 2.1 gig .mp4 file over.
    So i'm not sure what the max size is exactly
    Keep you guys posted
     
  25. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    On the SD card? 4 gigs is the file size limit for Fat32 systems which or sd card is
     

Share This Page

Loading...