Villain 11.9.1


Last Updated:

  1. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Anyone tried it yet, any improvement in battery life?
     

    Advertisement
  2. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    I want to, but won't get the opportunity this week. Over on XDA there are positive reports. With a bit of luck, by the time I have time to play around with a new ROM, 12 will be out :cool:
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I flashed it earlier in the day, but I've only just charged it fully. I'll keep you posted :)
     
  4. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Facebook sync is still an issue..BUM
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    When I first flashed the ROM before FB sync wasn't working, but it is working now :)

    I don't know what could've fixed it other than the few times I've rebooted.
     
  6. 1ceb0x

    1ceb0x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'll be watching the Bugs thread from villain forum to see what bugs (major) are in this piece of rom. So far, i've seen some ugly ones like: [MAJOR] Protected Apps not showing up in Market
    [AVERAGE] News App crashing / No News widget
    Connected USB, selected Disk Drive, not appearing in My Computer... and a few others.

    I'm guessing that the last is user error, the 2nd one could be a rom's bug and the first one is maybe google's fault here due to the fact that they've released 2.2 froyo or they will release it in the near future.

    The battery isn't going to be greater from now on (from 10.3 and up). I've reached 2 days and 5 hours of unplugged and still had 5% on my battery with 44% calls on these 2 days, 15% wifi and 20% display (and others).
    So far i love my hero (on 10.3) but i think i will give 11 a go nevertheless. Thanks for the thread Jaffa. I'll keep you guys posted
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Dont use Auto detect on SetCPU, it locked my phone, my CPU wont run past 700Mhz

    Im using my nand of 10.3.3 untill 12 comes out
     
  8. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    Its been seeveral weeks since I last flashed, and I thought I'd check the version I have been running ... its 6.0.1 :eek:

    Come on Villain12, I'm here for you!
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    6? Eww, that's not even a real 2.1 GSM ROM. You should see a nice improvement with 12 :)

    As for battery life, since my first post in this thread I'd used 1%..... Admittedly I hardly used the phone save for a few texts. It should get put to more realistic use today :)
     
  10. stoney73

    stoney73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    9
    they must be getting close to releasing VR12, they've just made a sub-forum for it.
     
  11. islandmixed

    islandmixed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant take all this flashing BS!! why cant their be a rom that just works & does everything...damn this is the 3rd time ive tried a rom now...so iam trying villain 10 but now iam being told to try 12...lol 2 time comsuming. where is this damn update yoooooo
     
  12. stoney73

    stoney73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    9

    you don't have to flash the new rom.......afterall, the current new one is purely for testing...................

    ..........but so far........so good, apart from friendstream being missing.

    so why not wait for VR12?
     
  13. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    Well ... I have been on holiday for a few weeks ;):rolleyes:

    Sounds like 12 is close ... and if its any good, I'll stick with it :cool:
     
  14. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    To be honest, 10/11 seem to be pretty much the same to me. Especially since I haven't met any bugs yet.

    I don't think there will be much change in roms now we have the proper releases.
     
  15. islandmixed

    islandmixed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0

    i flashed 10 last night & it seems alright i guess..but iam getting a error saying villainrom updater will not respond on every load up ..it then says to wait or close. wonders what this error could be? i liked sence 2.2 so i might try the build 5 & be done with it until the real update. never had much luck with any villain roms, this is my third one now. grrrr
     
  16. 1ceb0x

    1ceb0x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    6
    Islandmixed, that's an easy issue. Go into the menu (where you have all your apps) and at the bottom should be VillainRom Updater. Click on it. Then click on menu (on your button) and click the android with the 2 hammers or something like that, it should be in the middle. Here go to notifications, set update checking freq. to what ever you want (i have manual, because really, i don't update from this.), go to rom update settings, and unthick the 2 options.

    Then go to themes update settings, here, click display all themes update (not necessary really) and at manage theme servers click on menu on your phone and click the option that is shown to you. It should be like this: check for server, or something related to this.


    This should make the updater to not Fc all the time.



    Cheers.
     
  17. will65mcmanus

    will65mcmanus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ive had this on since yesterday seems fine to me, think the battery is not that good, my maingripe i have is the notification but has just vanished from the menu button
    When i installed i had 154meg free internal better than last villain which i only had 90
     
  18. stoney73

    stoney73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    9


    yeah, I think the new villain has app2sd automatically installed, so long as the sd is partitioned and changed to ext3
     
  19. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    If I try to O/C to 748mhz, it freezes my phone and I have to pull the battery.
    Anyone else get that?
     
  20. stoney73

    stoney73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    9
    have you tried 729mhz?

    edit: have you installed the new version of setcpu?SetCPC v2.0.0c is the build number
     
  21. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Anything above 691000 freezes the phone up :-(
    I've always used the Overclock app and always found it to work.
     
  22. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    My handset wont clock past 690ish either, however, im going to calibrate the battery and re try it.
     
  23. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ooh, get you !!!! :D
    And how does one do that ?:confused:
     
  24. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Run the battery completly flat so that it will not turn on, do that with GPS and WiFi enabled, then charge it to 100% with the phone off.... LED goes green, boot into recovery and reset battery stats..

    Thats what the man at Villain says ;-p
     
  25. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well you can let me know how you get on with that:D:D:D:D:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...