virgin mobile cancellation questions.


Last Updated:

  1. dukenukems

    dukenukems Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    My tmobile phone is on it's wayand iamgonna be cancelling my virgin mobile $35 plan.Can it be done online with the phone or do i have to call them to be able to cancelit?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    958
    If the carriers are anything like they are in the UK, it might be worth calling to cancel. In the UK you will almost invariably be forwarded to retentions who can sometimes offer you pretty decent deals in order to keep you.
     
  3. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Lol I just stopped paying :)
     
  4. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    211
    I called and told them i wanted my account closed. They went through the usual nonsense of trying to keep my account open with them. I stood my ground, and they closed my account. I didn't want to just stop paying. I wanted to formally end things with Virgin.
     
  5. SuperAfnan

    SuperAfnan Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    197
    Me too. Ported to T-mobile and they got ditched. :cool:
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    7,916
    Likes Received:
    5,482
    That's pretty much how I did it. When porting the number it closes out the account since your VM account is your phone number. And since it is prepaid you don't have to call and cancel, you can just stop paying and be done.

    I do believe that the account needs to be active if you want to port the number though.
     
  7. Spicy1994

    Spicy1994 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    I checked to see if my phone number was able to be ported and it said I couldn't. do i need to deactivate my virgin mobile account first or something?
     
  8. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    211
    That's strange. Because i know two people who ported their numbers from Virgin Mobile without formally canceling their accounts. Did you call Virgin or did you look on their website? If i were you I'd call Virgin on the matter. Or just tell the phone company you want to do business with that you want to port your number and they will do the work for you.
     
  9. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    26
    Lol I just took the new number I don't want anything interfering with me getting that plan. And I heard if you try and port a number it may not be considered new activation. I'm not sure you should probably call tmobile. I didn't want to call because I was activating a note 2 on the plan and that's against their rules lol
     
  10. SuperAfnan

    SuperAfnan Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    197
    Porting to tmobile from another carrier with a new activation is a new activation.
     
  11. bob60626

    bob60626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    41
    How's that (regarding the Note)?

    I activated a Galaxy Exhibit on the thirty dollar plan, carried it and my OV around for a while, then had my number ported. No problems other than I did it in the middle of my month. VM doesn't give you a new number for the rest of your time, you just lose it.

    Then when I got a new S2 I just swapped the Exhibit's sim into that.
     
  12. timelord65

    timelord65 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    41
    Just port out or don't pay for any more min. No need to officially cancel anything with prepaid.
     
  13. MacFett

    MacFett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    740
    This is no longer the case. They have account numbers that are not the same as your mobile number.
     
  14. shadowspawn

    shadowspawn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    11
    What service are you porting to? If it's Sprint, Assurance, or Boost, that can be an issue. Because they are all basically owned by the same company, your number can't just be ported over like normal. The whole account needs to be migrated and AFAIK, only the migration department through the respective carrier's customer care can do that for you.
     
  15. timelord65

    timelord65 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    41
    You can port your number regardless. Just be sure to supply all the correct info.
     
  16. timelord65

    timelord65 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yep, your virgin mobile tel # number is NOT your account number. You have to call Virgin and ask them for your account # if your planning on porting out of Virgin mobile.
     

Share This Page

Loading...