Virtuous 3.1 Released


Last Updated:

  1. ju1c3

    ju1c3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    18
    Virtuous ROM: Virtuous 3.1.0 Released

    • Re-base Virtuous on latest 10/13 Sense.
    • New stock HTC kernel: 2.6.32.17-g9a2fc16.
    • Integrated audio fix (functional stagefright http streaming and Flash).
    • Integrated DSP Manager.
    • Updated all Google Apps to the latest versions.
    • Updated ROM Manager to latest version.
    • Updated Facebook to the latest version.
    • Updated Android Wifi Tether to the latest version.
    • Disabled Mobile Hotspot app by default.
    • Replaced HTC Car Dock with Google Car Home.
     

    Advertisement
    Mahalo, jprow507 and jbdan like this.
  2. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks for the information. I am new to ROM flashing and have so far only used Uncommon Sense. For this ROM it mentions that you must be running a 2.x radio. Is the default radio in the Incredible a 2.x radio or do I need to go through the process of upgrading the radio to install this ROM?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  3. bimmer14pa

    bimmer14pa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated my Inc from RomManager. Seems to be working out alright so far. Using the Custom Kernal in the Manager as well.
     
  4. ac2basis

    ac2basis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    So far I can't connect to bluetooth after updating to the new version with the custom power optimization kernal. Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  5. bimmer14pa

    bimmer14pa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    Does your phone recognize the bluetooth in question?

    I had my jawbone ear peice connected orignally, rooted and it wouldnt' work.

    I went into setting-->wireless & networks-->bluetooth settings. I dont' have my earpiece w/ me right now, but once it finds the device, I clicked on it, and I believe there was a check box or something. I restarted the phone. and it all of a sudden seemed to work. I'll check later if it won't work for you. Sorry so vauge, just don't have the device w/ me right now.

    -C
     
  6. ac2basis

    ac2basis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    No it wasn't picking anything up. I tried to delete the pairing and do it again but when I scan for devices nothing comes up. I'm going back to 3.0.1 for now. Maybe I will try to upgrade again later
     
  7. bimmer14pa

    bimmer14pa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    Actualy, you know what.. I d/led and installed 3.1 in the car this morning. I used the phone before I went into work, but not with bluetooth. I haven't since tried to connect to BT now since I've installed 3.1. I may have the same issue in about an hour.

    Haha, sorry. Is the device (ie BT, or computer) discoverable? and the phone scanned properly? Interesting that it won't find your device at all.
     
  8. itisjustme

    itisjustme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Jawbone Icon BT working just fine with Virtuous 3.1.0 for me.
     
  9. boilator

    boilator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    6
    How easy or difficult will it be to enable mobile hotspot?

    Lator
     
  10. ac2basis

    ac2basis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Def. strange. I have had to re-pair after doing a full wipe but never had to do anything when just upgrading. I'm gonna try this again tomorrow cause the backup I restored is acting funny now too. Maybe this is just life telling me it's time to try out a new rom altogether :)
     
  11. jpallen77

    jpallen77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    Streamed Sirius and Pandora over BT for a few hours and made a few calls after updating to 3.1.0 w/ custom kernal, Did not wipe before installing.

    ROM seems to be working perfectly for me. Only been 16 hrs but batt seems slightly better and everything just feels a little snapier. I couldn't be happier. Thank you Virtious.
     
  12. ju1c3

    ju1c3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    18
    I didnt wipe my phone, and when i went to move a shortcut i found that I had like 4 icons and/or widgets stacked on top of each other. I had 4 weathers, 4 gmails, 4 messages, and 4 of the 30 or so shortcuts on my desktop. Might have been happening since i started flashing roms without doing a wipe, but just something for everyone to check.

    Makes the phone faster with all the extra being gone. Battery got better too.
     
  13. bimmer14pa

    bimmer14pa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now my Bluetooth won't work :(, just as the OP was having issues. Hrmmm

    EDIT: Acutally, just went into Titanium and restored bluetooth pairings and sharings, and it seems to see the Jawbone device now. I'll have to check if it works again when I get out of work.
     
  14. bimmer14pa

    bimmer14pa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blue tooth up and running.
     
  15. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    Speaking of Bluetooth problems, has anyone else gotten OBEX file transfer to work? Since flashing Virtuous 3.1 (stock kernel) yesterday, I seem to have lost the capability. I can connect, but my Windows XP laptop just says "phone monitor connected" and/or "connected to headset profile". Not sure whether OBEX file transfer is impossible with Virtuous or whether I just don't know how to configure it properly.
     
  16. Kennyc11

    Kennyc11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have been trying new roms for the past month now since I rooted my phone. Virtuous 3.0 was the first one I tried out, then skyraider, then new guy. I recently tried Virtuous 3.1 and I must say I love it. I used the revolution theme over it, and its great. The quadrant score is down from other roms, but that doesnt bother me. Its fast, very few bugs that I have found (if any), and the battery life is much better than the other roms I have tried.
     
  17. Dex

    Dex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    54
    Yep. It's a fast, bug-free (mostly) ROM that just kind of... works. No fiddling or tinkering or extra effort. RMK uses the ROM Manager app to put everything together and include bonuses and they all seem to work just fine, too. I've been with it since the first 2.2 release and I love it. Best ROM ever, IMO.
     
  18. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9
    I like this ROM a lot, being new to all this, it was a small step into custom ROMs

    I think once I add sexy rosie with the handscent icon and some transparent icons, I will be happy.......for now

    but I do have a question....what can I use DSP manager for?
     
  19. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
    Basically, I believe that it increases the quality (and volume) of your sound to either your phone speakers or your ear phones. I didn't know how to use it and asked Rushmore. He just answered that for me. This is what he has to say! (Thanks Rushmore!)

    "The DSP manager is actually making adjustments to the DSP hardware, so it affects all sound coming from which output you choose. I would suggest being careful with the speaker one, since could blow your speaker out.

    You will know if your headphone adjustment are too much, since the sound will start distorting.

    DSP manager remembers setting even after a restart of the device."
     
    rtm0004 likes this.
  20. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
    Wired tethering to Linux question:

    Wireless tether works great to any OS and wired works great to my Windows 7 workstation however I'm unable to figure out USB tether to either of my Linux laptops (Mint and Ubuntu). Could this be because I have EasyTether installed to work with my Windows workstation? I bought it pre-root... so if I need to take it off I can. This is not limited to Virtuous, I get the same result with Jager. As soon as I turn on Mobile Broadband Connect I lost all network connection.
     
  21. pdykstra

    pdykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    11
    any way to get a semi-transparent status bar with this ROM?
     
  22. Sean1208

    Sean1208 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    As always, I'm loving this ROM, but I noticed something. I don't know if it does it in stock since I don't use it, but in Handcent, my text messages work fine, when I open the app, only the last message I sent is visible, not the last message received. What I mean is, if I text somebody, and they respond, when I open the app, their message is there if I open the thread, but if I just look at the main screen with all the threads, I see the last message I sent and not theirs. Anyone else getting this?
     
  23. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
    Not a lot of action in this thread lately! Sorry, I don't use Handcent so can't help...
     
  24. pdykstra

    pdykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    11
    from what I can tell, I do not have this issue. the last message displayed for me in the handcent "preview" of the threads at the home screen is whatever the last message sent was, whether I sent it or it was received from them. Is this issue only occurring on new messages before you open them?
     
  25. Sean1208

    Sean1208 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yea, it's only before I open them. Once I open the thread everything is in order, although I'm also getting some time zone issues with incoming messages (which are in Pacific time) while my sent ones (in Eastern time) are correct. I'm on the East coast, but have a West coast number so that could be causing it? Love the ROM anyways.
     

Share This Page

Loading...