Virtuous + the NOV OTA update


Last Updated:

  1. makewayhomer

    makewayhomer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have an older version of Virtuous ROM installed, 2.2 I think.

    I have never updated to a newer version of Virtuous

    can someone tell me the easiest way to deal with this update?

    I would rather not install or anything, basically I like the way things are now and don't want to change anything
     

    Advertisement
  2. breznou

    breznou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    I feel the same way, I am very happy on how I have my incredible, it took a while to get it to my liking and have no need to change it unless something comes and blows my mind.
     
  3. dragonsamus

    dragonsamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    21
    The newest version of virtuous has the update included. If you upgrade to that then you'll be all set.
     
    howarmat likes this.
  4. howarmat

    howarmat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    229
    ^^ that is my understanding too
     
  5. pdykstra

    pdykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    11
    yes update to the newest version of virtuous, it already includes the update. I have not gotten the OTA nag screen running Virtuous 3.1.0. Has anybody else?
     
  6. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    I've tried Virtuous 3.1.0 a couple of different times. For whatever reason it cuts my battery time in 1/2 when I use it. Not really sure why. Then I flash back to 3.0.1 and regain all that I lost. I'd like to keep the most current version but until I can put a finger on it, it's just not worth it to me.
     
  7. edbro

    edbro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    7
    Virtuous 3.1 was released on 19 October. Was the Nov OTA leaked by that point?
     
  8. jpallen77

    jpallen77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, it was leaked on 10/ 13. Virtuous 3.1 has the Nov update already in it minus the VZW bloat.
     
  9. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Your avatar is killing me ;)
     
  10. zeke88

    zeke88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    13
    i got the 3.0.1 version. i just edited the build.prop file to stop the OTA message.
     
  11. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    No nag screen here either (running Virtuous 3.1). I'm happy about that - the forum seems inundated with complaints about the update.
     
  12. pdykstra

    pdykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah were good on the Virtuous 3.1. We already have the update included in our ROM, so we won't be getting the nag screen.
     
  13. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    I updated to 3.1.0 tonight and was able to install the rosie mod with handcent, rotary lock and color icons for the notification bar. I think I'll keep it for a few days and try it with all the mods to see how the battery life is.
     
  14. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    how do you edit build.prop to avoid doing any updates, please explain for a dummy.
     
  15. pdykstra

    pdykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    11
    have you tried running the custom kernel? i'm still using the stock virtuous kernel but I'm considering giving the custom kernel a shot to improve battery life.
     
  16. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    open /system/build.prop in Root Explorer in r/w mode and edited the line below (the 264707 part), then saved it

    ro.build.fingerprint=verizon_wwe/inc/inc/inc:2.2/FRF91/264707:user/release-keys

    i got this from xda

    reboot a few times and it goes away
     
  17. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    I'm using it with the stock kernel that it downloaded with. My battery life has been superb today. Granted, today has been a pretty light day of usage, but here's what it looked like a little more than 5 hours into my day and then almost 14 hours into my day.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    39
    I am running 3.1 and have the same experience with battery life. When the phone is shut down it virtually uses no battery juice. Upon usage, I see the battery wearing down a little faster than I would like, however, it seems the powersaving's I get from the newest kernal trump the stock kernal that drains your power much quicker in standby mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...