Visual VoicemailTips


Last Updated:

  1. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    893
    Update: doesn't look like it works, but I'll leave it up anyhow.



    This is the Visual Voicemail (VV) APK from the Evo V.
    Turns out, it works on pretty much all VM Android devices.

    For those who don't know, VV downloads your voicemail as a sound file to your phone. This lets you fast forward, pause, rewind, delete, etc. as if it was an audio file. The best part is that it is all handled over data, on your phone. You don't waste minutes calling into voicemail and listening to greetings, timestamps, etc.. It's all right there.


    You don't need root, just copy to your sdcard then use a file manager to cue the install.
    Visual Voicemail - Vmroms
     

    Advertisement
    Artine, jamoosh, bn35 and 4 others like this.
  2. kevindroid

    kevindroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    232
    i thank you for the idea. ill try this on the lg marquee. and again thank you.
     
  3. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    893
    It even works on Froyo OV, so it will probably work on any VM Android.
     
  4. kevindroid

    kevindroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    232
    this doesnt work on boost marquee. or atleast the way its modded. if i get it to work will let you know
     
    Leslie Ann likes this.
  5. Dark One

    Dark One Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    188
    When I saw that you posted I had visions of Harmonia on my elite :dancing2:

    This is cool too though, thanks!
     
  6. jmfolcik

    jmfolcik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    19
    Am I missing something or does this not actually work yet on Virgin? I have it on my elite, then I left myself a test voicemail from another phone and it doesn't show up in there.
     
  7. kwknott

    kwknott Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    729
    Works just fine on my Elite... Go into the app and drop down the little menu that says Voicemail - Inbox and select outbox... See if there is a message there that says message to setup visual voicemail or something to that extent. If it is still there hit the menu button on your phone and select resend all. Mine didn't setup at first and once I did this it started working. You must be on 3g to do this so if you are on wifi turn it off for this step
     
  8. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    893
    Someone said it needs 3g in order to at least initially setup.
    Confirmed to work on the Elite and OV so far.
     
  9. jmfolcik

    jmfolcik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    19
    Uninstalled, reinstalled and then it had an outgoing message and it sent, said it was setup. Left myself a voicemail and it still shows no message.

    I use gosms, and fixed the part where it keeps notifications from happening as the manual said to do with visual voicemail. Still nothing in the app in my inbox, says i have no voicemail messages when I have 2. Maybe it takes a while to download. I also only have 1 bar at work with 3G turned on.
     
  10. JDubTrey

    JDubTrey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    Did this come pre-installed or did you side load it?
     
  11. JDubTrey

    JDubTrey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    I'm late to the party, but I just saw this thread linked from Howard Forums.

    I'm happy with my OpV but I'd love to get this working too! Do you know of any other configuration steps for this? I turned wifi off, 3g on, installed and went through all the settings options but nothing seems to happen for me. The "personalize" option does nothing (though it claims to help configure your greetings) and the "updates" section throws and error when you tap it.

    It wouldn't surprise me if there was some data that had to go along with the apk (maybe as a titanium backup file) to make this fully functional.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Dark One

    Dark One Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    188
    I finally tried to install this and can't get it to work either. For giggles I froze the stock app and made this a system app but no dice.
     
    medmansri likes this.
  13. medmansri

    medmansri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks for trying, I was hoping this would work.
     
  14. ktb83

    ktb83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    212
    I too never got this to work. It installed OK and I was able to send the setup message, but I never was able to access my voicemail using it.
     
  15. Curtis1973

    Curtis1973 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    1,638
    lol the only thing it did for me when i selected setup voicemail was dial voicemail and take me to the button press options. but it did work sort of. i may have done it wrong.
     
  16. bobloadmire

    bobloadmire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    124
    I never got this to work either. App installed but never showed messages.
     
  17. JWI1965

    JWI1965 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar problem at first. I had originally setup Hullomail which was intercepting my voicemails so they did not reach VV. I had to reinstall Hullomail and deactivate my Hullomail account. Then VV worked great.
    Note* The app shortcut does not display new messages. To display new messages use the VV widget.

    this is the version im using. Not sure if it is the same for other versions
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1756589
     

Share This Page

Loading...