Voice Command


Last Updated:

  1. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    I loved being able to press a button on my WM6 phone and telling it do dial a number or other commands. Is there anything similar to this for the capitvate?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    Read the forums dude! This has been covered extensively! In short - the Google search bar has a microphone on it. Hit it and tell it what you want to do - "Call Bill at work", "Call Sally at home". In a text message, switch your keyboard to Android Keyboard and the mic icon is there as well. Hit it and say what you want to text.
     
  3. firefly9397

    firefly9397 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, if you hold down the search button in the lower right hand corner of the device, voice search will come up and all you have to do is say "call first name last name and whether it's a mobile, home, or etc." Not sure if it is able to do any other commands though. It works perfect on mine for voice dialing.
     
  4. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the info, but maybe be a little less sharp to new users in the future.
     
  5. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Don't expect the voice dial to be as elegant as MSVC was on your WinMO device. When we get this capability:

    • Read back confirmation, so you can say yes or no, and not have it dial wrong number
    • Press the talk button on your Bluetooth headset for it to beep and then you speak the command to it

    Then it will be great. I see that pretty much as a must if you want true hands-free calling, for example when driving.

    I have Vlingo on mine, and I'm not sure it was needed. I can also say "Open <program>", but I don't know if that is because I have Vlingo or if it would do that with stock Android voice control.

    The other features of MSVC such as "Play Jazz" for it to call up the music player and play your jazz list, I am expecting to not be on the Android device either, although I haven't tried it yet to see.
     
  6. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    17
    Can't WAIT for bluetooth voice support.
     
  7. mcgibbits

    mcgibbits New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    New to this phone and android as well, so maybe dumb question, but while I see the mic on the google search, I do not see a mic when I have the keyboard up to type a text message (or email). Is there an app you need to DL?
     
  8. mtrsttr

    mtrsttr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    press and hold on the text area and you should be able to change to the android keyboard... mic button is located in bottom left corner
     
    mcgibbits likes this.
  9. Chromag

    Chromag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    You can also change it in Settings - Locale and text - Set default keyboard
     
  10. Steve221

    Steve221 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What has also been covered and reported by several people is that what this does is provide an online Google search, not search the address book.
     
  11. anosis

    anosis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1

    Not true. The Home screen widget lets you do much more than just do a google search. You can call #'s from the phone book, navigate to a spoken address, find places on the map.

    Say: Call "name" on "location/device"
    Say: Navigate to "# street name town state"
    Say: find "pizza near me", "gas station"

    When texting you can use words like "comma" "period" to place punctuations.
     
  12. Loco Leeep

    Loco Leeep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Voice dial apparently only works with your Gmail address book :(
     
  13. nomoiphone

    nomoiphone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't get it?

    I've tried this with numerous voice call commands and all I get is a google search on the web.
     
  14. ace35

    ace35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    that the contacts have to be linked to the phone, i cant find the FAQ that showed me how but basicly it was a for me, copy my contacts to gmail, copy them from the sd card and then copy back, then i was able to set the individual ring tones and the google comands seems to work.
     
  15. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is the same for me, and I have everything linked properly.
     
  16. Infinite-t

    Infinite-t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    74
  17. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wouldn't call that the "official" word just yet. I just got off the phone with Samsung Product Support for the Captivate, and the techi even said the same thing, but told him what some people have been able to do. He linked his gmail contacts to a test phone and dialed a number by voice just a couple times, then started opening the web search screen thereafter which most of us have encountered. I know he will run with this and get down to the bottom, because he was also disappointed to find out what Samsungs 'official' word was when they were presented with the phone. He told me that they received little to no training on the phone, so they dont really know all of its true functions either (this is Samsung tech support if you recall me mentioning).

    He just called back while I was typing this for me to try something, but it didnt work. So no I'm confident they are working on this so they can help others with the same issue.

    I hope persistence pays off.
     
    Ozymandias88 likes this.
  18. myach

    myach Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess this is related.. but does it do "text Bill" cuz it's not working for me
     
  19. randy_c

    randy_c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am new and happy to see this. can you post a link to that thread? search but couldn't find it
     
  20. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Post a link to what thread?
     
  21. randy_c

    randy_c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Read the forums dude! This has been covered extensively! In short - the Google search bar has a microphone on it. Hit it and tell it what you want to do - "Call Bill at work", "Call Sally at home". In a text message, switch your keyboard to Android Keyboard and the mic icon is there as well. Hit it and say what you want to text

    This discussion...
     
  22. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    DUDE! Its MY thread! I KNOW whats in it, but the guy asked an off the wall question for which he didnt copy a quote.

    Thanks DUDE!
     
  23. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    There is NOTHING that works as good as MSVC. NOTHING!

    The current voice stuff misunderstands you often. It does not repeat and ask for verification. It does not work with blue tooth where you can press the button and have it take voice commands, so it is not truely hands free.

    I've heard that Froyo will fix the blue tooth part of it. It remains to see how well it understands.

    The new voice stuff that Google announced last week (2.2/Froyo only) looks hopeful.

    Don't worry about the folks telling you to search. Many of them spend more time complaining than answering questions. Although I give randy_c credit, he did provide an answer also, albeit not a direct answer to your question.
     
  24. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    A co-worker just got Froyo on his Verizon android, and he said the voice command now works and works beautifully! So who knows... I hope ATT doesn't block that feature and will release very soon!
     
  25. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Cool!

    Looking forward to it.

    Oh, did he say if you can get it to prompt for input via pressing the blue tooth headset button?
     

Share This Page

Loading...