voice dialing


Last Updated:

  1. memphis9489

    memphis9489 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Supposedly the HTC Hero (Sprint) is capable of voice dialing but I do not see any mention of it the user manual. Does it do it? And, if so, how do you initiate it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kilikopele

    kilikopele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Voice Dialer is on the Android menu. You can drag it out to the home screen for easier access, but I'd give it a few tries first to see if it will work for you at all. In my personal experience, it's horrible. Even when I speak out a phone number like, "Call 1234567890," it won't dial. I totally gave up on speaking "Call <wife> at work."

    You mileage may vary. I'm hoping an update will repair this or a quality replacement pops up on the Market.
     
  3. memphis9489

    memphis9489 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the "Android menu"?

    You mean its' an "Android widget"? I don't see anything about voice dialing on the list?

    Isn't there just a certain key you have to hit or something like that when you're at the phone dialer? That would seem to make more sense.

    LATE UPDATE: I was just watching a YouTube video (at 4:45 into the video) on the Sprint HTC Hero and it demonstrated voice dialing. You long-hold the TALK key which brings up the voice dialing prompt. I tried it with many of my contacts and it worked very well. Although, I did not see this documented anywhere in the user manual. There is no need for a separate app or widget that I can see.
     
  4. Dapigill

    Dapigill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any way to use this on Hero? Or any 3rd party apps? If so which?
     
  5. memphis9489

    memphis9489 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I just discovered that the HTC Hero (Sprint) has excellent voice dialing capabilities. It does an outstanding job of recognizing my voice. Just hold down the call/send button until you are prompted to speak.

    It doesn't dial directly, rather, it gives you a quick choice of what it thinks you just said. Then you're one finger tap away from calling the intended person. I like that much better than my old phone, where it would frequently misinterpret what I said and start calling the wrong person.

    You can use these voice commands at any screen and for more than just dialing. For instance, if you have an application called "Checkers" - you can say "Open Checkers" and it will put that at the top of your screen as a choice. Tap it and go! Very nice!

    The problem is that you have to remember the name of your apps. Sometimes they are not simply names "Checkers".
     
  6. burger2535

    burger2535 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Will my GSM hero do this?
     
  7. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Not at the moment only applies to the Sprint phone.
    And this should have been posted on that forum.
     
  8. kilikopele

    kilikopele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, learned TWO things: First, holding the phone dial button works for getting into the app. Second, "Call" is for a name and "DIAL" is for a number. App gets really confused if you juxtapose those.

    So there. You ask a question and then teach ME something. Good deal!
     
  9. Dapigill

    Dapigill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    To bad i have the GSM Hero and not Sprint :p
     
  10. Ashman

    Ashman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the GSM Hero ever going to get this function?
     
  11. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    When I hold down my call button the voice dialling menu pops up... but when I speak.. nothing works?

    I have a HTC Hero GSM... I can't remember if I downloaded an APK from somewhere... so is this menu meant to pop up on the GSM version?
     

Share This Page

Loading...