Voice RecognitionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ahanson

    ahanson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Magic running Android 1.5 and have read some articles about voice/speech recognition.
    Does the magic have this built in and if so where is it, i would love to use this for calling and texting etc.
     

    Advertisement
  2. GeoUSA

    GeoUSA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    32
    Do you have the Google search widget on one of your screens? Does it have two buttons - a magnifying glass and a microphone? Clicking the microphone will bring up voice recognition. Also, if you load the update available in Market for Google Maps you will be able to search by voice. Note: voice recognition may not be in all countries and languages.

    To install the Google search widget:
    Long press on a blank screen > Widgets > Search

    There is also a new pay app in the Market called Voice Text. I use that some for entering text messages by voice. It works okay, but it does not auto capitalize and punctuate like the Android keyboards. It appears the next major Android release "Donut" will include using voice in many areas such as text messaging.

    Anyone know how to use voice recognition for contacts and calling? Is that only with a headset?
     
  3. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    In Canada on Rogers the Google search widget does NOT have the mic button for voice search.

    I updated my Google Maps yesterday, but I haven't looked to see if it includes the voice search.

    Rogers Magic phones _do_ have a voice dialer installed, but I haven't tried it yet.
     
  4. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Use "voice Dialer" an app that was part of the build of the G1.

    I posted this earlier, using that app, make sure you speak the full instructions, such as: Call John Smith at Mobile
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Interesting ... My Legit G1 does a good job at looking up call contacts ...

    However my rooted phone errors out ...
    "the applicaton Voice Dialer (process.com.android.voicedialer) has Stopped unexpectedly. Please try again (Force Close) << is the only button option
     
  6. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Jim - my phone is a non-rooted, standard build.

    I should qualify...if you say just "Jim" it will find any Jim and ask what I want to do. By saying "call" and "at mobile" it is more direct.
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Voice search on my rooted phone is working in google maps ...
    or google search

    but is not when I use phone voice call ...

    must use different apps for voice recognition ??
     
  8. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Consider this...Maps and Search were add ons to android, while Voice Dialer was installed on the G1 from day 1. I agree they do use different aspects of the libraries.

    Ever notice that when in search you get a visual graph of your speech pattern after speaking while in Dialer you get the yellow spinner?

    From what I have heard about how things work at Google:

    Gmail team
    Gmail for android application team
    Gmail mobile team

    Each are different teams of people with their own feature release schedules and the intent is to NOT be in sync. The reason that I was given...why hold up great features in one just to make sure the other team's ready. They each have their own challenges, roadmaps and fires to deal with and independently can make things better and more in tune with their team's needs. Obviously eventually a good feature or way of dealing with an issue might trickle over to the other teams. Cream rises to the top.

    This is from inside Google, so I trust my source.
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Understand ... I just need to find someone use my rooted build version and see if they have the same issue ...

    Thanks man ... good hearing from you ..
     
  10. jeremy1216

    jeremy1216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really like to see a better version of the voice dialer on the Android platform. Reason to say that is I used the MS Voice Command before with my WM handset. It's so interactive and you don't even have to go back to the handset. I have to tap the screen everytime using the built-in app which is very inconvenient.
     
  11. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    I could see that being a definite Market App. It makes sense. I wonder if Google allows tying into the voice recognition libraries.
     
  12. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    There is another voice dialer app called TopVoiceControl
     
  13. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Jim - good find.
    OP - here's the link - Cyrket - TopVoiceControl

    Also you did know that you can long press the green call button (hardware) and it will bring up the voice dialer app. It isn't as slick as say an audio listening app that you speak your unlock key, but it would work as a single long press to get you mostly handsfree and certainly no glance required access to dialing. This is in place right now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...