VOIP and data only planGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. ccoager

    ccoager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've been thinking of getting a data only plan for use with VOIP. I'm planning on using this with Asterisk which I have experience with so I know a bit about voip, codecs and such. I have read some mixed results on VOIP over 3g. Is the issue poor latency on 3g? Is it because G.711 is too much bandwidth for 3g? Would a codec like G.729 or GSM work well? Is the VOIP carrier the issue? Is it a hardware/software issue with the phone? Would qos/dscp resolve the issue? Is the issue the sip/iax application?

    Looking for some feedback, thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Who are you going to get a data only plan through Verizon? im sure they make you pay for a minute plan..
     
  3. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    I would love to have a data only plan, i have to pay for 900 minutes because of family share, and we only use 40 minutes!!!! but data and texting?? thats a whole new ball game
     
  4. ximfinity

    ximfinity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    35
    I believe you are required to get the $39.99 450 min. plan and the $29.99 data plan in order to get a phone with data. Maybe you could swing this if you buy it off contract at bestbuy and get really lucky with activating it with verizon, but i dont know of anyone who has this currently.
     
  5. ccoager

    ccoager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    7
    JunBringer likes this.
  6. drhill

    drhill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    186
    Verizon offers a $55 unlimited data and text plan. I was considering doing this, but the texting part is a waste since I use GV. I'm also worried about latency issues and with a small company discount I'd only be saving about $20 over going voice and data with a phone for my wife too. The wife nagging if she isn't getting calls was enough of a deterrent until 4G is prevalent.
     
  7. MathewS81

    MathewS81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    118
    It says "appropriate documentation required" for that plan because it's for the deaf.
     
  8. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    You should be able to get a data only plan. It is no different than getting one of those laptop sticks. It is up to the provider and what stupid rules they have. If you don't have a contract phone then you should be able to buy a data only SIM and none of their business what device you use it on. Some providers do it gladly if have plans on other phones (like a family plan).
    3G VoIP works fine for me but really depends on what you get locally. WiFI for sure is more dependable but so far I've had good luck. I use VoIP for LD and whenever I'm away from my local area (local zones need to be a *lot* bigger in this post 1950's world..)
     
  9. Zabii

    Zabii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Would work well if VZW had SIM cards.
     
  10. drhill

    drhill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    186
    Nope, a buddy had this plan with Verizon. He switched to it after his contract expired. He hears fine. I would believe it would be discrimination if they limited this to hearing impaired only (it should work both ways so don't give me crap about being cold hearted).
     
    JunBringer likes this.
  11. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    I don't know from VZW. Whatever, you should be able to get data only just like you can get voice only. If not then that's sad. Mine works but I'm not in the U.S.
     
  12. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    you can text free through a google voice number and there are 20 and 25 dollar plans that can be used with the phone, they just are not advertised and are very low minutes.

    25 dollars for 100 anytime minutes, 30 for unlimited data, gv number for unlimited texting.
     
  13. Tony Touch

    Tony Touch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    35
    Someone posted this in another thread:

    - VZ got rid of their general data only plan a few weeks before Skype was introduced. If you already have the plan, you are grandfathered in. But you can't switch into it now.

    - Data only plans are still available for the hearing impaired but you will need medical documentation.
     
  14. TylerM

    TylerM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    68
    Actually most of the time you won't be able to get the 54.99 plan unless you're deaf or hard of hearing. Sometimes an employee will just activate it for you but it's supposed to be only for the deaf and hard of hearing. I go to RIT, the second biggest deaf population of any university in the world and most of the students have the "special" plans with carriers.
     
  15. misin4mati0n

    misin4mati0n New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just came across this thread looking for a voip solution for my incredible. Thought I would let you all know that you can get a data only plan from VZW for the incredible. I had a USB modem up for renewal and upgraded to the incredible and a 49.99 unlimited data only plan on launch day. I am actually posting this from my phone right now. All you have to do is go into a store and ask. The plan is is not available online.

    I have tried to place a call using skype and it actually re routes the call through the VZW voice network and charges you air time.
     
  16. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    I am not at all surprised, but not really a problem. If you use standards based voip and stay far away from 'official' apps of any kind from the provider you won't have that problem. I use voip every day with only data being used.
     

Share This Page

Loading...