Vol up + Power does nothing for me.General


Last Updated:

  1. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44

    Advertisement
  2. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    I thought to boot into recovery you needed to press (and hold) the "send" and the "power/end" keys? I could be mistaken. Then volume down, then volume up. Give it a shot.
     
  3. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    Thats fastboot, its just a more sure fire way to get into recovery

    BTW: 500!!!!!!
     
    xx_bishop_xx likes this.
  4. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yes, those are the correct keys, not send.

    Did you do the previous step? Looks like Fig. 30 in the post. It says that will install Amon's Recovery to your phone (that's what you will be accessing by using vol-up + power). You can't access it until it's installed, of course ;)

    I didn't use this root method, but that's just what I'm seeing from the post... So did you do that part correctly? If not, try it again.
     
  5. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    yea i did that. my screen looked exactly like [fig31] did. this is freaking weak. this is why i wanted someone to do this for me. im re+arded when it comes to this crap.
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Should still accomplish what he wants? Maybe? Congrats on the milestone; you've been stacking them up lately with your write-up and support. Nice job Mr. Senior Member.
     
  7. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    I just realized that I'm a senior member, thats awesome. Thanks bishop! And yes it will still accomplish what he wants
     
  8. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    how does this accomplish what i want? i get into the menu and hit vol up and down but it just moves the cursor. what do i select?
    how?
     
  9. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Big day for the "Family" today. alprazolam, you, me...it's anarchy!
     
  10. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    You are trying to flash a ROM correct? well if so select flash update.zip or something like that. Find your ROM .zip file and select it. Then reboot when its done
     
  11. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    The trilogy! or the trinity :D
     
  12. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    i figured out how to get into it. you can continue to chat about how many posts surgeon has!
     
  13. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    Good! now you can finally flash the ROM of your dreams lol
     
  14. VonKannick

    VonKannick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    If I am understanding your question correctly, you have made it successfully into Amon's recovery and now you are looking at some green text which you can move the cursor over with the up and down keys. From there, highlight what you want to do next and press the trackball.

    Wow, 5 more posts since I started typing this! You guys are FAST!
     
  15. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Nice that you got it. What was the answer afterall? Neither method brought you to recovery?
     
  16. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    Dat how we roll :cool:
     
  17. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    so i did the vol down and power and choose recovery. then did the rest, installed Ivans rom. you guys know where a reasonable overclock speed should be? my phone was pretty snappy to begin with. i dont want to loose battery life or anything like that and definitely dont want to ruin my phone.
     
  18. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    768/480 and then go into profiles and check enable then create one for screen off that is 480/122 and save
     
  19. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    im confused. the hightest it will got is 710 mhz for max. and min should be @ 480?

    i go into profiles and see "enable" but do i check them all? and i dont even see one for "screen off". please help!
     
  20. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Yeah, I thought I read in the Root forum that Ivan's max is 710?
     
  21. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    ok, got that. what about the other parts?

     
  22. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    I was reading around trying to find something for you, and I came across this post:

     
    rick311 likes this.
  23. raphifix

    raphifix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ok, I'll jump in. :D

    Check "Enable" and then "add profile" which allows you to change the over/underclock speeds based on different conditions. I have mine set to wind down the overclock when the battery gets under 50%/25%, when it's charging, and when the temperature get's over 38.2C. Use the priority to determine which takes precedence. For instance, I have the temperature profile at 100 and the other profiles below it, which means that even if it's charging and the battery is under 50%, SetCPU will use the higher priority temperature profile.

    My priority goes in this order: Temperature>screen off>charging>battery below 25%>battery below 50%

    Sorry if that was too wordy. I hope it helps.:cool:
     
  24. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    its not too wordy, i just dont know what the hell it means. if you want to walk me through what to check and what numbers to press, i will follow your advice. i just dont want to lose my awesome battery life i had before.
     
  25. kamots

    kamots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    your not re+arded ( or we both are lol) but I have the same problem. I cant scroll down to select the nand back up , but it my screen looks just like the example too. root is sooo close! course after the second script it said I was rooted but I dont know how to check since the hboot is still the same 1.49 wth the security still on. today is the day I can Feel It . lol ( course the thought did cross my mind to wipe my phone and mail it to someone to root it for me, (but it was a fleeting thought lol )
    edit after reading further I see that you got it by doing vol down and power. I tried this , and Im still stuck with the screen that looks like fig 31 and a trackball that wont scroll the track ball works everywhere else , so thats no the problem. Can I uninstall gscript and start this process all over again?
     

Share This Page

Loading...