w/ AT&T plan: Captivate or Vibrant


Last Updated:

  1. projectpaki

    projectpaki Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys,

    looking for some advice...

    Let me give you a little background:
    I have AT&T service with Unlimited Data (Non-smartphone) for $10 a month. Weird thing is I am using a AT&T issued Blackberry Curve 8900, and so far no problems from AT&T.

    A friend of mine sold me his Samsung Captivate. Now I know that most people say that AT&T does a sweep of IMEI's and shoves a smartphone data plan down your throat but I am a little skeptical considering I've had this Blackberry with dummy data for about 7-8 months now. Interestingly enough, my friend was able to use his phone on AT&T without any internet, and also no problems from AT&T.

    Now, I am not too worried about AT&T bothering me about data because I am not on contract and can threaten to jump ship and see where that takes me but 3 things concern me-
    1.) The inability to install 3rd party apps.
    2.) The possibility I will lose the data war with at&T
    3.) The fact that the vibrant looks 10x sexier than the captivate.

    So what I'm asking is, what would you do?
    Keep the captivate? or get an unlocked Vibrant?
    Also, any problems with voice/data with a T-mo phone (esp data)

    I'm leaning towards getting an unlocked vibrant, but not willing to go through the hassle of selling and buying, I would rather just do a simple trade.

    Advice/opinions appreciated. Thanks in advance.


    *Update: Before anyone points it out, I just found out that there are ways to circumvent the sideloading apps issue, but still need advice.
     

    Advertisement
  2. glg

    glg Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    IINM, TMobile uses different 3G bands, so you won't get 3G on a Vibrant
     
  3. projectpaki

    projectpaki Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ByK72F29tE

    Their are other videos highlighting the same. It is possible to get 3g via 1900 band on a Vibrant w/ AT&T but not possible the other way around (i.e. 3g on Captivate via T-Mobile).
     
  4. techlover2010

    techlover2010 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd go for the captivate, it's a pretty good phone, and currently the best android phone on AT&T. The vibrant feels like cheap plastic, IMO.
     

Share This Page

Loading...