Wake up landroid- remote turn pc on?Support


Last Updated:

  1. red97xj

    red97xj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    anybody used this? My dinc is not here yet. I am hoping i can turn on my laptop at home from work, then access it via cell via other apps.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    Link? Info? I'll be more than happy to test it out...
     
  3. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    This would be cool, keep us updated, I haven't got mine yet either...
     
  4. mrjerryk

    mrjerryk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    20

    Unless your laptop has wake on LAN I don't know how this would it on. Just leave the laptop on so you don't have to worry about it. I leave my laptop, windows pc, and linux box running 24/7.
     
  5. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    Well I'm an idiot. I didn't piece together the whole "LAN" thing. Nevermind, no good for me. :p

    Anyway, if your computer's connected via LAN then it turns it on by accessing the network and following the MAC address to the physical hardware. Simple stuff.
     
  6. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    All my computers have Wake on LAN, i make sure of that as i use them alot when not around...

    But defo a decent file access program OTA would be nice, anyone know of one?
     
  7. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    HomePipe. I bought it, I use it daily. It's the shizz.
     
    contagous likes this.
  8. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Awesome I take a look at it when my phone finally gets here :) Thanks
     
  9. AaronBBrown

    AaronBBrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    wake on LAN only works if the target machine is wired. It will not wake a wifi device.
     
  10. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    of course, Wake on Lan, goes through the RJ45 sockets..
     
  11. AaronBBrown

    AaronBBrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    It has nothing to do with the RJ45 connection, it's that WiFi isn't connected to an access point when the computer is off or asleep whereas NICs do, so there is no way for it to "hear" the magic packet.
     
  12. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yah and how do you cable up a network? or ya with Cat5/6 cable and whats on the end of those cables?

    OMG RJ45 Connectors...
     
  13. AaronBBrown

    AaronBBrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    Or fiber. Or USB if you are into those kind of things. RJ45 is just a piece of plastic. I was trying to explain that that isn't the relevant part of WOL technology. It would work just fine over wifi if the computer stayed connected to an access point while sleeping. The client can be on wifi with no issue, just not the machine you are trying to wake.
     
  14. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Exactly my point. TY
     
  15. Ovy

    Ovy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    19
    you should just admit you made a failed reference and move on. it's not a big deal. no one will hate you for being slightly incorrect.
     
  16. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    ... My theory isn't wrong, just used wrong wording, but I knew what i meant thanks :)

    Either way don't care, point is it won't work if main machine is on Wifi unless you are capable of sending WMM packets to use the specific WoWALN features thats are available...

    Then in theory it could be possible
     

Share This Page

Loading...