Wallpaper for my Captivate?


Last Updated:

  1. pmart317

    pmart317 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone been messing around with my phone and I love it! The only thing that i have been seeing is that when i take a picture from my phone and save it to my background, I have to crop it and then it gets a little zoomed in and the resolution is not the same as it was. There a way i can download or photoshop my images so its the right resolution for my captivate!? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. dragonfire6

    dragonfire6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    The wallpaper needs to be 960x800 for it to look perfect!
     
  3. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    159
    Yes, unfortunately, Android doesn't let one choose the option of allowing regular sized wallpapers. It's one of my few pet peeves with Android.
     
  4. Aftashok

    Aftashok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you use LauncherPro it has the option to not stretch the WP over ur different screens.
     
  5. pmart317

    pmart317 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much! I use launcherpro. Where is the option to change the WP??
     
  6. novagator

    novagator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Settings > Preferences > Appearance Settings > Disable Wallpaper Scrolling
     
    Yellowmcnasty likes this.
  7. Darkeligos

    Darkeligos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am having the same problem with the ridiculous cropping problem. Is there actually any way around it or perhaps the dimensions of the max area cropping will select?
     
  8. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    RavenFox and Simba501 like this.
  9. naxir

    naxir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had the same problem you did, then I realized you can in fact resize the cropping tool to the full size of the image. Just press on the border of the cropping tool and drag.
     
  10. Darkeligos

    Darkeligos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    7
    I thought the same thing but it only allows me to crop about half of an image. I've tried it on wallpapers that are exactly 800x480 and pictures that were sent to me, yet every time it doesn't allow full image crop.
     
  11. DT

    DT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    145
    I just pre-format them on the PC. I set a 960x800 fixed crop tool, then play around with resizing the image for the best section (or just quickly go 800 by x and then select out that proper size).

    I just did a nice one for Inception (the folks standing on the building with the city bending in the background).
     
  12. timbuk2

    timbuk2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried sizing my images to 960x800 and they look horrible. The phone stretches it an eliminates part of the picture. Shouldn't it be 800x960? I mean the screen is taller than it is wide.
     
  13. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    No, it's 960 wide by 800 high as the default setting on the phone is to scroll the wallpaper as you switch between home pages.

    This is mentioned on the Captivate FAQ:

    Customization - CapFAQ
     

Share This Page

Loading...