Wallpaper question


Last Updated:

  1. bbwarrior

    bbwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took a picture using the camera on the HERO. I want to use it as my wallpaper. When i choose the picture to set as my wallpaper, it asks me to crop the picture which is all ok.... But then once the wallpaper is set, it's spread across all 7 pages. Basically, i want the exact same, "full" picture on all 7 screens. Is there a way to set it? tks
     

    Advertisement
  2. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    i don't think that's how it works

    its one picture - that moves slightly



    its like an optical illusion that way - makes the icons appear like they're "floating" above/in front of the background

    i think its kinda neat
     
  3. keithwright

    keithwright Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read about an app called 'photo stitch' or something that allows you to stitch photos together to use as a Homescreen.
    If it works like I think it does then presumably you could copy the same picture and stitch them all together to get the effect you are after

    ....never tried it myself tho
     
  4. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    photo stitch (and others like it) have been around for some time already

    they make it so you can "stitch together" several pictures in order to make one large panoramic picture



    i don't see how that would help what he's trying to do
     
  5. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    It might, but it seems kinda silly.
     
  6. keithwright

    keithwright Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aye, scratch that suggestion BB.

    I just had a go of 'photo stitch' and it would be far too hard to achieve.....it does not even give you an option to use previously taken photos anyway
     
  7. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you put the image in the wallpaper folder after the stitch?
     
  8. bbwarrior

    bbwarrior Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took a look at the Magic and the wallpaper behaves the way that i want it to...IE: same picture on every page. guess the SENSE UI just treats it differently.....
     
  9. Fritz

    Fritz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. hawwy

    hawwy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    wallpapers do spread across 7 pages

    when asked to crop stretch the rectangle to fit full picture, wallpapers can be found on g1wallz.com
     
  11. Fritz

    Fritz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This doesn't work on the Hero because by default it wants a wallpaper wider than the screen.
     
  12. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    What was so hard about changing your background that you needed an app for it? Was there something specific? Or you just couldnt get it changed?


    Strech across all seven screens it does, but the OP doesnt want the image to shift when moving through screens, but rather stay the same as the home screen.
     
  13. Fritz

    Fritz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The HTC modifications change the way the background works slightly. It actually uses an image that is wider than the screen and bumps it slightly left or right as you switch home screens. This is an ice effect, but it causes complications when you want to use one of the many premade background out there for the phone resolution.

    The crop rectangle for the Hero is proportionately much wider than the screen, so when you stretch it all the way out you are still cropping off the top and bottom of the image. This generally ends up giving you a pixelated background.

    The app that I mentioned seems to be just a basic tool to set the background, but it bypasses HTCs system and lets you set a static image that is the same proportions as the screen and no longer shifts left and right when switching screens.
     
  14. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    So all that to say the app allowed you to add a background image that didnt move?

    I had heard about the image pixelating before and heard it wasnt an issue if you werent cropping the image.

    So I guess my next questions would be, you said you had complications. Was that in addition to the pixelation or was that the only complication? When using a custom image, did you try using the standard accepted sized image, allowing for the side sliding? Or were you trying to create one that wouldnt move?
     
  15. Fritz

    Fritz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right. Well, it may do more, but that is the key for it being useful to me.

    Right again, but it doesn't give you an option not to crop the image if it is a standard android/iphone background image.

    It would probably work if I used an image that was the HTC proportions, but I'm not an artist and want to use the ability to use the hundreds of images out there that people have already created for the quasi-standard phone display proportions/dimensions.

    Also, in reference to the original post, the photos you take with the camera are the proportions of the screen, and therefore require cropping if used with HTC's background system.
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,392
    Likes Received:
    16,502
    There's the rub, Fritz. They're 'quasi-standard'.... the Android standard wallpaper res is 640x480. :)
     
  17. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    but check it out

    was playing with this last night



    they've got some really cool wallpapers at interfacelift_com, but they don't come in 640x480

    bummer



    but if you look at the ratio - that's the same as 1600x1200

    so, just as an experiment, i uploaded one of those hi-res pics to my SDcard to see if it would appear in the phone, and appear as option for a wallpaper on my home screen, and actually WORK as a wallpaper

    YES!



    so, you're not "stuck" at 640x480






    now, those hi-res files are necessarily larger

    and who wants to waste precious space on their SDcard right?



    MS puts out a powertool called Image Resizer - i have had this on my computer for a long time

    one of their stock resolutions is "small" which is (tada!) 640x480! sweet!



    so next i experimented with the large version and the smaller version - can i see a difference??

    and the answer is "no!"





    so there you have it - you can d/l hi-rez/hi-quality pics to your PC, resize them down to android size (while saving space) and not have a negative impact on the image quality - they look great!
    :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...