wallpaperGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    are you guys having trouble setting wallpaper

    Here is the problem i want to set the whole picture as the wallpaper but when you set as on the eris a box pops up the picture and you have to adjust it. I don't want that I want the whole dam picture.

    Are you guys having trouble. I found a website that has wallpaper with correct size but when i send it to myself

    i have to adjust the picture with that dang box.

    I want the whole picture

    HELP
     

    Advertisement
  2. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    make sure the resolution is 320X480 or smaller and you will be able to use the whole thing
     
  3. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    ok try this open it on your pc in paint then go to Image>attributes> change the size to 320X240 see if that works
     
  5. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    all it is doing is cropping it to the right aspect ratio for the phone. it can be bigger then 320x480 as long as the aspect ratio is the same.
     
  6. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    the picture is already in 320 x 480.

    it is just getting the whole picture to show up on the phone.

    I can't even adjust the picture because the box won't extend vertically on the phone

    This is very puzzling
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    ok let me back up

    320x480 portrait is the screen size. but the wallpaper size is the screen size plus 3 moves each way. i think someone figured out that each move is like 53 pixels.

    SO a wallpaper, that doesnt need to be cropped, would be 640Wx480H or any ratio that fits that proportion.

    yes

    640 is double 320, 320 divided by 6 moves (screen) leaves 53 pixels (and change) for each swipe between the 7 screens.
     
  8. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    Nice, right on Caddyman
     
  9. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    so this wallpaper i just cropped, although 723x542, should fit perfect.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    So are you saying that I need a picture that big to stop that green box from showing up?
     
  11. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    the green box is going to show up regardless, even if it is perfect size. it wants to give you the option to crop even if it doesnt need it.

    the smallest the image can be without having to be stretched is 640x480
     
  12. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    i sort of followed what caddyman is saying. So basically to get a whole wallpaper the pictures needs to be 723x542.

    then how do i get a picture that s already 320x480 to 723x542
     
  13. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    You can't really, you have to get the aspect ratio just right for it to look good so i has to be wider then it is tall.

    What image do you have? Can you attach it here? Maybe i can shop it.
     
  14. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay..i am a little confused..so even if i use the large image like you suggested I will still have the green box. So how do i get rid of it then so that I could be able to fit in the whole picture?
     
  15. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    ok you get to the pic in your album or whatever and hit menu and set as right.

    click wallpaper

    it will open in the pic cropper deal with the green box, just hit save..don't do anything with the green box.

    and it will set it as your wallpaper.
     
  16. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    caddyman that is what is puzzling me. I want the whole picture not what the green box has.

    Cus the green box only just has that part of the picture not the whole thing

    I want to whole pic
     
  17. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    right because it wants the picture to be wider then it is taller.....here let me help you guys visualize real quick...your lucky im bored...lol

    THIS IS FULL SIZE (640x480), IF YOU ADDED THIS PIC TO YOUR SD CARD AND TRIED TO ADD AS A WALLPAPER IT WOULD LOOK LIKE THIS ON YOUR CROP SCREEN..

    [​IMG]


    NOW THIS IS THE PIC YOU HAVE AT 320X480 (ONLY 1 SCREEN WIDE)

    [​IMG]


    NOW WHEN YOU TAKE A PIC LIKE THAT THAT IS TALLER THEN WIDER AND HIT SET AS, IT WILL LOOK LIKE THIS. I HAVE OVERLAYED A SCALED VERSION OF THE FULL SIZE IMAGE OVER THE LITTLE PICTURE LIKE YOU HAVE.

    [​IMG]

    see your picture has 1.33333 times wider then it is tall to require no cropping.

    if you have a pic that is 320x480 and you want it as your wallpaper you would want to edit it so it is that size and looks decent.

    for example, lets take the narrow pic from up there, same size as you have 320x480. i just made the canvas double wide and stretched it. if you have a pic with a black background you can just add black to the sides. attach the pic here and maybe i can do something with it.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    hm..i guess i kinda understand it..lol
     
  19. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    very informative caddyman. so basically you are saying screw the picture that is already 320 x 480

    this is the picture i want.

    Keith Urban :: Photos
     
  20. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    what about a lockscreen picture?
     
  21. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    would resizing the picture help
     
  22. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    for the screenlocker it is olny one screen use 320x480
     
  23. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    dam making own wallpaper is so much work and finding right size pictures is frustrating.

    resizing also makes the picture crappy
     
  24. MisterMcGoo

    MisterMcGoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use to have to explain aspect ratio to people when I worked in a photo lab in college. It's very frustrating trying to explain to them, but once you understand, it is a very simple concept. I remember having to explain to people why 4X6 pictures would "cut the heads off" when re-sized to 8X10 and that it had to do with two different aspect ratios. This link may help explain:

    The Imaging Resource Aspect Ratios for ... Ventriloquists Article

    Basically the size of your Eris screen is static, so either it would have to stretch the image to fit your screen by warping the image, or you can have a green box to use to crop the image so that it fits. Apparently HTC went with the green box. It was a good move.
     
  25. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Attached is one i made for you....there is a wallpaper request topic in this section somewhere... (click to enlarge and save)

    yes, that is the static 320x480

    i agree, i highly suggest "backgrounds" app if you are not particular and just want cool random walls, i really like the app. i do A LOT of graphics for work online, websites, etc. so i can make walls pretty quick but i understand the frustration.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...