Want a boost in performance? Gumbo custom kernel!


Last Updated:

  1. cvam1985

    cvam1985 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gumbo custom kernel is the best thing to happen to my hero since flashing Fresh. It has virtually eliminated all lag and my battery doesn't seem to be suffering.

    Check it out and try for yourself!

    forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=625940
     

    Advertisement
  2. nck4857

    nck4857 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just installed this today and defiantly noticed a speed increase immediately...
     
  3. imb951

    imb951 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1
     
  4. ndp506

    ndp506 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    dumb question- do i rename the Gumbo zip as 'update.zip'... i'm running fresh 1.1 and according to xda, i don't to a clean wipe, but when i reboot into the boot screen, it asks if i want to wipe the memory... any ideas wth is going here?
     
  5. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    You don't have to change the name. Just select flash from SD card and select the .zip. Can't really help with your other issue...

    Though this thing is LIGHTNING FAST! Rotation in messages with the keyboard open is nearly instant.
     
  6. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    that kernel is already incorporated into Modaco 2.2, right? Can't remember...
     
  7. Jedis

    Jedis Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    No it is not. Gumbo built his own kernel.

    If you are hacking your phone you may want to read up on XDA as that is where all the discussions are.
     
  9. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Oh I read XDA more often than this, I just couldn't remember which was in Modaco lol. Just looked, and Modaco's got his own custom kernel in it, which is what I thought but I simply couldn't remember for sure and figured I'd make sure
     
  10. ndp506

    ndp506 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info... it was really weird, after a couple re-boots i got the normal boot screen... just loaded up Gumbo... already seems faster, lovin it!
     
  11. TerrBear

    TerrBear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    18
    It sounds like you are holding the Home button down for too long. Just hold it down until you see the HTC logo and then release. I had the same problem.
     
  12. ukcatsfan

    ukcatsfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did this last night and i love it. i keep lovin the hero more and more. it really is super fast and responsive as hell. ir your phone is rooted, you should definitley load this and setcpu, you will love it
     
  13. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    ok, forgive me for being an idiot tonight and not being able to find what I'm looking for, but how do I install an app such as Setcpu from my computer to my phone, if I'm using apps2sd?

    edit: Nevermind. I'm an idiot. Have some other issues with storage space at the moment though...
     
  14. djkleric

    djkleric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have this kernal and setcpu but cant get it to work properly. I'm on fresh 1.1 and my superuser app does not show me any options.

    the kernal is there but set cpu wont adjust. Any help would be awesome
     
  15. cornelious

    cornelious Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm really blow away by this. My Hero is responding like I always hoped it would, bet never did.
     
  16. Fird

    Fird New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed this over the MoDaCo kernel and it boots and seems to run just fine. Not using SetCPU at this time, though I probably will. Its still a little choppy at this point, but I run my Hero LOADED, all screens full of crap, lots of widgets.. its likely just out of horsepower.

    Fird
     
  17. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I had a slight issue doing it over Modaco. Well, it worked fine, but I was working on getting SetCPU on, and I screwed something up big time. Might have had something to do with Apps2SD, since it said I didn't have enough storage to install another app. So now I'm in the process of re-doing EVERYTHING lol
     
  18. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Anybody got a quick step by step on how this is done? I was thinking about dling the less aggressive one, do I just load it on my sd and apply the .zip in recovery? And with setcpu, do you just dl the .zip and unzip it then use the pre-kitchen to Install? Thanks for any help.

    Ted
     
  19. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    86
  20. Palomino

    Palomino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried following the instructions but I get a error symbol and nothing happens until I eject the sd card?
     
  21. chestont

    chestont Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. Palomino

    Palomino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    I get like a rooted screen asking me to push up for fastboot, or back for simlock, home for recovery. when i hit home the error caution sign comes up with the phone underneath it? Anyone got any helpful tips?
     
  23. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Definitely runs faster now, I am liking this combined with Fresh 1.1...thanks!
     
  24. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    it certainly SEEMS faster, flashed over Fresh1.1 now. Working on putting my themes back on...
     
  25. Palomino

    Palomino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    I get like a rooted screen asking me to push up for fastboot, or back for simlock, home for recovery. when i hit home the error caution sign comes up with the phone underneath it? Anyone got any helpful tips?
     

Share This Page

Loading...