1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Want to Auto change time Zone. Any App?


Last Updated:

  1. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,
    I travel each week to Brussels from the UK and don't want to keep switching my current time zone.
    I have tried setting 'Automatic' in the Time & Date settings but it does not seem to do anything, but maybe this is because I have data disabled (cos I don't have a data pack).
    Is there an App that will use GPS to automatically alter the time zone setting?
    Thanks for any recommendations.
    Al.
     

    Advertisement
  2. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    Hmmm - I have the 'Automatic' option checked on my N1 which picked up US time straight away (once connected to a mobile network) on landing in JFK.
    This was with roaming switched off (which may not be the same as data disabled :confused:)
     
  3. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have Magic from Vodafone and it doesn't seem to work. I fit a different SIM when I travel between UK and Brussels, so the phone gets powered down. Don't know why automatic doesn't cause the time to change. I tried this morning. Set the Zone to London (so the time changed) and then set Date & Time settings to Automatic.
    Waited, waited, and then waited some more. It's still set to London time.
    I have roaming disabled so I don't pay unwanted charges, but I make and receive calls with no problem. It this a function that is provided by the service provided? Maybe Belgacom pre-pay doesn't provide a time signal?

    This is whay I was after an App that switched the time zone based on the GPS location.
    Al.
     
  4. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just a quick update. It works when I travel from Brussels to UK. I put in the vodafone SIM while I was in the tunnel and later when I checked the time was correct. Going the other way, automatic doesn't work when I put in a pre-paid brussels sim.
    Anyone know any apps to switch time automatically based on GPS or Cell location?
    Thanks,
    Al.
     
  5. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    The 'Automatic' setting isn't data dependant but carrier dependant. When I travelled to the UK 2 weeks ago from Belgium I had data turned off so's not to incur data charges. Going from Belgium > France > UK the time automatically switched when I picked up a UK carrier. Coming back the other way the time did not update in France and only updated when I picked up my Belgian carrier.
     
  6. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks bluenova. That confirms my scenario as well.
    Oh well, any App writers want to code an app to auto change time zone? I can guarantee at least one buyer :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...