Want to go to 2.1 but MyBackup is expiredSupport


Last Updated:

  1. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    I had purchased the full version of MyBackup, but when I changed to the leaked version of 2.1 the paid version was no longer available. Now the official 2.1 is out and I want to flash to it, but my trial of MyBackup is expired. Is there any other free apps that work just as good so that I can flash my phone without loosing the apps I've downloaded since the last time I backed up?
     

    Advertisement
  2. thepinkc

    thepinkc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    13
    Use Listables (free) to make a list of your installed apps with QR codes (go into settings and check the box for QR codes, then when you get ready to reinstall just use Barcode Scanner to get everything back). You can email the list to your gmail account.

    Backup your contacts to your gmail account.

    Use SMS backup (free) to backup your SMS to your gmail account.

    Backup your MMS with Save MMS (free).

    Settings with apps will be saved to your SD card for the most part, so remove your SD card from the phone while you update.

    Good luck.
     
  3. htcman724

    htcman724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    86
    just use joeys recovery and it will back up the entire system.
     
  4. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    Isn't Joey's recovery for Root?

    I already have my contacts backed up to gmail. I could care less about backing up SMS. I mostly just don't want to sit there and make a list of all my apps, and then redownload them all as well as resetting up my email accounts.
     
  5. thepinkc

    thepinkc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    13
    ASTRO file manager will let you back up apps to your SD Card. I don't know if this will mean apps show up in your Market.

    ASTRO File Manager - Android app on AppBrain
     
    SoulTerror likes this.
  6. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    I used Astro, did what I wanted too for the most part. I still like MyBackUp better because it remembers how you had your screen.

    Now if only I would of remembered to delete the folder with the leaked 2.1 before I flashed my phone. Pretty sure I just put the same 2.1 on, so deleted the folder and reinstalled the files and flashed the phone again.
     
  7. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    Firmware version: 2.1-update 1
    Baseband version: S:M900.8.OS.DE03
    Kernel version: 2.6.29
    Build number: ECLAIR.DE03
    Hardware version: M900.8.0

    Is that what everyone else is getting when they flash?
     
  8. dreze88

    dreze88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    33
  9. evilbeef54

    evilbeef54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    With root if you use mybackup you won't have to reinstall all your aps to get them in the marketplace, this is totally worth the couple of bucks for the program to me
     
  10. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    I already have the paid version of MyBackUp. But I haven't been able to use MyBackUp since I went to the leaked version of 2.1 and now even with the official version of 2.1 I still don't see the paid version in the Market.
     
  11. evilbeef54

    evilbeef54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    i found it with every version i have run, it was missing for a while, but it is back now
     
  12. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    Every time I look for it I can't find it. Even when I select the buy Pro from the free version it says it can't find it.

    *nevermind* I just did a search again and it's appearing.
     
  13. htcman724

    htcman724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    86
    no you do not have to have root to use joeys recovery.its actually a different program altogether.
     
  14. evilbeef54

    evilbeef54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0

    if you DO have root though with mybackup you do not have to download all your apps again to get the market place to reconize them
     

Share This Page

Loading...